We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called a liar by management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11825 Gateway Blvd West, El Paso, TX 79936   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 79 hotels in El Paso
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Called a liar by management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Only time I have ever complained .. Bathroom sink badly cracked $200 suite way overpriced and no cinnamon rolls available for breakfast.. Complained to management and they called us a liar .. No rolls from 9 am to 9.30 wouldn't refund room bathroom cracked sink ( repaired badly) felt like I was in a cheap hotel do not recommend now I know why the Hampton was fully booked

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello Ma'am,

We do apologize about the inconvenience during your stay. I wish we could have fixed your issue while you were here but unfortunately we could not. Thank you for your feedback and hope you stay loyal to our IHG brand family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
7
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

And I've stayed at a lot of HIEs, all across the state. But this property tarnishes a great brand.

At every single HIE I've stayed at, I've had a refrigerator and microwave in my room. I thought it was standard. But when I checked in, I noticed my room didn't have either. I was upset because I'm a vegan and wanted to go but some food as El Paso is not vegan friendly at all.

So I called the front desk and was told only suite rooms have them and the only way to have a fridge in my room was to upgrade to a suite for $20 more a day. Being that I was on business and the room was being paid for by my employer (the State of Texas), this was not an option. I was told I could store my stuff in the staff fridge at the front desk. I'm sorry, but no. I didn't trust them at this point and it only got worse from here. I asked if an unused fridge could be brought to my room and I was told that wasn't an option. The dude, Rick, at the front desk was not willing to help me. I don't understand how IHG corporate allows this. So I called IHG corporate to see of they could help me (case #50524604).

Rick who was on duty at the time (not a manager-he only works 8am-4pm) lied to IHG corporate when they called to see what was going on. When IHG corporate called first, Rick said he could switch me to a room with a fridge for a night as he didn't have clearance from the manager to do so for 4 nights. Corporate told me to call rick as soon as I hung up with them and see what room to go to. I did as instructed, in less than a minute, and suddenly that room with a fridge had been booked! Wow! I called IHG corporate back to complain again and to let them know this franchise had no interest in resolving this issue. The IHG corporate rep then called Rick back to see what was going on and HE LIED AGAIN. He said I had been demanding a complimentary upgrade since I checked in. NO. All I wanted was a fridge to store my highly perishable vegan food. All Rick did was offer to store my food in the fridge in the managers office. Um NO. If I can't trust you to tell corporate the truth, then I don't trust you with my food.

I gave up after this and just bought a styrofoam cooler at a supermarket.

Other than that the room was extremely hot when I walked in. That's really annoying. This is the desert. I was already hot when I walked in the building.

Only one ice machine for the entire hotel. Again, this is the desert. And most of the rooms don't have fridges. So ice should be more available.

The decor is 1990s Southwest. Very dated.

And the location sucks if you are commuting to central El Paso. Get ready to sit in lots of traffic on I-10. The location is great if you love chain restaurants. I hate them.

All in all, stay here if you don't need a fridge, love dated decor, love traffic, love chain restaurants, and love being treated poorly by hotel staff when you make a request.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Meredith R,

I am very sorry you feel this way and am sorry we could not make your stay to your standards. It was and unfortunate situation where the room type you booked does not have a fridge in it and we were indeed sold out all week and could not move you rooms. I do apologize as wish there was more we could have done to please you. Sorry about the inconvenience and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

From checkin to check out everything was great. The night shift guy was very polite and was efficient with helping us with keys and a prompt check in. Pool area was clean, vending machines are on all floors, and the room was very comfortable. No problems with internet connection either. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Elseinutah,
Thank you for the compliment about the gentleman who checked you in. He is indeed a great representative of how we do business here. We are glad to have had you as our guest and look for to serving you in the future. Thank you and be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable and clean. Great pillows and shower. The only problem was the wifi. Could not connect. Ipad would not even detect a signal. When we mentioned it to the front desk in the morning, they advised that they had numerous complaints and comped us 5000 points! Would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dbax,
We appreciate you giving us the chance to make or wrong right. Our Wifi is stronger than ever now and hope you get a chance to try it out. Thank you and be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Location is convenient to I-10 at 11825 Gateway Blvd West, this is a great hotel. Friendly staff, immaculate and large rooms. We had the King Executive Suite. They had an electric plug console on the desk for convenience. The internet connection was easy to use and fast. Breakfast was great, a huge selection and it was all good. I love the pancake machines. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip through El Paso. My only negative was that they did not honor my request for a ground floor room.

Room Tip: From what I observed any room is good. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Paul J,
Thank you for your kind and thorough review of our hotel.. We really appreciate hearing an outsiders view of our hotel.. We pride ourselves on service and cleanliness and hope to accommodate you in the future. Thanks and be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is not bad - stayed already a few times there. Comfortable bed, clean and easy Internet access in the Lobby. I had a room in the far end in the 4th floor. The wLan did not work there. It seemed to me I had the centralised bathroom ventilator close to my room. It was extremely noisy. A bit chilly in the night time - no chance to close the window.
The new TV sets are not userfriendly at all. You have to select the input signal each time when you switch the TV on, manually on the TV.... if you figure that out (no manual available)
There is no bar in this Holiday Inn....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Nufi2010,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed there on a family. The room was decent and the bed very good. I have to say that is where the good things ended. The bathroom lights flickered, bussed and went off a couple of times, the sink did not drain properly and the shower head spewed everywhere but where it shoud. There was no refrigerator in our King room. I usually check on this due to my medications but didn't this time as all our other Holiday Inn's on this trip had one. The TV remote didn't work properly and the TV had to be turned on manually. The worst and most surprising moment was when flipping channels there was a very explicit adult movie that we didn't order. If my grandchildren had been with us it would have been very embarrassing. I reported this to the desk clerk the next morning and was told "it's not the hotels fault we are getting an upgrade". Well, if not the hotels fault then who's? Was it ours, the customer who merely turned on the TV? The desk clerk did say that is usually a channel you have to order but still did not accept responsibilitiy. I immediately e-mailed the general manager as I felt this should receive immediate attention due to the many families staying there but received NO response. I am still very surprised by this inaction. They say 100% satisfaction, well this wasn't even close. This isn't about a free room or dollars off of a room not that any of this was offered, it's about poor customer service. We have been a priority club member for years and have never been treated so poorly.

Room Tip: There are two other Holiday Inn Express's in El Paso that I would check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Sorry about the issue. It was an HBO channel and we understand your concern. I called you and e mailed you to apologize about the situation. We must have missed each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East

Address: 11825 Gateway Blvd West, El Paso, TX 79936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to El Paso for business or taking a much-deserved vacation, you demand more than just the amenities of home. You deserve tranquil and comfortable rooms, a professional, yet luxurious atmosphere, unsurpassed service, and elegant accommodations. No matter what brings you to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites El Paso I-10 East, your room is your personal retreat. Luxuriously decorated guest rooms and suites with a 42 plasma TV, pillow top beds and granite vanity will have you relaxed in no time. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites El Paso I-10 East your lodging, service and convenience needs are met, and exceeded, without exception. Traveling on business? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites El Paso I-10 East is the ideal destination. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high-speed Internet, a specialized work area in your room and plenty of electrical outlets. A business center dedicated to our business travelers is also available.Traveling for pleasure? Enjoy Border Shopping at its finest - We are just minutes away from the Zaragoza Port of Entry into Juarez, Mexico as well as easy freeway access to El Paso s newest shopping district, The Outlet Shoppes.The best of El Paso is awaiting you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites El Paso I-10 East! Welcome home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites i-10 East
Holiday Inn El Paso
El Paso Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-10 East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.