We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #5 of 78 hotels in El Paso
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient & Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This property sits right at the entrance of UTEP. Extremely convenient for University business, plus it is a central location to town. Walking distance to many restaurants and two hospitals. It was clean, convenient and affordable.

Breakfast buffet, was however, a train wreck. Although it is a "buffet" they serve you the food at the buffet table - cook burnt waffle and I never ended up eating since it took him over 20 minutes to scrap the burn waffle off the iron. By the time he was ready to start a new one my family was done with breakfast. Plus, at 8am on a Saturday, they had no milk. Take a pass on the breakfast buffet - or don't expect too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the University.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    70
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
30
15
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Staff, location, room, food, all tremendous. Next door to whataburger what more do you want. Had a really good experience at this hotel, I would definately reccomend it to any of my friends passing through el paso

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Clayton - Thank you for your nice review. It is always great to hear that we have met or exceeded our guest's expectations. Please come back and see us again soon.
Happy Holidays
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was a very pleasant, trouble free, comfortable experience. The location was special -- on a university campus and near great shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I also thought the room was especially comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent staff, excellent facility, several televisions in the bar area. It is close to the university and many restaurants, stores and necessities on Mesa Ave. It is also near downtown, where city is building a new baseball stadium for its AAA baseball team. It is 15 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from a great scenic view on Franklin Mountain. If you like to job there is a great 5 mile run around Sun Bowl and up Rim Road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just spending one night in El Paso on our way to Corpus Christi. Hotel is conveniently located from I10. Check in staff very pleasant as were all staff we dealt with. Room was very nice, quiet, and very clean. Probably the cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rooms were very clean, and extremely quiet. Nice size room, and even the bathroom was large. Hotel staff was friendly. The day I was checking out I heard on the news of an accident on I-10. Asked front desk if I will have any problems and he looked it up to confirm my trip to the airport was clear. Very close to several restraunts within walking distance. Breakfast is offered. Buffet items as well as made to order omlets. Overall, a nice central location, safe area and clean, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

was disappointed this stay--halls were not cleared of food, trays, glasses at the elevators--in addition staff was not very friendly. the rooms are dated-could use to be updated and the furniture cleaned--nice thing was housekeeping did a good job keeping the room clean

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Sandra - I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I have spoken with my restaurant staff to be more attentive on picking up the room service trays in a timely manner. We are always working to improve and will make continued efforts. Thank you for your feedback.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#3 Business Hotel in El Paso
#5 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.