We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the Food and the Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watermark

Watermark
Ventura, CA
805-643-6800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 337 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chestnut
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Food and the Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited the Watermark with friends for my wife's birthday. The evening started with a cocktail in the bar and it was Happy Hour!! The food in the restaurant was great and we sat on the Balcony overlooking the lower level. All through the evening our waiters were attentive without being overbearing. We would absolutely recommend for most occasions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food needs improvement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went for breakfast on sunday, me and my wife both ordered huevos rancheros and we were disappointed, sauce was bland and avocado wasn't fresh. Service was ok. With those high prices we were expecting much more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“friends' birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I and 2 other couples celebrated the birthdays of one of the other couples with a lovely meal on a Friday night, complete with very pleasant guitar entertainment. We had a very pleasant meal, with appetizers of calamari and oysters. The salads were lovely and when one couple split their Caesar salad, that was done in the kitchen for them. The soup was mildly spicy, but I thought the presentation was just ordinary. The main courses of steaks and salmon were very nicely prepared and presented with fresh vegetables nicely cooked. The desserts were truly amazing. We had a nice leisurely meal and did not feel rushed at all. The staff was unobtrusively attentive. We had cocktails which were quite nicely done also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great Sunday breakfast, reasonably priced, including champagne!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were too early for Sunday Brunch at other Ventura restaurants, but the Watermark was open at 10:30, so we gave it a try. I can't wait to have their huevos rancheros again with great salsas and fresh avocado. All four of us were impressed with the food presentation in the lovely ambiance of the historic, beautifully restored murals and ceilings of the main level dining room. Breakfasts were reasonably priced considering they all included a glass of champagne. The tasty french toast is a work of art-it looks more like a dessert. Service was excellent, and it wasn't very busy, so we feel as if we stumbled on to a hidden jewel for brunch!
Another find is their Sunday afternoon happy hour in the top floor bar. Great views, good prices on appetizers and drinks and same great quality from the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The bar is great at sunset! The meals are very pricy for Ventura, however, if you are willing to pay for it, the food is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermark also viewed

 

Been to Watermark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.