We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pride of my hometown..Camino Real~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pride of my hometown..Camino Real~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Camino Real has been around for a very long time..as the 6 generations of my family there in El Paso..i enjoyed my stay there and had no problems. Was clean, everything worked well, the front desk was really nice and polite..have nothing bad to say about it..to all those naysayers..I dont drive when i am on vacation so..i didnt pay for a car in the garage except for one day..close to Juarez where I grew up..so I can go there to see my doctor and dentist, plus do some shopping..only thing bad to say about it was that there were some lose tiles in my room, it was quiet, not outdated..the price is about right..because...I KNOW El Paso..quite well,,my immediate family is still here..and i know about the economy..so will stay here again .definitely..

Room Tip: I really dont know..I will stay here again..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you have a positive view on the hotel and we will continue to work to be the best in El Paaso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    54
    52
    51
See reviews for
33
55
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I checked in to the hotel on March 16, and the room was very hot. They sent maintenance and then sent me to another room. It was also hot! After moving me five times, I recommended that they just let me stay in the first room. It was hot as heck, but I did not move all night to try and find a breeze somewhere. When I complained to management, they did nothing. They said they would refund my money, but never did. They were very defensive at first and then said they would refund the charges. It never happened. I called American Express and disputed the charged. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you really like it HOT! There is no air condition. They said they were upgrading, but for some reason I did not believe them. It was like CAMPING in the woods!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are sorry you didn't have a positive experience at our hotel. We have made some changes to the hotel and to our air conditioning. Unfortunately it was after you had stayed with us. If you would please contact me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com so we can arrange for you to stay with us and show you some of our changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

In one word: outdated. And that bad kid of outdated, too. Old fixtures that hadn't been taken care of very well. That's overlookable, especially for the price. What I can't overlook is that I paid for a king size bed, and the gave me a room with a queen without telling me. Then, they told me that it was because they ran out of rooms with kings, and when I asked if I would be getting a refund, they told me no, because it's the same price. On top of that, the faucet dripped allllllll night. We actually had to put a towel in the sink just so we could sleep. The only reason I'd go back to the Camino Real is if I'm attending another late night event in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
First off thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. It is through these comments we can better the overall experience of our guests. We are currently doing some updates on the hotel in general and we will be going into the rooms in the future, as far as a refund on the different room type please email me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com so i may assist you with that. I would hate to lose you as a customer because of this, and would appreciate another opportunity to leave you with a lasting positive impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed the night here with my wife we were downtown for streetfest last year (2011) anyways the bed was as hard as a rock that a caveman would sleep on, the service was terrible they charged my card 2 times & had to wait for over a month to be reinversed but worst of all a spider or something similiar bit my wife in the middle of the night and she still has a scar on her leg from it i dont recommend this place to sleep terrible waste of money, i should have taken the chance & drove home drunk cause sleeping here was no good!!!

Room Tip: Sleep in the holiday inn by sunland park exit or somewhere else, dont sleep here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank yo ufor taking the time to review our hotel. We have made some updates since last year in some areas, we are also always working on the customer service aspect of the hotel. I am sorry you were displeased with your stay and ask to please give us another opportunity to provide the best service and to see for yourself some of the changes made. You can contact me directly at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com and I will make certain to change your mind about our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a bit quirky, but we had a great stay nonetheless. The Dome Bar is amazing! The surrounding neighborhood was shady, but stay inside! Our rooms were spotless and the beds were fantastic. The corner rooms were huge!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they're huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We appreciate and welcome all comments, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staff at this hotel is amazing but other than that, I was underwhelmed. The rooms were dirty and lacked basics such as sufficient electrical outlets. The provided hair blow dryer I swear came from the 70's. The beds were old and uncomfortable and the bathrooms were seriously outdated and I did not feel comfortable even taking a bath. Location wise, it was great. If the staff could be transplanted elsewhere that would be great because they were awesome. The rooms are way over priced, I have stayed in cleaner, nicer, more modern motel 6's. If you are going to stay in El Paso, pay the extra money and stay at the Doubletree. Would not recommend this hotel ever to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. First off we appreciate the compliments to our staff as we strive to be one of the best hotels in El Paso. We are currently updating parts of the hotel in order to better service our clients. I hope that this experience won't be your last and you give us an opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel. Please contact me directly at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com and I will personally take care of your arrangments. We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel is an enigma. The location is terrific. The hotel look & feel is fantastic. And there HAS been some improvement from the last time I visited. The security is MUCH better. HOWEVER, and this is a big however, the rooms are so so so bad. I even asked the clerk to please give me a room where everything works. So, just to name a few things that did not work, in one of the "nicer" rooms:
1 - One lamp did not work (but since there were only three to begin with, the room was always dark and gloomy)
2 - BOTH, the tub and the wash sink, faucets leaked constantly
3 - There was NO pressure in the shower
4 - The iron spit out some vile Brown stuff on my shirt (ruining a very expensive Ralph Lauren dress shirt)
5 - The staff switched from AC to heat, and I did not have any control of the heat/cool in my room.
Come on guys... Shouldn't there be a system of checks when the rooms are being serviced???

Room Tip: Check everything before you unpack. You will certainly change rooms at least once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We are sorry that we missed the opportunity to change your image of our hotel. We are however constantly working on improvements to the hotel , either servicewise or updates to the property. If you would like to give us another chance we can show you the changes we have made. I would like to personally take care of your arrangements if you decide to stay with us again. Contact me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com. Thank you for writing the review as it gives us feedback on how to improve the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.