We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restoration in progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A restoration in progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a great slice of history. If you walk the lobby and restaurant area, you can see old black and white photos of the hotel from the early 20th century and marvel at the Tiffany dome glass - it is beautiful. The rooms are ok, not fabulous not awful, but the rates are very reasonable. The small café in the lobby was just ok as well. The breakfast buffet could use a little more care, the food was never really warm. This place has great bones; it just needs a little updating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Hungrytraveler21,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the History that is within our Hotel walls.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    75
    53
    50
    50
See reviews for
32
54
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a recommendation. MUST see the fantastic glass dome done by Tiffany over the bar. A lot of marble and gilt...beautiful. Cucumber Martini is going to be my next 'must have'. Mexican Martini served in the most beautiful glass I have ever seen. Service was S.L.O.W., but the people watching was worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear DuraMater.

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review.

We are glad you enjoyed or Tiffany stained glass dome at the Bar. It was built in 1912 and has seen the likes of many legends that have walked in to our Hotel, Pancho Villa, Amelia Earhart, Eleanor Roosevelt, Bob Dylan, U.S Presidents Taft, Hoover, Nixon and Bush and many more.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Camino Real Hotel upon your next trip to El Paso.


Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 while on a three-day business trip. Overall the customer service was positive. The room was nice, could have used a little room TLC, i.e., minor maintenance tv issues, etc. But it was very close to where I was conducting business so I can complain.

I would definite stay here again--and probably will if I need to go to El Paso next week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Burton K,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and are glad to hear your stay was up to par. Sorry about the TV problems we are currently working on replacing them

We hope to see you back soon!

Always at your service.


Enrique De la Cueva

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

LOCATION, location, location.
The room was spacious, clean , quiet , and had a nice city view.
We could walk around the historic downtown area of the city. And only a short drive to other places.
Parking is in a garage for an additional $6/ day with on and out privileges .
The staff was really helpful . When I called for extra towels and a nonfunctional light, a pleasant housekeeper arrived with the needed supplies in minutes.
Lots of options for eating within a short walk.
Beautiful old hotel. Be inspired by the bar and lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Patricia R,

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. We truly appreciate that we were your top choice of hotel in El Paso. It is always great hearing that our guests had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed the rich history that is within our hotel walls, our Texas sized rooms.

We hope to see you soon!

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

So, here I am at the Camino Real in El Paso. I am on a business trip. Not comfortable here. First, we ordered room service and got bowls of cold soup with no spoons and a Cesar salad with cold grilled chicken and cheap low quality produce. Think Denny's quality food but cold. Then, I got I to bed and found that the sheets were questionable. There were little dots of dirt or fuzz in the sheets and I found a hair in the bottom sheet. Yes, I do inspect my sheets. Then, I immediately caught a smell of grease or sweat on the pillows or pillow cases. I had to throw the pillows off the bed because the smell makes me sick and keeps me up. Yuck. No wonder no one stays here and it was priced lower than the Hyatt Place and Hilton Garden Inn. I do not plan on staying here again. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service we strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory.

Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had never been to the Camino Real before, but had heard so much about the beautiful Dome Bar and wanted to have a pre-party drink there on New Year's Eve. The hotel is within walking distance to the El Paso Club on the top floor of the Chase Building, where we had reservations for a dance/dinner party. I had read TripAdvisor reports that the rooms were a run down, but we booked anyway and were delighted that other critiques were not what we experienced.
The room was large and well-appointed with nice bed linens, plush pillows and comfy mattress. There was a little ante room before entering the bedroom, which made it feel even larger and special. The antique-looking amoire was a nice touch. The bathroom was also large and clean and well lit. The hallways were wide and well lit with attractive carpeting. It was a corner room with windows providing views of the architecturally sculptured art museum on one side, and the other window overlooked the broad expanse of El Paso.
What could have been better: 1) Our drink in the lovely, lovely, lovely Dome Bar was well-served, but the room was so cold that patrons, including us, were forced to wear coats. 2) Check-in was remiss - first, they didn't give us a parking pass and we had to wait in a long line to get one; second, they didn't give us a breakfast pass and we had to go to the desk the next morning to get it. The check-in line was long and the clerk was probably trying to be efficient, but it was inconvenient to go back and get the passes he should have taken care of at check in. 3) The room was under lit. There was one night stand with one lamp. There wasn't even a lamp by the side chair, nor a ceiling light. 4) There was only one facecloth in the bathroom. 5) There was a desk/table in the room, but no plug-in nearby. The only place to sit to put on makeup was at the ante room table where there was a plug-in for a makeup mirror. 5) Breakfast was only adequate: There were scrambled eggs and greasy meats, sugary danishes, and only one kind of juice - apple. The cut fruits were watery and tasteless, and we waited far too long for coffee (the morning after New Year's!!!). There were no English muffins, breads for toasting, bananas, yogurts, nor oatmeal.
Would we go back? Probably, because it's so conveniently located, and now we know what to expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear RoadrunnersNewMexico,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We concur that our Bar featuring a custom Tiffany dome are one of our most special highlights in our Hotel and I apologize that you weren't able to enjoy it because of the heating problem we were having at that time. Your feedback on the other points was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was nice, quiet & clean. Unfortunately, the hotel seemed understaffed & people at the front desk didn't seem to communicate with each other.
I had certain incentives included in my rate & the hotel service was ignorant when I put in my request for the drinks & food. I called the front desk the 2nd night, made the request again, was told it would be right up and waited. They never called or even came up to my floor.
I spoke with other guests who said they had a similar issue. They had ordered room service, waited two hours, were then contacted by phone and asked if they still wanted their order. They said no.
When I checked out, I informed the front desk & all they said was, I appologize. These people need to go to professional hoteliers and learn the basics.
I'll make sure never to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminoRELP, General Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Hungrytraveler21,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Always at your service.

Enrique De la Cueva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79901
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.