We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Expected Based On Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real El Paso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real El Paso to your Saves list
Camino Real El Paso
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Expected Based On Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

I must admit I was more than a little nervous about checking into this hotel after reading some of the reviews on this site. But, my co-worker had made the arrangements and I had little choice but to go along.

I expected to find an old hotel with a great lobby that hid horror stories in the rooms. This simply was not the case. What I found was a very solid four-star property that was well maintained, clean and more than acceptable.

True the rooms have older furniture and lack flat screen televisions. True the plumbing fixtures are probably at least 30 years old. However the rooms and bathrooms were meticulously clean and nearly spotless.

Overall, I have no qualms about recommending this hotel to business travelers like myself.

When I return to El Paso, I will be returning to this property.

  • Liked — Historic charm and great appointments
  • Disliked — Downtown can be kinda sketchy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    54
    52
    51
See reviews for
33
55
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I stayed here last night after booking it last minute on Hotwire due to business plan changes. What a nice surprise. My room was fine -- nothing to write home about, but a comfortable bed, better than average toiletries, good carpet and furniture. The common areas downstairs are really wonderful, though, and I wish I'd gotten there earlier to enjoy a drink in the truly spectacular Dome Bar. The hotel provided quick airport shuttle service, and the hotel service overall was quite good. It's not a resort by any means, but for a quick business stay it was fine and with the added bonus of being in a beautiful building.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We were surprised by the luxury for a $110 2 x Queen-bed room. We made some good friends with locals and staff in the Dome Bar. There's a good bar down the road - The Tap - and free Internet in the lobby. Staff were helpful and the rooms very clean and rich looking.
The location is excellent for a quick snack, catching the Amtrak or strolling into Mexico for a few beers.

  • Liked — Location. Nice friendly area. Close to Mexican biorder.
  • Disliked — Tap water isn't too flash in El Paso.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Not your standard hotel chain and a very nice choice in downtown El Paso. Especially at a $114./ night meeting rate.

This hotel is part of a Mexican chain and it their only US location (by just a few blocks). It has a vaguely Colonial Mexico feel.

The hotel and downtown location was very quiet, even with windows open. Artwork adorned the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Meeting rooms were spacious and catered food was very good but the staff seemed to be inexperienced handling business needs on both the AV and catering sides.

The hotel has a fantastic bar under a Tiffany glass dome which seems to be the only happening place in the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

The hotel's downstairs common areas are compelling. The desk staff was nice. I took a dekko at the pool. It's upstairs and outside, which should be fun. But it turns out to be mean.

I'm a little hesitant to write this review, since the management seems to respond to all negative reviews about experiences similar to mine. I don't especially want to be tracked down. However, management's claim that we-are-really-really-sorry-for-your-negative-experience-and-gosh-we-are-renovating-as-fast-as-we-can, well it just ain't so. It annoys me because I believed it, I thought any management that cares enough to respond on tripadvisor.com must run a hotel with a heart.

Not so, folks. Stay away!

The problem is the room. Or my room, perhaps they're not all quite so disgusting. Huge and scarcely furnished, it seems appealing until you squint to stare at the medium-sized TV and fail to sink your toes into the indoor/outdoor carpet. The bed was nice enough. The bathroom is a real trip. It has old and rusty plumbing (e.g., the visible part of the sink’s drain) and the sink couldn’t be turned completely off no matter how hard I tried. The tub/shower was in the far end of a 15’ long bathroom, and the dim lights were both in the near end. I showered with the curtains open, ready for a quick escape should any pop up at me from the drain. The tile grout had lots of black mold, and, yes, the plumbing was rusty, old and crappy. I wish I'd brought a camera to record the squalor.

Oh, yeah: a first for me. The room’s wastebasket still had trash in it when I arrived.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was disgusting.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I dont recomend this Hotel if your looking for a 5 star property. The lobby is beautiful and the historic bar is a sight to see. The food is good and the Sunday Brunch ($20) is to die for. However the rooms are in dire need of upgrade. My bathroom sink back up some black tar sudstance so they gave me another room. I turned on the bathroom sink and same subatance came out of faucet! they upgarded me to a beautiful suite that a chain smoker had occupied despite the warning that somkers are given at check in advising them ogf a $250 fine for smoking in a non-smoking room.The toliet didnt flush in the suite!The 20' x 30' lap pool was the bigest disapointment of all. Only 4 chairs and vey plain like one whould find in a 2 star hotel.Go eat lunch there(great cob salad) or have a drink at the bar but dont stay there!
Try the new Hyatt Place El paso-

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I got stuck in El Paso without luggage in July when the airport's electricity went out (nice, huh?). I called the Camino Real and they found me a room there asap, without problem. Easy check in, nice big room. Bathroom was my only complaint as the tiles were chipped, door was stained, and it just felt gross. Renovations needed on these bathrooms. Was quiet and I got a great nice sleep. Super friendly staff. Will for sure stay there again. Much nicer than Embassy Suites El Paso.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real El Paso

Address: 101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real El Paso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1912, our Texas landmark hotel is located in the heart of downtown El Paso, adjacent to the El Paso Convention Center and within walking distance of museums, historic San Jacinto Plaza, Downtown Entertainment and Business Districts. Guests will enjoy La Huerta Restaurant Open from 6 am until 11 pm, opened from Mon to Sunday Dome Restaurant Open from Tuesday to Saturday from 5 pm to 11 pm Pool Open from 6 am to 11 pm Gym open 24hrs Room service from 6 am until 12 am Secured underground parking Complimentary airport shuttle safe deposit box bilingual staff Business center 24Hrs Union Plaza District about 20 restaurants and bars just 5 min in walking distance Chihuahua's Baseball Stadium 1 block away Hudson Williams Convention center across the street San Jacinto Plaza only 1 block away Museum of art across the street Museum of History 2 blocks away Public Library 3 block away SunBowl Stadium 2 min drive Cincinati District with bars and restaurants next to UTEP only 5 min drive - Located in the Hearth of El Paso, a Texas Landmark part of Historic Hotels of America, with Texas Sized rooms, and a distintion in service with 357 rooms and 19 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real El Paso Hotel El Paso
Camino Real Hotel El Paso
El Paso Camino Real

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.