We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful piece of Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Maggiore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Maggiore Inn
Save
You added Bella Maggiore Inn to your Saves list
67 South California Street, Ventura, CA 93001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Santa Paula, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delightful piece of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

What a delightfully quaint and charming Inn. Reminds me of Europe. A pleasant escape for the weekend. Enjoyed the wine and appetizers in the evening and the full menu breakfast - both included with the room. Nona's Courtyard Cafe was wonderful -- the trickling fountain, the food, and excellent service. My compliments to Chef Kevin! The hotel staff from the front desk to housekeeping were friendly and helpful. I am looking forward to staying in this charming Inn again!

  • Liked — The charm and great value
  • Disliked — I was happy in every way.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
10
67
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Not quite as charming as it would like to be, but still a reasonable price ($100 for low-season, 1 person).

Room was good size for 1 person, bathroom very large and spacious. Nice toiletries, nice truffles in the room. Someone had forgotten to replace the fresh flowers on the dresser and they were pathetically wilted and dying, which detracted a little from the atmosphere. No problems with parking in December, and I liked having lots of free snacks etc. and pleasant communal sitting areas. Interesting area of downtown with small shops, though I didn't spend any time there.

The "European" touches are a little overdone, but well-intentioned. A few issues:
- the staff member who took my reservation needed more training in phone service; the staff member when I checked in needed a lot more training (e.g. after you take the plastic off the guests' snack platter, you do not stand there and help yourself to the snacks first while there are guests watching you).
- free breakfast is made to order from the menu at the cafe, and it was tasty; however, the courtyard can be pretty cold in winter. I think you could eat indoors, but it wasn't clear where.
- room was clean but walls are very scuffed and dingy
- free wireless Internet is very slow and inconsistent. I gave up after a while.
- would be noisy in summer, or if you had a room on the street.

All in all, a good place for a business visit, and maybe a good choice for a fun vacation.

  • Liked — Location, free snacks, huge bathroom, nice toiletries
  • Disliked — Very slow Internet service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Arrived Sat Night. Parking is out back in a public lot shared by crashed Bum, Pissing Drunk(2 cars away and talking to us), a Lone middle aged skateboarder (What he was doing in the parking lot at 11:30PM?), and a variety of party goers cruizing the lot. At least it was lit up.

Room was small but clean. Bed was comfortable. No freeway noise but plenty of downtown party noise. Light in bathroom was either super bright or regular with noisy fan. Lights on either side of the bed need to be lowered as they shine right into your eyes when looking at the person next to you. other room light had burnt out bulb.

Stafff was generally inexperienced or lacking in hospitality skills. We were told we'd get a particular room when booking but were shifted to another when we arrived with no concession of price or upgrade. We were told breakfast was at 6:00am but after we pack and go downstairs to check out, we're told it is at 7:00. The front desk person could have walked to the kitchen and asked them to get a few things out as they were there prepping anyway but we got a blank stare and no directions to someplace that could offer us breakfast..

In general this place has the potential to be a good place with a a few minor adjustments to the room, more security around the parking (a guard, Camera or something), and a well informed staff that knows how to take care of people.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed here overnight and it was lovely! The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel had a lot of charm and the free breakfast was awesome!

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy on the weekends due to bar across street
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I stayed on the second floor at the back of the property overlooking the courtyard and rear of the hotel (corner room.) There is no air conditioning, but the climate was pleasant. In fact, the ceiling fan made the room very comfortable with the windows open. I slept soundly until 5:30 a.m. when the Courtyard Cafe started dragging metal tables around and banging pots and pans! Needless to say, there was no sleep to be had after that!

The room was nice (small) but I knew it would be a small room as I booked the least expensive room ($89/night.) There was only a stall shower and the bath was dated and old. Water pressure was good, but the shower turned instantly COLD when (I assume) someone in the adjacent room flushed their toilet! That was certainly a "wake-up" for sure!

The front desk staff was very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. Leaving the hotel though (through the rear exit) I had to navigate the gauntlet of smoking restaurant employees!!! YUK!
The Inn was totally nonsmoking, so I was surprised that they allowed their employees to smoke on premises. What a nasty habit!

The location is awesome and if you want to be right downtown this is the place to stay. It was clean, comfortable, and pleasant (except for the noise.)

  • Liked — Historic...Quaint
  • Disliked — Noisy! No Airconditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

Loved the Bella. Definitely quaint and felt European..
Loved the wine and appetizers in the late afternoon and met some interesting people in the lobby. Nona's Cafe was wonderful -- the food and the service. We stayed four nights and tried something different each day for breakfast and it was all wonderful. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.
Planned to stay only one night, but liked it so much we canceled other reservations and extended. Our first room was small and interior - and overlooked the courtyard. It was relatively quiet.
Our second room was larger and nicer, but at the back of the hotel and noisy at night. If I go again I will probably take ear plugs! There is no elevator - which was fine with me - I need the exercise. But might be a negative for some.
Stayed here in July 2007.

  • Liked — Friendly, quaint, good location, not cookie-cutter
  • Disliked — Street Noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainline phila.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Ventura strikes us as a place where normal, non-plastic folks could possibly live in California near the coast. This was our second visit there, in conjunction with campus visits for my college-bound daughter. We really like it here.

The Bella Maggiore Inn offers a spacious, centrally located, efficiently run accommodation. It's quirky but comfortable.

Pros:

Location within the town of Ventura, size and layout of accommodation (including a stained-glass window catching the afternoon sunlight in room 31), free parking and one of the BEST BREAKFASTS we have ever been offered anywhere in a charming courtyard as part of an overnight rate. Everything was clean. The building is historic. Decent water pressure and plenty of hot water in the shower. Welcoming lobby on the ground floor.

Cons:

If your room faces California Street, you will hear the lively street level nightlife through your closed windows, despite your (and the management's) best efforts. The cooling system worked well but consistently rattled while in operation. The furniture and carpet were older and could be updated to give a fresher impression to the interior. No elevator.



If you stay, request a room off of the main streets. (Due to the occupancy rates, we did not have a choice.) To the management's credit, they did tell us that the choices available to us at the time of our booking were not quiet.

  • Liked — fabulous breakfast andits location
  • Disliked — the noise level outside of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Maggiore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Maggiore Inn

Address: 67 South California Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Bella Maggiore Hotel Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Maggiore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.