We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an old hotel, what do you expect?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   550 SanJon Rd, Ventura, CA 93001 (Formerly The Pierpont Inn & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 11 Ventura B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's an old hotel, what do you expect?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights in October. Great location, free wi-fi, free breakfast, free parking and great location. Not offered at others we looked at. Like other reviews, the hotel is old which can add to the charm. It has recently changed ownership and some but not all of the rooms have been re-done. We got an older room but it did have a new bed which was really comfortable. For a short stay, it was worth the $129 a night. The walls are thin, so you could hear your neighbors fairly well. We did not dock for that, it is what it is in an older building. We docked a star for cleanliness. Although the room was older, even wiping down the walls would have made a difference. Both the window and shower curtains were dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    66
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
57
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Pierpont Inn and the service was very nice and attentive. The breakfast was great and the view (although our room didn't really have one to speak of) can be wonderful. This is an older hotel and it is seriously in need of an upgrade. Everything was clean and in order, but the entire room and bathroom just spelled old and outdated. The flat screen television sat on top of the television cabinet, because it didn't fit inside, and where the old television would have sat there was an empty space but still retaining all of the hardware for the old television. The curtains seemed old, the tile was old, the room was overloaded with perfume when we arrived but there was an in-room air purifier that we quickly started. I really want to like this hotel, but it just needs major re-modeling. In addition, the cost was just way too high for what one receives, plus it bothered me that they added on a service charge for the room ($12.50 per night) because the room wasn't booked directly through them. Finally, Ventura is a wonderful place for the beach, restaurants and music, but the Pierpont is not close to any of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive of the trip, and the worse. The room AC didn’t work, leaving the room at a constant 81 degrees. When I called to have it fixed, they said the maintenance guy already went home. The highway (101) was directly outside the window and very noisy. Also, service at the restaurant was very slow both for dinner and breakfast despite the fact that there were very few people there. The service staff spent most of the time just chatting with one another. When I talked to the desk in the morning, that said they would take care of matters, but how does that help us??? I do understand why it was the only vacancy that night.

Room Tip: Although they tell you that this room is a view of the ocean, it is actually across two highways and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sept. 21, 2013, we stayed overnight, while preparing for our anniversary luncheon at the hotel, the next day. Since we had read how noisy it was, we asked for, and received, a quiet room. The room had been upgraded and was clean. Sue and Gina, the manager and her assistant, were extremely helpful with plans for the luncheon. Chef Jorge and the restaurant crew provided us with tasty food, well-presented, efficient, courteous and friendly service. The location was beautiful and the grounds were great for photos. When the hotel was built in the early 1900's, there was no Ventura/101 Freeway below it...not much they can do about that. They've managed to lessen the problem with beautiful hedges and flowers. Overall, we were extremely pleased.

Room Tip: Excellent for weddings and anniversaries; rooms away from the 101 are more quiet, but you do give up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am a travel agent and I booked this historic hotel for my client and her her husband's anniversary the night before a kayaking camping trip. The gorunds were beautiful and the location was close to town. When the hotel describes themselves as being historic, what they should have said was old. The rooms were very small which would have been fine except that the room smelled of urine.They stayed in August so it was rather warm when they were there, and the air conditioning didn't work. They paid extra to have the extraordinary view of the ocean and were unable to enjoy it, becuase the room was too hot to be in. They would have opened the windown however, it backed right up to the freeway which caused high levels of noise. Overall, she and her husband were very unhappy with the room they were provided. She went down to the fromt desk to see about a different room and they said they couldn't help her, so then she asked about getting part of her money back and again was told no. The bartender in the bar was very nice. When they returned from her trip she contacted me to give me feedback about the trip. I was very disappointed being since it was the first time that I had booked this property about the service they recieved. I contacted the hotel by phone as well as email to let them know of my clients concerns and was told there was nothing they could do. Luckily since she booked it through my travel agency, I was able to get her the money back. The point is, they do not stand behind their product. I will never put any of my clients again in the future. DO yourselves a favor, if you want an amazing experience do not stay here and book with a travel agent.

Room Tip: Ocean View- Make sure the air conditioning works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Haddam, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in August 2013, while attending our granddaughter's wedding, which was held at the hotel. We thought the grounds, location and public rooms in the hotel were delightful. But the guest rooms we and others in our party were assigned were terrible. Thus my "average" rating - a balance between excellent and poor. I understand the hotel is under new management and they are in the process of renovating the rooms, but meanwhile the older rooms leave much to be desired. In addition to the issues of mold, scummy shower stalls, worn carpet, really old looking decor, the room lacks many creature comforts such as only 2 small drawers in the entire room, no room to put anything down in the bathroom except the back of the old toilet, only 2 small bath towels for 2 adults, a perpetual odor of room spray -- and that's just a start. One plus: the bed was quite comfortable, a saving grace for us seniors! And our room was not as bad as some others in our party were stuck with. One couple even insisted on a full refund, which they were given. The service in the hotel was just ok, but the included buffet breakfast every morning in the restaurant was good and the service there was enthusiastic and patient. The short walk from the hotel to the beach where the ceremony was held was reasonable, and the reception in one of the hotel's several private banquet rooms was quite nice. The convenience of staying in the same hotel as the wedding activities was the only reason I can recommend staying at this hotel - until they bring the rooms up to a standard this historic spot truly deserves.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been recently renovated. An ocean-view room would be nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a block of rooms in August 2013 for some wedding guests from out of town, and were very pleased with the Pierpont. They are under new management, and from what we can tell this new management is doing a great job at restoring and improving the place. Many of the rooms have been renovated, and the rest will be soon too. So some of the rooms still seem a bit outdated, but shouldn’t be for long. All our guests mentioned that the beds were very comfortable, even in the rooms that haven’t been redone yet (memory foam we think), and there was a pretty extensive and good hot breakfast included every morning at no additional charge. The location is fabulous, right on the beach. If you’re thinking of staying here, you should also know it’s right next to the 101 freeway, but honestly when I was around visiting guests in various rooms, I couldn’t hear the noise from most of them. We would also like to compliment Severine (a manager I believe) because of how helpful she was with our group. We actually reserved the block of rooms with the interim management, who made a mistake. The Pierpont normally doesn’t allow reserving blocks except for events on the grounds (our wedding was off-site). But when we called to confirm the block with the new management, Severine was able to honor our reservation even though they technically didn’t have to. She continued to be a great help to us in answering all my emails very promptly, and then passing out our welcome packets to our guests as they checked in. The Pierpont is a beautiful old Craftsman building with a lot of character and charm. Ask for a quiet, renovated room, and you won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room and/or a room offset from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn

Address: 550 SanJon Rd, Ventura, CA 93001 (Formerly The Pierpont Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ventura hotel property encompasses decades of rich architecture featuring two 1925 English Tudor Revival cottages and a 1935 Spanish Revival Banquet Center. The romantic California coastal charm of the Pierpont Inn has made our Ventura Beach hotel a favorite location for weddings and receptions, family reunions, corporate retreats and great overnight getaways for over 100 years.With sweeping panoramas of the Pacific Ocean and cozy craftsman-style architecture, this 77-room historic hotel in Ventura County, California is situated on a bluff overlooking the ocean surrounded by lush landscaping.The Pierpont Inn is located within walking distance of historic Downtown Ventura and the San Buenaventura Mission, located just 58 miles from Los Angeles, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierpont Hotel Ventura
The Pierpont Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.