We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Sunland Park Drive, El Paso, TX 79922 (Formerly Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland Pk Dr & I-10 W)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Fit all our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here two nights. The room was large and comfortable. All rooms face the outside and it is set up as a complex with two levels. The staff was very accommodating with the few needs we had. There is a nice bar area in the lobby. Parking was convenient to most rooms. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
So very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful staff. We are so thankful that you chose our hotel and hope that when you come back through - that you'll stay with us again! I'm always available if you should need any assistance.

Thanks again!
Robin Pence - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    61
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
32
38
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

As far as the Holiday Inn brand goes, this is an oldie. The lobby, lounge and restaurant are updated and fresh feeling. The rooms are divided up into remote buildings which means that you should not unload your car to check in as you will be driving to a different building anyway. Only one building has an elevator - I think it's building 2. All of the rest have stairs and stairs and stairs. The rooms are a little dark and could use a refresh but the beds are very comfortable and the rooms quiet. For value over price, it should cost a lot less than it does - envision a Motel 6 interior with nicer quilts and the Holiday Inn brand. Stayed here because all the rest of the rooms in town were booked. The lounge was adequate with a good bartender. We did not try the food. And the pool was inviting although we did not have time to enjoy it. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, be sure to request at reservation or confirm with hotel they can accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Great to hear that you will be back. We just completed one project on our outdoor pool and the guests love it!

Robin Pence - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May of 2014 during a business trip. The rooms were well furnished and well-maintained. The only problem was minor - I was unable to adjust the incorrect time on the clock radio. The facility is modern and designed more like a condo complex than a hotel with separate multi-level buildings and attractive walkways. The location is convenient to the freeway and not too distant from the airport.

The hotel offers several types of discounts. Members of the American Automobile Association (AAA) get a special room rate which includes the excellent buffet breakfast.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We appreciate your high 4 star rating and thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can assist with future reservations.

Sincerely,

Robin Pence - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We took a mini vacation from Deming, NM to stay at this hotel. We had our 5 kids with us and they were very accommodating. Everyone was really nice and the hotel had a tropical feel to it. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
5 STAR!!! Doesn't get any better than that! Many thanks for your kind and honest review! Come back soon!

Robin Pence - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, tx
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn El Paso Sunland Park for one night during the memorial day weekend. We got this thru Priceline which advertised it as a 3*, which wasn't true at all. We would rate this hotel as a 2*. Here are our observations

Pros:

1. The hotel is near a lot of shopping and restaurants. 

2. The bed was comfortable. 

3. The fridge was a nice size. 

Cons:

1. Understaffed - we had to wait almost an hour to get some extra sheets. When enquired at the front desk, we were told that we had to wait for the guy making another run to get it to us and only he had the key to the laundry. The front desk lady was nice enough to find someone else to finally do it, but they were Understaffed to do the basic customer requests. 

2. The rooms are very old and the carpets looked disgusting. We didnt let our kids play on the floor. 

3. The furniture also was old and the room layout looks like from the 80s.

4. The rooms are bit ways away from the parking and for people with small kids that had to carry a lot of stuff from the car to the room,  it is quite a pain. 

In summary, we were disappointed with this hotel and we're glad that we had to stay only a night. Skip this hotel if possible. 

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Memorial Day weekend was indeed very busy and we were happy to be able to host the pilots for the Balloon festival that weekend. We did schedule extra staff, so my sincere apology for not getting the quick response you deserved. Your feedback and comments have been taken to heart and we will review them with the entire team to see where we fell short of your expectations. As you can see from other comments through Trip Advisor, we are a Hotel that tries it's best to make each and every guest comforatable during their stays with us. If we fall short in any way - then we must do whatever is possible to remedy any and all issues. So, on behalf of myself and our team - thank you so much for taking time to review our Hotel. It is our hope that you may give us another chance to prove to you that we care and want to earn your business, I can be reached at: pencer@gfhotels.com or 915-833-2900 ext 667. Sincerely, Robin Pence - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Way better than expected! A lot of the reviews were not favorable but we just stayed there and I feel like it was an incredible stay. The hotel was clean and upgraded in several ways that regular short term hotels aren't, the staff was kind and helpful, room was clean and beautiful. The pool was clean, warm, well maintained with clean towels and a grill available. We have a lot of road trips and have stayed in our share of highway side short term hotels and this is by far the best. Definitely will recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for acknowledging what we try so very hard to do - give great service, facilities and clean rooms that guests can relax in. We really appreciate your kind and honest review of our Hotel - Holiday Inn Sunland Park El Paso.

Sincerely,

Robin Pence - GM
pencer@gfhotels.com
915-833-2900 ext 667
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed (May 14 - 15) to at this hotel while passing through while moving my brother from San Diego back home to Alabama. This was one of our stops for the night. The room was average. There was a stain on the bed and also on a towel that we used in the room. I don't know how it got passed both the laundry people and House Keeping.

The hotel set up was strange as you had to drive to whatever building your room was in. Before we left for the road, we went to put ice in our cooler and had to go to 2 different ice machines and both were out of ice. When checking out, I mentioned this to the Front Desk worker and he seemed not to care.

Also, if I heard right the guy checking out after me made the statement that he would not be returning to this hotel. Again the Front Desk worker seemed not to care. But the hotel seemed to be full so I guess it didn't matter that much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
This is not typical of our Hotel and I would love the opportunity to discuss with you - so that we may check to see what happened and who was involved. One of the top things we are known for at this hotel is our great staff and service and also our unique Villa style layout. If you could contact me at your convenience, I would greatly appreciate it. I can be reached at:

Robin Pence - GM
pencer@gfhotels.com
915-833-2900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX

Address: 900 Sunland Park Drive, El Paso, TX 79922 (Formerly Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland Pk Dr & I-10 W)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland & i-10 w. Hotel El Paso
Holiday Inn El Paso-Sunland And i-10 w.
El Paso Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park, TX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.