We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Are Better Options” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Atlanta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“There Are Better Options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First, the bad news: When we checked in, the room we had reserved (Deluxe King) was not available. Now the good news: the manager handled the problem well, upgrading us to a junior suite. And finally, and unfortunately, more bad news: Our suite was very dated--24 inch old (not flat screen) televisions, worn and stained carpet, and furniture that was at least 20 or 30 years old. The carpet had not been vacuumed as we found peanuts on the floor in the bedroom. The drains in the bathtub and the bathroom sink were rusty. All-in-all, just a rather depressing room. This property needs a lot of attention.

In fairness I must mention that the public spaces are quite nice and the Tiffany dome over the bar is worth seeing. We did not try the dining room but it is a beautiful space.

The staff at the front desk were well-meaning and pleasant but it took us forever to check in and check out. A lot of time was spent just staring blankly at computer screens.

Travelers should also be aware that the downtown area where the hotel is located is quite dead--construction projects halted, vacant store fronts, and deserted streets at night.

All-in-all, I would not stay here again. There is a very nice Doubletree property very close by if you want to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    54
    52
    51
See reviews for
33
55
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Not worth staying at. Water issues and the rooms need updated. I burn myself trying to take a shower ( no cold water just hot). Choose another place. Tvs in the room are old and need updated. So much left to desire.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is out dated and smells like there were in a flood and didn't feel like putting in new carpet or cleaning the place. The staff is unfriendly and completely incompetent. We were there to work a show but that never happened after the idiotic behavior we decided to just move on. This place makes a budget motel seem like a fancy hotel. Don't waste your money or time. We live in el paso and were going to stay the night to treat ourselves but that would of been more like punishing ourselves. Just pass right on by the Camino real hotel there is nothing worthwhile there at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Camino Real is one of the very few decent options to stay in El Paso. We stayed during renovations and thought that the rooms were a bit pricey for what they were but all in all is a decent place. It is clean, the restaurant is good and location wise it's the best. Make sure to take some time to visit the Dome Bar and have a drink there.

Room Tip: We got a suite that looked over Juarez that was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us a review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had time to visit our Tiffany Dome Bar.

We hope to see you back soon!

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Most of the reviews are pretty accurate. It is an old hotel, built in 1912, but that is part of the charm. Kind of reminded me of an old horror movie.....which was not a bad thing. It has an historic charm that you can't get at the newer places. True, the TV is old (approx. 25in. tube) but the furniture looked original.....which again added to the charm. We did not have any problems with the staff at all. In fact they even offered to leave the pool open longer for us. Overall, I would definitely stay again. It was anything but a ghost town while we were there. In fact, there was a live band across the way in an open plaza which was free and had chairs and room for dancing. It's also right across the street from the Civic Center. We didn't go to it but from our room it looked like maybe a rooftop restaurant next to the plaza and concerts in between there and a Starbucks. In this case, you're paying for the experience and not luxury. One more thing, the pool is outdoors on the 10th floor and not heated.

Room Tip: A new wing was added in 1986, maybe those rooms are more modern. Wouldn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to let you know that we are currently working on upgrading our TV system, as well as improving different areas or our hotel also the El Paso downtown area is going thru a remodeling phase and we would like to invite you to come back later and experience the new and exciting El Paso downtown.
We are glad that you enjoy the history that is within our Hotel and hope to see you back soon.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As you walk in the front lobby, your first impression is of an old beautiful hotel with lots of class. I picture it being that way back in the 70s but nothing has been done to the rooms since then. The television has got be be about 30 years old if not older. The bed sheets are so thin as are the pillows. Worn carpet and the bathrooms are horrible. Concrete floors with awful water stains. Worn towels and not working faucets. We had to turn off the hot water under the sink bacause the water would not turn off from the faucet. Be sure that you take your own hair dryer if you must stay there, because the dryers are awful, first of all they don't dry your hair and when you turn them on, the air coming out smells like burnt hair, yuck!!! The staff at front desk was not very friendly and did not seem to know what to do half of the time. Food was cold in the restaurant and had to wait a long time for breakfast we ordered or coffe refills. I will definiely NOT stay ther again, I would rather stay at a chain hotel, there is a Double Tree a couple of blocks away that is very nice and new, rooms are very nice and new.I am sure that if someone went in there and spent money in remodeling and updating the rooms the hotel could then be a 4 star because the room size is very nice. Only stay there if you don't care what the room looks like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Lupe H.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. We appreciate your comments and apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. I have contacted you via TripAdvisor's message system with my email address and I would appreciate you emailing me the details of your stay, so I can further investigate the issues yo mentioned.

Once again, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt so negatively about your stay as the experiences you described are not characteristic of the lever of service we strive to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back and exceed your expectations.

Always at your service.


Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after a national bus line ruined my vacation to Las Vegas and had to put me here for the night. The hotel is really nice on the outside and inside. I was a little worried because the area where this hotel was located looked like a ghost town. The lobby was clean and nicely decorated. I just walked right up to the desk to check in with no issues. The staff was very nice and friendly. Before I went to my room, I had a much needed alcoholic drink in the bar area. It was very relaxing and quiet.
I went upstairs to my room and it was very decent and clean. I do have to say that the bed was a little too firm for me, but I was just going to be there for the night.

Room Tip: I asked for a non-smoking room and it was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Innohsentgrl, on behalf of our staff I want to thank you for your giving us of your time to write a review of your night stay with us at Camino Real. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to unwind and relax after the trouble you had with the bus line. We hope that you enjoyed your Las Vegas trip & look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.