We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, sad, sad.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad, sad, sad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Checked in for a business trip. The room I am in smells like smoke and they would not move me. Actually made me sick! Then I asked what floor the fitness center was on and was told it was closed due to a flood. I asked for a alternative gym close by and was told there were none. The service is so lackadaisical that it borders on funny. The hotel is old and tired and it shows. The room rates are cheap and now I know why. You are better off anywhere in El Paso but here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    87
    67
    66
    65
See reviews for
40
74
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

It's a grand old hotel, lots of history, elegant in its own way, but really past its prime. Very convenient to the convention center, close to a couple of very nice restaurants (Cafe Central and Anson 11) but really is in need of a makeover. If the rate is less than later model hotels in the area, not bad, but if they are trying to pass themselves off as a 4 star place.... don't buy it. Biggest negative for me was the noise, the windows are old and single pane, so street noise is very noticeable. Can't say I won't be back, but it is not tops on my list. It could be a great place with a makeover, lots to work. The staff was quite nice, very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: watch the side of the hotel facing the nightclub across the street, very noisy till the band quits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

An good hotel, that was once special, but clean and very large rooms with comfortable beds.
We preferred to stay here rather than a chain to get the feeling of the town. The dome bar still exists and has a little weekday crowd as we passed by.
The service was friendly. We had a little problem in the room with a water spigot and it was fixed immediately.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Camino Real located in the heart of El Paso's downtown is a beautiful hotel from the outside and pretty cool inside, The front desk was polite and helpful . But the rooms were just so-so. You would expect something really special for the price. The bathroom smelled like mold and the tile and tub were very old and worn. Beds were pretty comfortable ,linens could have been nicer also.
over all a nice hotel if you want to be downtown and close to the attractions and shops.

note : don't look like a tourist when walking around and keep your bags close.

Room Tip: Dont get a room towards the street .windows are thin and you will hear the sirens of police cars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in El Paso. It's both historic and classy. There may not be flat-screen hotels in every room but it makes up for that in character. I especially loved the bar, which has a unique Tiffany stained glass dome. The breakfast buffet is included with the price of the room and the food and service were both excellent. The hotel is in walking distance to bars and other attractions in the downtown area. It's all a safe area.

Room Tip: Check out the stained glass dome in the hotel bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for business and was impressed with the location and reasonable rate.

The historical hotel is a bit dated but has character and charm.

Service was ok at the front desk but I think the ladies didn't speak great English and they also were training a new employee.

Overall a great spot for a business traveler. Would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are happy to read that you enjoy your stay with us.
In regards to our your comment about front desk, our staff is bilingual and yes we are currently training two new additions to our team, so we can better serve you in the future.
Wishing we have the pleasure of having you stay here on your next trip.

Please contact me if there is something else we can do to improve.
Always at your service,

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this historic treasure. It is a beautiful building. We had a very nice room. The hotel could use some updating to help it be as stately as it deserves. We had some issues with air conditioning as well but none the less a love stay and the bed was very comfy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for giving us your valuable review. We apologize for the issues you had with your air conditioning, we continue to work diligently on fixing issues like that one. We truly appreciate you stay with us, and are glad to read that you loved it here.
We hope to have the opportunity in serving you again.
Always at your service,

Enrique De la Cueva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
0.3 mi away
The Gardner Hotel & El Paso Hostel
4.3 mi away
The Soluna Hotel
The Soluna Hotel
#8 of 81 in El Paso
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 81 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.