We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall had a pleasant experience upon arrival I asked the...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham El Paso

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham El Paso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham El Paso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6351 Gateway Blvd West, El Paso, TX 79925   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 78 hotels in El Paso
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    39
    20
    5
See reviews for
78
31
20
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 days during a business trip. The staff upon arrival was very friendly. I was given a handicap room which wasn't necessary for me (the lady that booked my hotel room at my workplace messed up). After a shower the next morning after arrival, the bathroom was incredibly soaked due to there not being a tub. I went to the desk and requested a room change and was upgraded to a suite. This room was very nice but the heating/cooling unit in the bedroom did not work. I told the front desk and the guy behind the desk came and looked at it. He said they couldn't fix it that evening but would have it fixed the next day. He offered me another room which I declined, then he offered me an extra blanket, as it was close to 30 degrees that evening. I accepted and had a decent night's sleep. Upon arrival back to my room after work the next day, the heating/cooling unit still had not been fixed. I was offered another suite which I accepted. This suite was fine.
Pros: nice clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: had to change rooms 2 times, elevator sounded as if it was going out (hadn't been inspected since 2011), hot water in shower only lasted a few minutes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have been staying here twice a month for over three years.
Great front desk staff, quick and helpful (April, Jessica, Michael, Josie)
Breakfast always great with a huge selection (THANKS Connie!)
Managers happy hour (actually 2 hours!) is always a pleasure (THANKS Marianna!)
Rooms always clean, beds comfortable, nice TV, so-so coffee in room, good iron.

Noise from adjacent rooms slamming doors - adjust the closers.
Noise from room above - go to the fourth floor.
Towels are old and rough - time to replace (I've started bringing my own).
Last straw is lack of hot water for the last several months. Complained twice. Still no better.
Elevator last annual inspection was August 2011 - should I be concerned?
I hear the Owner stays here frequently - he doesn't notice this stuff? Special room?

My expectation is that for $100 a night, the accommodation needs to meet or beat my own home.
The staff is fabulous, but the continued cool showers and frequent rude awakenings at night from the noise have caused me to try the #3 rated hotel in town. I'll see how they measure up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEILA W, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham El Paso, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have had good experience with the property and staff. I do apologize for any inconveniences or doubts that you have regarding the property; as guest satisfaction is our priority. Any hot water issues have been minimal and not affecting the entire hotel. We have already taken measures to correct these few issues. The elevator inspection is current. As bureauracy would have it, sometimes there is a delay in obtaining the certificate and getting it posted before the expiration date; but all inspections and re-certifications are being done in all areas before the expiration due dates. We certainly hope that you will again return to the Wingate, the next time travel brings you to El Paso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I love to stay stay here while on business in El Paso. In fact, everyone from my office stays here. My room has always been clean and the interior is up to date. The room and especilly the bed is so comfortable. I really appreciate the Continential Breakfast that's more than dry cereal and fruit. We can gather in the morning, go over the days schedule and it saves everyone having to leave the hotel first thing in the morning. I always treat myself to waffles and bacon. And I almost forgot to mention the happy hour days where we can unwind over complementary snacks. I recommend staying at Wingate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEILA W, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham El Paso, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear from guests who truly enjoy their stay with us; the cleanliness of the room, the hot breakfast buffet and the manager's reception in the evening. It sounds like you feel very relaxed and comfortable staying with us.... kind of like home; and that is our goal with each and every guest. My staff and I will continue to work hard to earn your business. Hope to see you again soon at the Wingate El Paso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham El Paso

Address: 6351 Gateway Blvd West, El Paso, TX 79925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#10 Family Hotel in El Paso
#19 Business Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham El Paso 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both comfort and convenience, the Wingate by Wyndham El Paso offers modern amenities and deluxe accommodations with our spacious, smoke-free guestrooms and suites, tasteful décor, contemporary furnishings and cutting-edge, business class features. Our distinctive guestrooms and suites are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, premium communications capability, lighted work desks, a refrigerator, microwave, cable TV with premium channels, and plush bedding. Our choice suite rooms offer all of the comforts of our standard rooms, with the added luxury of comfortable sleeper sofas, garden tubs and separate areas for working and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham El Paso Hotel El Paso
Wingate El Paso
Wingate Hotel El Paso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.