We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly Needs a Makeover” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Save Saved
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in El Paso
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Badly Needs a Makeover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here because we were in town for a concert next door at the Abraham Chavez Theatre. Was looking forward to staying in a charming historic hotel and unfortunately this didn't turn out to be that hotel. Felt run down and dirty, the hallway on our floor smelled like a flea market. Bed was as hard as a rock. The Dome Bar was impressive as long as you were looking up at the ceiling the entire time. Found a piece of chewed gum in the snack mix the bartender served us. The place needs a top to bottom makeover.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    52
    49
    48
See reviews for
32
51
26
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the perfect place to get a feel of the old town and stay in a very comfortable hotel. The room was spacious and well-appointed, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The staff could use a bit of training as they seemed a bit disorganized and lack the professional touch you'd expect of this kind of accommodation. In all, it was a good experience, however, and we'd recommend this for anyone staying overnight in El Paso.

Very easy off and on the highway to San Antonio as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for a conference. Not a good choice. Stay on the first floor. Look around. Then leave.

The rooms smell. They are simply worn out. Not enough outlets to plug everything.

The hot water is either scalding or non existent. The mattress is terrible and there is no box spring.

Many lights are out making the rooms and hotel seem dark and dingy.

The gift shop is two vending machines that dispense one year out of date Cokes. You will be thirsty all the time.

The staff kind of tries, but not too hard. There seems to be a lack of supervision. No you're welcomes when you say thank you and you have to ask for everything. Waited forever for coffee and juice at one of the meals.

Do not hold a conference or stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Way past it's sell by date, but I still enjoy staying here. Front desk staf is improving, but it was really bad in the past. Sales and catering staff first class.

Food is good in bar, but breakfast deal is weak.

I want to support this old gem, but management needs to kick in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to see that our work and effort in our Front Desk is being noticed. We promise to continue working diligently and daily to better serve you.
Always at your service,

Enrique De la Cueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Checked in for a business trip. The room I am in smells like smoke and they would not move me. Actually made me sick! Then I asked what floor the fitness center was on and was told it was closed due to a flood. I asked for a alternative gym close by and was told there were none. The service is so lackadaisical that it borders on funny. The hotel is old and tired and it shows. The room rates are cheap and now I know why. You are better off anywhere in El Paso but here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It's a grand old hotel, lots of history, elegant in its own way, but really past its prime. Very convenient to the convention center, close to a couple of very nice restaurants (Cafe Central and Anson 11) but really is in need of a makeover. If the rate is less than later model hotels in the area, not bad, but if they are trying to pass themselves off as a 4 star place.... don't buy it. Biggest negative for me was the noise, the windows are old and single pane, so street noise is very noticeable. Can't say I won't be back, but it is not tops on my list. It could be a great place with a makeover, lots to work. The staff was quite nice, very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: watch the side of the hotel facing the nightclub across the street, very noisy till the band quits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

An good hotel, that was once special, but clean and very large rooms with comfortable beds.
We preferred to stay here rather than a chain to get the feeling of the town. The dome bar still exists and has a little weekday crowd as we passed by.
The service was friendly. We had a little problem in the room with a water spigot and it was fixed immediately.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.