We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Briarcliff, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Great location downtown with nice views. Do not miss having a drive at the famous Dome Bar with the Tiffany Ceiling dome. The parking lot is a little precarious, be super careful. We were told by other colleagues about the wonderful (& free) continental breakfast downstairs, the staff did not tell us, but we checked and it was indeed free and delious.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    53
    49
    50
See reviews for
32
54
26
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Always wanted to stay at the Camino Real in downtown El Paso. Arrived at 9pm on a Wednesday. This was the only time the service was poor. Only had one bell hop and it wasn't until we went inside to check in that he appeared. Asked for a roll away bed but it did not appear until the 3rd time I asked (had to go downstairs to get that going). But the people that we did meet were very nice. The beds were great, the parking was good and if there was a maintenance problem (bad sink draining), they were on it and fixed it perfect. Great buffet breakfast. Overall, a very nice downtown hotel and would stay there again. The rooms were comfortable and the lack of closet space was not an issue for the 3 nights we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for business. I was initially quite impressed as it has a lovely lobby and bar. The staff was nice and helpful throughout my stay. My room was very dark, had very little furniture, and was simply depressing. The bathroom was dirty-many stains on the walls and it was very dated looking. The bed was uncomfortable. The room overall felt unclean. I was at the hotel for two nights. When I got up in the morning, I noticed quite a few what appeared to be insect bites on my legs and arms. I was later told I had scabbies. While I cannot say that I got this terrible afflication from this hotel, I got the scabbies from somewhere during my couple days in El Paso. Needless to say, I do not plan to return to this hotel, or El Paso, for that matter.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

... I give this one a solid four. The poor reviews on here must be from yuppie prima-donna types who don't appreciate classic old-style. Granted, this is a notch below the Dorchester in London, but still a grand old lady and beats the blandness of most modern hotels in the US.
The lobby, bar, and up-scale restaurant are striking. Incredible stone-work with lavish appointments. Yes, there is the occasional chip or scratch in the beautifully polished brass and marble - granite - serpentine, but good grief - it's nearly 100 yrs old !
The food and service were top-flight, as good as any I've seen anywhere in the world (including some 5-stars in Dubai, etc.). The casual dining restaurant is where they serve their breakfast buffet which is quite good with omelets made to order, mexican and american dishes, fine pastries, etc. It's also where they serve their Sunday brunch - which is a bargain at $18, including the above breakfast items plus prime rib, cold peeled shrimp, crab claws, and many other dishes that were quite tasty. The flan was to die for, served with fresh raspberries. Service was superior and ultra-friendly without being intrusive.
The room was only a tad dated, very clean, well supplied, etc. but not especially elegant. I'd call it "comfortable". Bed was good, as was recliner, TV, etc.
The imperfections: #1 slower than average elevator times as two were down for replacement, although never more than 3-5 minutes even so. #2 - the weekend band was a bit loud, so having conversation in the lounge with clients was difficult. Flip-side of that was - it was a great band ! #3 Internet a bit slow at times, but acceptable. #4 Water pressure on the low side but acceptable.
I have to recommend this hotel highly as I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
421 helpful votes 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Set right in the heart of downtown El Paso, the Camino Real is an excellent hotel in every way. The rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly - they were particularly helpful in helping us get to Juarez airport. All the facilities are good too.

The bar is spectacular with its Tiffany dome and was always busy and lively - although I did not care for the loud 80s rock music the band played but that's maybe what Texmex people like.

We ate once in the Dome restaurant which. although pricey, was high quality dining and recommended.

Maybe after several days in Mexican hotels, this comfortable, historic hotel seemed especially good but I will definitely stay again if I had a chance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque,New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I stayed here for New Years eve and I loved the hotel, the room was nice and cozy,the bed and pillows were comfy and everything just went really well, they even let me check in a few hours earlier. I will stay here next time I am in El Paso. I also got this hotel at a great price online.

the only bad thing is the elevators are slow.

  • Liked — the location and the comfy-ness of the room
  • Disliked — the elevators
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in October. Dont know where to begin.... Only positive is the neat lobby bar. Lot of history and beautiful stain glassed windows but terrible service. As for the rest of the hotel, this property has seen better days. Peeling paint on walls, old stinky carpet. All elevators were broken at one point during the weekend with many guests repeatedly getting stuck in them. Staff didnt seem to care. Front desk staff rude and unhelpful.

Room was atrocious. Originally put in corner room with double bed (not queen) . Very dirty room especially bathroom. We wore shoes everytime we entered bathroom. Leaking shower, mildew on walls, no shower curtain, and toilet seat worn out like you would see in a flop house. Basically is a flophouse. Switched rooms second night and room no better other than bigger bed. Just felt grimy the whole time I was there. This hotel needs to be renovated or shut down. El Paso is a terrible town and this hotel only helped to confirm that.. Avoid this place.

  • Liked — the lobby bar
  • Disliked — the filthy room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.