We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disapointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
austin,texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big Disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I dont recomend this Hotel if your looking for a 5 star property. The lobby is beautiful and the historic bar is a sight to see. The food is good and the Sunday Brunch ($20) is to die for. However the rooms are in dire need of upgrade. My bathroom sink back up some black tar sudstance so they gave me another room. I turned on the bathroom sink and same subatance came out of faucet! they upgarded me to a beautiful suite that a chain smoker had occupied despite the warning that somkers are given at check in advising them ogf a $250 fine for smoking in a non-smoking room.The toliet didnt flush in the suite!The 20' x 30' lap pool was the bigest disapointment of all. Only 4 chairs and vey plain like one whould find in a 2 star hotel.Go eat lunch there(great cob salad) or have a drink at the bar but dont stay there!
Try the new Hyatt Place El paso-

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    54
    52
    50
See reviews for
33
55
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I got stuck in El Paso without luggage in July when the airport's electricity went out (nice, huh?). I called the Camino Real and they found me a room there asap, without problem. Easy check in, nice big room. Bathroom was my only complaint as the tiles were chipped, door was stained, and it just felt gross. Renovations needed on these bathrooms. Was quiet and I got a great nice sleep. Super friendly staff. Will for sure stay there again. Much nicer than Embassy Suites El Paso.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Just writing to say that we honestly can't see what the bad reviewers saw that was bad in the hotel. During our stay their we got a huge Junior Suite which had a marvelous view of downtown El Paso. All the furniture and bedding was modern and not old and frumpy. Carpeting was very clean and seemed newly installed to match the muted red decor.

A/C worked correctly with no issues at all. The suite we stayed in had modern draperies and was very well lit inside. The bed was awesome and huge. New modern linens with full set of huge pillows and blankets that were comfy. You get the option of having your bed done everyday with new comfy modern linens or they can reuse the same linens to save on not using detergents. They are part of eco-friendly hotels who try to use less earth-damaging practices ie. less harmful chemicals, energy efficient lighting (the reason those bath lamps take 2 mins which is really less than a minute to warm up to full brightness). Great choice if you're into staying in a more eco-conscious hotel.

The vicinity of downtown with the El Paso Museum of Art right directly behind the hotel and a Plaza theatre where you can check out touring Broadway plays next to it. Plus you are right in the central bus hub where you can take a 25 cent trolley to go to El Paso's sunset heights district or to the bridge of Mexico to partake in fine dining/sight seeing or check out the university.

The hotel itself has a great decor the Dome bar is just a nice place to be in because it's something you don't see every day. Likewise around the dome bar you have various actual authentic paintings or Lithographs from renound artists i.e. Salvador Dali, Picasso that you don't see at a Hilton or any other hotel in the area another great site to have your cameras ready to take pics of.

Parking is pretty big so no worry about not finding parking and the cars are real close to the elevators to bring up your staff if you don't take advantage of the bellboy service. In/Out privileges everyday for 5 bucks in DOWNTOWN is awesome. We had the advantage of booking when they offered free breakfast vouchers. Azulejos the mexican restaurant inside the Hotel serves some of the best mexican breakfast buffett which we recommend you check out. Great chilaquiles, chile colorado/verde and other regular american staples like pastries, cereal oatmeal etc. at a very decent price. Don't pass up on taking them up for the breakfast. Service was very swift and nice as well.

All in all a great hotel which more people should give a shot at. Don't go to much by the previous bad reviews imo.

  • Liked — Room size and furnishing/accomodations
  • Disliked — lack of better tv's or radios
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Nice hotel and the fine dining is a must. The hotel is great but becareful outside as its right on the Mexico border. We liked the hotel but was glad to get out of downtown El Paso as we didnt feel safe.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This is an old historic hotel in the heart of downtown El Paso. There are two restaurants on site with a popular bar underneath a beautiful Tiffany glass dome. We dined at the lower price restaurant where the service was spotty and the food was o.k..
The hotel room was very clean and comfortable except the bathroom was outdated and looked like it needed a good scrubbing. There was no problem with hot water at this hotel!
The beds were extremely comfortable as it was one of the best nights sleep I've had at a hotel/motel.

Parking was underground for a reasonable price of $5 per night with in/out priviledges.

Overall the staff was very courteous and fairly efficient except for the restaurant.

  • Liked — location and historic flavor
  • Disliked — bathroom in room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We had never been to El Paso so we checked the web. We were amazed by the Camino Real hotel webpage, but who believes these pictures? However, the actual hotel surpassed our expectations. It is an historic hotel in a plaza with other cultural buildings (a performing arts center and a museum). The hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated - wood, marble and a huge stained glass dome encompassing the bar. This elegant atmosphere made our margharitas taste so much better. Near the bar was a 4 diamond restaurant that was a bit too pricey for our present vacation which was to visit Big Bend and other national parks. Our rooms were spacious and decorated with furnishings unlikely to be found in an American hotel chain. Each floor was nicely decorated (we checked!). The lobby showcased artwork with huge paintings of horses, native Americans etc. done by local artists. The hotel staff was helpful and suggested restaurants even though there were two in the hotel. This stay set a nice tone for the trip. We were there for only two days and I wouldn't look any further were we to find a reason to be in the El Paso area again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Camino Real over the Thanksgiving weekend. I grew up in the area and so I figured I would pick this place having been there for nice formal events. Well, I guess I'm thinking back 10 years too long because this place has gone down hill. That probably happened when the Westin company left... The rooms are very run down..furniture is beaten up...the beds are uncomfortable, the bathroom, also not great...and the place just felt filthy.

You're better off staying at a nice hotel near the airport..or stay in a budget hotel in the area that is newer and cleaner. This place needs a BIG makeover.
Oh..and don't even think about using the pool...it's really small and you won't want to sit at it..trust me.
The Dome Bar is there..it's nice but not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 18, 2007
Dear Guest – It is always disappointing to read reviews where we have clearly not met our guest expectations. Unfortunately, the review was not as timely as we would like. You can see that the more recent reviews of the hotel where guest stayed recently in March and April reflect that we have COMPLETED A MAJOR RENOVATION including all carpeting, bedding, curtains and upholstery in all sleeping rooms. Our guest comment cards are being return with very pleasant messages regarding the new upgrades. I hope you have an opportunity in the future to re-experience our grand hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.