We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #5 of 78 hotels in El Paso
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Immediately greeted by a front desk lady that was less than bored of me during our 5 second conversation. A conversation that consisted of: "name? here you go" then i was handed 2 keys. I was clueless as to which entrance was quickest to my room, parking, the location of my room, breakfast or anything. The bar takes up the majority of the lobby area, great for my kids to be exposed to drunk people watching football. Room was what I expected, nothing above and beyond, just plain. Breakfast was NOT included, I learned this as I had woken my family up and took my kids downstairs...$13 for breakfast...no thanks, I'd have been less mad if the front desk woman had told me the night before. Awful stay, poor nights sleep, not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest - I am sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn’t helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for the issues you experienced.
Sincerely
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    69
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
30
15
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This wonderful hotel has been the site for the Youth Leadership Forum (organized by Rick, Josue & volunteers), held every fall, usually late October/Early November, this time 02-04NOV2012. I have never seen this hotel when it wasn't super clean, sanitary, friendly, and ready for guests. Sometimes I have motored here, but on other occasions, my Doublevision has been my mode of transport, pedaling early on the morning of Saturday, 03NOV2012. My specific task was bringing 'the rope', a 50-foot long, inch-diameter hawser, loaned by Coach Sales, Desert Aire Elementary School. It is a critical part of a team building exercise: after being tied to the bumper of State Representative Joe Pickett's firetruck in the lower parking lot, a few individuals are challenged to grasp the rope and pull. Of course, those few are unable to do so. But when all of the young women & men (60) join in, their effort pays off when the firetruck easily moves forward. That tremendous success is followed with a photo op of broadly smiling individuals who have learned the value of teamwork, all crowding around the huge machine. Numerous other activities are conducted inside the hotel ballroom, a large space made possible when several of the meeting rooms are connected by sliding partitions to the side. Above the main floor are the guest rooms, each meeting the requisite needs for two individuals: beds, HDTV, drawers, desk, easy chairs, complete bathrooms, and, certainly, secure access with cardkeys. The two elevators are maintained in superb condition, are fast and reliable. On each floor, ice machines are close by, also reliably churning out great quantities of high-quality ice cubes. If there are numerous people descending & ascending, it is sometimes easier & faster to use the stairwells at either end of the hallways. The exercise room is as expected, and the outdoor pool/spa is a pleasure, especially on a hot day/night! This fine hotel has a prime location: on the NW corner of Oregon & University Avenue-the main Eastern entrance to the University of Texas-El Paso campus; a block North of several hospitals/clinics; a block West of Mesa Street/TX20 (main connector for the Westside of El Paso); several blocks South of the Cincinnati entertainment district/Don Haskins Center (basketball)/Sun Bowl Stadium; several blocks West of Scenic Drive/overlook; several blocks North of downtown/main library/art, history, transportation & tolerance museums, convention center, Union Station Historic District/Sunset Heights Historic District, Chihuahita, and the great country of Mexico (crossover into Ciudad Juarez for true internationalism!); several blocks SE of historic Boundary Marker #1/Parque Madero/RIo Grande-Rio Bravo American Dam/the World famous ASARCO tower. With all of the attractions so close (the day-trip attractions are too numerous to mention!), you'll be glad to have the warmth & comfort of the Hilton Garden Inn for a place to rest and recuperate! I highly recommend it to all travellers who want above-average overnights that would cost much more anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What more can I say, but thank you for sharing you wonderful comments.
Sincerely
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel has excellent customer service. The staff is friendly, polite, and respectful. The restaraunt area is well-appointed and the menu is very good for a quick meal. The location is superb with many quirky college eating and drinking establishments within walking distance. The rooms are clean and well-maintained. Parking is free and easily accessed. Nothing but the best from this Hotel. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 330 is HUGE. You could play football in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to El Paso and I wasnt sure of what to expect. But this hotel exceeded all of what I would generally think of for an "inn."
Everything seemed new; the decor, carpet, furniture, etc. The hotel felt clean and looked clean. The bed was amazing; it was the best sleep I'd had in days. Breakfast at the American Grille was wonderful! The chef made me these fabulous strawberry pancakes! Yum! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you so much for your nice comments. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Our Chef's work very hard to provide a high quality breakfast. We hope to see you again here in El Paso and at the Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at this hotel a lot (over 50 days a year). The staff is great. The new corporate food menu is pretty basic. It gets old very quickly. The good news is, there are a lot of places to eat within walking distance.

The rooms are kept pretty clean, no real complaints. However the internet is horrible !!!! It has been horrible for over 4 months. I am ready to try other hotels in the area over this one issue.

About a week ago during dinner at the hotel 10 guests that has never seen each other before all voiced this same opinion. One guess suggested we storm the counter in protest .
Many of the guests are now eating at other restaurants in the area with free wifi because the internet is that bad.

The TV is pretty new (nice Flat Screen). However all / most HGI’s have a very limited selection of channels. I sure wish they would add more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you for your feedback. I have requested an audit on our internet service. We upgraded our service and should be getting good speed. Since you mentioned that the problem seems to be worse over the past few months, I will check to see if there was anything we can do to improve this serious issue. We understand the need for our guest to get strong internet service and I appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel for a great price. It is located a short walk from many restaurants and is practically next door to the campus at UTEP. The hotel has ample free parking with many covered spots. It's aperfect business hotel. Their breakfast buffet is about $11 but there are many other good choices just a short stroll from the lobby. I would definitely stay here again if visiting El Paso.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you very much for your nice review. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations. We will look forward to having you back again.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel at least once a week each month for the past year. HGI is a welcoming environment for the well traveled. The staff is beyond friendly. Recently they assisted me with some personal business requiring scanning and e-mailing of documents. They go out of their way to remember your preferences for food, wine and room accommodations. On a particularly busy morning Scott the chef saw me enter the dining room and had already started my breakfast order. This saved me a significant amount of time as I was already running late.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff at the hotel took such good care of your needs. I will personally extend your thanks to Scott for his efforts. We will look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
Free internet...
Show More
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites El Paso West
Free Breakfast...
Show More
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn El Paso-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel El Paso Airport
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites El Paso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#3 Business Hotel in El Paso
#5 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.