We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit poor, fairly cheap but needs a good doing up.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 East Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001 (Formerly Ocean View Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bit poor, fairly cheap but needs a good doing up.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the photo of the front gates this place looks nice, however its slightly seedy, a bit dirty and the wifi doesn't work, even with the correct code. I have to say that the young lad on reception was very helpful, even though he was on the other side of a window and dealing with me through a hatch.

Got the impression that many people were long term residents. Bit run down and had the feel of needing a good fix up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night.
First of all I arrive to ask about if they had any room. They told me yes, for 70$
I went to the downtown to do some things and then when I came back, the guy at the front desk was angry and he told me, NOOO, I TOLD U don't go to the downtown, no more rooms. After talking with him, he gave me one room for 70$ (he told me, no tax.) The room was ok (old but clean) thats why I give the motel 2 stars.

I don't really care about the noise, cause I'm young but it was so loudy the whole night

By the way, he didn't give me the password for the wifi...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place was old and run down.We booked online at the last minute. Unfortunately there was a group of young men in the next room who admitted they did not care who they disturbed. We had prebooked 2 nights online and after 1 night with no sleep were ready to leave. It is run down and dirty. This is a cheap motel which we tolerated but couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Where do I start? I was just winging it trying to find a cheap room for 2 nites, found this place, it looked ok from the outside, I was too tired to look at any more motels so I settled on this one....
Bed was harder that a rock, the carpets were so dirty that when I walked on them with my white socks, my socks promptly became BLACK on the bottom. The curtains were filthy,the bathroom window had no cutains but did have a cracked window & a hole in the screen. No hangers to hang my clothes on, the front door had a broken off lock,holes kicked in bathroom door...the Tv when I turned it on immediately started playing some PORN channel....all the people around there were sketchy & more than likely lived there on a weekly basis...I used to be a truck driver & have stayed in motels/hotels all over the country & this place is hands down the worst one EVER...I even gave the manager a list of all the foul things I experienced in the that room & he said "I do the best I can." yehhhh.....ok.....right.....

Room Tip: Do not get a room at this place, read all the other reviews THEY ARE TELLING THE TRUTH & SO AM I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

First off, what the picture of the outside doesn't show you is on either side of the entrance, there are 2 Liquor stores, both of which had questionable people hanging out at all hours. When I pulled in with my family, a resident of the place told me "this is a reeaalll quiet place". I wanted to ask if his name was Norman Bates. The rooms looked dingy but OK, but when we let our 9 month old crawl on the carpet after a bath literally within 2 minutes her legs were black. After driving around town at 9:30 at night, we found no vacancy and had to endure a night at this place. I thought my 12 year old daughter was geting emotional at bed time, as she was covering her face. I asked what was up - "Dad, this place smells" She was right. The party outside lasted until about 2 in the morning. I sort of got to sleep after that. Altogether, scary location and junky rooms. Worth the money to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I did booking via famous booking system. And I arrived at the motel the night before 12:00. Manager for a long time waking up, and when he woke up he said "SOLD OUT". Despite the fact that we had a voucher of booking system.
The question: "What about my money. Are you going to chrage it?"? He said "NO".
The next day, I saw that the money from the card was charged.
They stole my money! Never use this motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Ocean View Motel Ventura is the most disgusting motel I have ever had the the misfortune to visit. We checked in and out within 12 minutes.

When I reported the disgusting condition of the room to the manager, we was kind enough to offer us an alternative room ( LOL) We declined. The manager did provide a full refund and we were able to leave quickly without a single bite.

Yeh, OK we were looking for budget accommodation, but this was really, really not acceptable
We witness and can confirm nearly all of the negative comments provided by the other victims

Room Tip: Stay in another motel if you are looking for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1690 East Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001 (Formerly Ocean View Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Motel Ventura Hotel Ventura
Ocean View Hotel Ventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.