We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, pleasant staff, clean, near airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Suites El Paso

GuestHouse Suites El Paso
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Suites El Paso to your Saves list
GuestHouse Suites El Paso
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1940 Airway Blvd, El Paso, TX 79925   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Maine, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable, pleasant staff, clean, near airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice recently in/out of El Paso. It met all our needs and the price was very good, given the airport location. Staff was extremely helpful in all respects, from reservations to checkout. The room was clean, quiet (well, you can't avoid some airplane noise when you are close to an airport), nicely appointed, roomy. Complimentary snacks and drinks from 5-7pm, as well as the expected adequate-but-nothing-more sort of complimentary breakfast. Their courtesy van took us to a restaurant and picked us up; airport pickups were also prompt and on-time. No complaints, and we'd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
18
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Very close to base but had no breakfast and shower had hair in it. I could have stayed at mariot for same price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night for easy access to El Paso Airport. The evening desk clerk was extremely friendly. The room was large, nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. Great night sleep before traveling out the next AM. Typical hotel self service breakfast - juice, eggs, potatoes, sausage and make your own waffles. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed Guest House International for two nights. Good location near airport and Ft. Bliss. Helpful staff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building are further from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My name is Tom Conner. My girlfriend and i stayed there a few nights ago the gentlemen that was working the night shift was very helpful and polite i believe his name is martin or mark. The issue i had was with woman working the front desk Irene she demanded that i pay for a movie we didnt even watch. When i tried to explain to her that it was a mistake she then proceeded to being very rude not to mention that she had a strong accent and i had a hard time understanding her so she became even more agitated with me. I ended up paying for the movie because she would not let up. Overall my stay there was great other than the one incident with the woman in the morning irene.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHouseElPaso, General Manager at GuestHouse Suites El Paso, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here; other than the brief encounter regarding your confirmed movie charge. Certainly differences in cultures and language do create challenges as we communicate to each other; but this diversity is part of what makes our country great. The typical disposition of our employee is one of big smiles, laughter and a friendly, positive attitude. I just believe, as you said that the communication differences may have caused some agitation and I apologize for that. I certainly hope that you will again stay with us and experience the great customer service that our guests enjoy with this employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Good hotel, but not great. Some of the staff was unpersonable, but there where a few that where very nice! Sarah was very sweet, and helped us a lot! The room was spacious and I liked the fridge and microwave. But I do wish the comforter wasn't one of those tipocall trashy hotel ones. But other than that it was a nice hotel, especially for the price!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

For the money, I felt it was a good value with an above average level of service. The location was perfect for getting to Fort Bliss and the airport. The benefits, first:

1. It's a new property. They have incorporated some great features. Foremost, all the electrical outlets are about two and a half feet off the floor, arranged near tables and nightstands so you can acutally find them. Charging cell phones, ipods, laptops, etc. is convenient and you are less likely to forget your chargers when you leave. Second, they have this doorbell that only you can hear; no more shrieks of "HOUSEKEEPING!" with door pounding up and down the hallways that rattles your soul as the maids make their rounds.
2. Free breakfast. Not the greatest, but enough variety to mix thing up from morning to morning. Truly something for everyone - vegetarians to rabid meat eaters. And good coffee.
3. The suite is ideal for longer stays. I don't enjoy laying in bed to watch TV; I like that you can sit on the sofa or chair like a civilized human being.
4. The fridge and microwave, with wet bar, is just enough to keep from eating every meal out. This is really nice for those of us who tend to over-eat and pack on the pounds when traveling, or those of us traveling with family and need to economize. Although beware: there is no freezer inside the refrigerator, so skip the TV dinners while at the grocery store.
5. The bathroom is modern with a polished marble counter. But more on the bathroom later....
6. The staff was friendly and courteous. They made efforts beyond what I would expect, such as offering to have someone talk me through the internet connection process if I needed it. And the maids were very sweet and thorough.
7. While a number of business travelers were staying here, the property is also quite kid friendly.
8. The high speed internet actually worked, unlike a lot of properties who advertise it but don't actually have the bandwidth to support such claims.

Okay, regretably -- there were a few drawbacks:

1. The bathroom was designed with a man in mind. There is very limited storage space for a typical female traveler. A toothbrush, comb and razor will fit, but add in a makeup bag and hair appliances and you will find yourself knocking things off the counters into the toilet. I had to store half my toiletries outside the bathroom itself.
2. In order to keep from blaring the TV so I can hear over the AC fan, I generally like to turn on the captions. Captions did not work on the large flat-screen TV in the room. It had something to do with the remote, that likewise had no sleep timer or alarm.
3. Since there is only one person working the front desk in the middle of the night, don't expect prompt resolution to subdue the party next door at 3:00 in the morning. Although, granted, this can happen at any hotel. Suffice it to say, I had one horrific night on the weekend.

Overall, it was a positive experience for me, largely due to the friendly, helpful staff, and thoughtful design.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GuestHouse Suites El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Suites El Paso

Address: 1940 Airway Blvd, El Paso, TX 79925
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Suites El Paso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated (2011) GuestHouse International Suites Hotel is located adjacent to El Paso airport and the Robert E Lee entrance to Ft. Bliss. The all-suite property features amenities designed for today’s travelers and include newly added HD flat panel televisions with expanded news, sports, movie and entertainment channels, free wireless high speed internet, free business center, free hot breakfast buffet, and complimentary van service to/from the airport. Mondays thru Wednesdays the hotel hosts a Manager’s Reception where guests can unwind at the end of the day and network with other guests and associates. Other hotel features include an exercise room, seasonal heated outdoor pool, ATM and guest laundry. Two meeting rooms are available to accommodate groups of up to 32 persons each, classroom style. One of the few limited service properties to have a 3 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GuestHouse Suites El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GuestHouse Suites El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.