We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but bad too” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Save
You added Bella Maggiore Inn to your Saves list
67 South California Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Pasadena, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but bad too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel ambiance and appearance is designed to look European and has charm. Property is pretty well kept up and the rooms are decorated nicely so you forget the age of the place until you walk across the room and hear the floorboards squeak badly. Most staff are very friendly, cordial and helpful. Complimentary breakfast from a full menu is excellent, but if you have to leave early for work etc., you might miss it since it opens at 7am. I would have rated the hotel a lot higher, but my room was so hot I couldn't sleep well (in December)! The heater was turned all the way down, but still put off heat and strangely there was no A/C in the room. Leaving the windows open wasn't an option with the noise from the street when opened, and besides; there was no screen! A Good and bad experience. Close enough to the beach, nice ambiance and great breakfast, but hotter than Hades!

Room Tip: Make sure you check the temperature of the room you get, don't let them slow cook you! Walk arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
10
67
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I Love the Bella Maggiore! I visit usually two to three times a year on business and have found every stay enjoyable! The breakfast is fantastic, you cannot beat the price of the rooms especially if you have AAA or are on a business rate. The staff is excellent and the court yard and downstairs lobby exceed expectations! Walking distance to everything in down town Ventura! Stayed just before Christmas and the poinsettia's and the fireplace aglow made my experience memorable! Would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter on weekends, and do not know if they have an elevator to the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have been coming to the Bella Magiore Inn for about 15 years now, and it remains one of my favorite places for a weekend escape! Service is top rate, and as others have said the order-from-the-menu is excellent. My favorite is the bagel and smoked salmon…

At five p.m. every day the Bella puts out a wine, cheese, and light snack event for its guests-just right to fuel up your body for some long walks on the beach or to browse the second hand stores on Main Street.

The rooms are cozy, and the owners work hard at keeping them clean and comfortable. Sure, a few of them could be renovated, but so what? One of the most appealing things about the Bella is the cost to stay. One can reserve a room facing California Street (all these rooms are cute and cozy), have the wine and cheese,and then the breakfast in the morning for about $80. I dare you to find THAT anywhere on the So Cal coast!

Anyway, great service, cozy, romantic rooms, a terrific price point, and super food. What's not to love about the Bella Magiore?

Room Tip: The Bella is reputed to be haunted. Choose room 17 for the most supernatural experience possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed two nights for our anniversary. It is an older hotel/b&b. We enjoyed the decor and the friendly staff. We had a small room with access to a shared balcony. It is not a luxury b & b, and the rooms could use a bit of updating or redecorating, but it was cozy and inviting. The room did get a bit stuffy, but we just opened the transom window. The morning breakfast is fantastic. I took everyone's advice and had the french toast with apples - so yummy. It is in a perfect location to explore downtown Ventura. All the parking in the lot behind the Inn that is marked "private property" is for the Inn, so you don't have to pay for street parking. We received their AAA rate, and including the "order anything you want off the menu" for breakfast, it was a fantastic deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to hear street noise from a room facing the street. You d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently enjoyed a three night stay at this charming inn. Large, clean, comfortable room and bathroom. No air conditioning but big windows and nice breeze kept room cool in September. Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent "order from menu" breakfast included. Location is amazing, just steps to shops, restaurants, beach and museum. Not the fanciest, but super comfortable and I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: No elevator, be prepared to carry your bag up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich/Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were about to give the Bella Maggiore Inn an average rating. The room we stayed in was at the back with access to a shared patio overlooking the courtyard, but it was not really comfortable due to rundown furnishings (uncomfortable bed) and a musty smell (carpet needs a thorough deep cleaning and bathroom is in need of a complete makeover).
Positive aspects were the friendly staff, the location (within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beach) and a delicious cooked to order breakfast (try the french toast) which in the end improved our rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Bella Maggiore more than once, both with children and for romantic getaways. It's our favorite hotel, and whenever we're in central coast California, we look to stay there.

The hotel is beautiful, with a distinctive mediterranean-style facade. A critic might say that the interior is a bit shabby looking, but I would call it charming and authentic. In the evening there is complimentary wine and light snacks (veggies, crackers, cheese), which is a really nice touch.

The location is terrific. Right around the corner from Main St. shops and a short walk to both the beach and the Ventura Pier.

But, as others have pointed out, maybe the best thing about this hotel is the marvelous breakfast included with the price of a room. It's a full-menu breakfast that you order, not a buffet. The food is outstanding, and the restaurant itself is in a stunning courtyard with a water feature, pretty iron work, and flora. An absolute gem of a place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Address: 67 South California Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Maggiore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.