We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new hotel next to UTEP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Savings
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful new hotel next to UTEP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel for a great price. It is located a short walk from many restaurants and is practically next door to the campus at UTEP. The hotel has ample free parking with many covered spots. It's aperfect business hotel. Their breakfast buffet is about $11 but there are many other good choices just a short stroll from the lobby. I would definitely stay here again if visiting El Paso.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you very much for your nice review. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations. We will look forward to having you back again.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    87
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
36
18
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel at least once a week each month for the past year. HGI is a welcoming environment for the well traveled. The staff is beyond friendly. Recently they assisted me with some personal business requiring scanning and e-mailing of documents. They go out of their way to remember your preferences for food, wine and room accommodations. On a particularly busy morning Scott the chef saw me enter the dining room and had already started my breakfast order. This saved me a significant amount of time as I was already running late.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear that our staff at the hotel took such good care of your needs. I will personally extend your thanks to Scott for his efforts. We will look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Love this place, the downside is that there is no free breakfast. the rooms are all new and nicely decorated and so far it has been quiet. You have to watch the front desk if you come with a pre paid reservation, as I have been charged twice more then once and not sure why they can't get that straight over there.

Room Tip: i had good luck with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest - Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoy our property. I am sorry that our billing on pre paid reservations is not handled well. I will speak with our front desk supervisor to address training that can improve this element. I would also like to recommend our bed and breakfast package as an option for you. It is generally priced very good and includes the full breakfast buffet.
Thanks again for your review.
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The HGI in El Paso provides an excellent oasis for the weary business traveler and is THE place to stay if you've got any business with UTEP. The property is at the UTEP campus - you can walk out the front door and be on campus, a short walk to any of the buildings. You're also just a short drive to the highway and about 25 minutes from the airport, point to point.

The hotel meets all the best features of the HGI brand -- efficient, polite and friendly staff, a well-planned layout of the ground floor, complete with a *working* business center (printers that work, office supplies at the ready, good internet connection), a good fitness center and easy to find conference rooms.

The guest rooms also are great for the business traveler. Lots of outlets -- the key to keeping road warriors happy. Good AC, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms.

Excellent breakfast service with the usual made-to-order items. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the workforce on this property. Kudos to the management for keeping a staff that's so positive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear TechPAO - Thank you very much for your kind comments. I keep my staff positive in part by sharing feedback like yours with them.
Thanks again.
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

El Paso is not exactly a mecca of fine lodging hospitality, and the nice thing about Hilton Garden Inn is that you know what to expect, and, usually, it is delivered. This place delivered the standard, cookie-cutter HGI rooms and service, although the rooms seemed a bit on the small side. Very tiny bar and restaurant, but, again, adequate for a businessman's overnight. Biggest irritant here is very slow internet. You'd think, sitting next to UTEP, they'd be on a decent pipeline but no - even the hard-wired ethernet connection was slow. But, if you're doing business at the University it is pretty much the only place you'd want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Holokauahi - Thank you for taking time to review us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location and that we provided the service you expected. Regarding the internet connection, we did upgrade in June of 2011 but clearly need to re-evaluate our guest's needs. I will look into what can be done to enhance our service.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here due to UTEP football game/Minerpalooza pep rally for two nights. We live near El Paso and staying here is more convenient than driving and finding game parking. Only about a 15 minute walk to the stadium. My family has stayed here in the past and we have always enjoyed our visits. I reserved way back in February knowing the place usually sells out and my rate was only $89.00.

The lobby was a hub of activity for the football game vs. Oklahoma that weekend. This is literally the closest hotel to UTEP...right next to the student union parking lot. We like the lobby...hotel restaurant/bar is right next to the check in desk. We have had meals here in the past and have enjoyed nice lunches during the week.. The hotel has a nice little breakfast buffet which is very good compared to other hotel continental breakfasts. You pay for this one ($11.95), but it includes so much (standard fare: eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffles, etc.), but they will also make to order eggs and omelettes. Additionally you can order from a menu. Good service.

This hotel is very close to a large bar/restaurant area of El Paso...everything from fast food to higher end restaurants are within walking distance. Starbucks, Whataburger, Taco Bell, and McDonalds are about five minutes away as well as the campus Jamba Juice and other campus food venues.

The check in was easy and no problem. We had an upper level room. Rooms are nicely decorated with a large flat screen TV, microwave, and fridge included. Toilet/bath area are both separated from sleepign area. Air conditioning worked great, especially on a hot weekend it was appreciated. Room was clean overall and very quiet.

The pool/hot tub is standard but out ot towners must be careful b/c El Paso is at altitude and the sun cooks you faster here, as I'm sure some OK fans found out who stayed at the pool all day.

The only wear I could see was in the hallways...carpets are showing a little age. The hallways are really wide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear DeltaCa:

Greetings from El Paso, Texas and please let us start by thanking you for your business. We are flatered by all the compliments and do hope you return. On the one unsatisfactory issue of the carpet being worn, we have addressed that issue and carpet in ALL public areas will be replaced in the coming weeks. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed there this past weekend for four days. Hotel was nice, desk staff were helpful. The coffee was really good, would like to know what they use. Rooms were well insulated from outside noises. Nice decor in lobby, welcoming! Great access to restaurants and I-10. a/c worked well, housekeeping staff was very accomodating and courteous.

On the downside, the breakfast buffet at $12.00 a piece was IMO steep considering the eggs were powdered. The carpeting in the room was really dirty, my white socks were almost black when I left, had to throw them away. The sheets were really thin, had some areas that were almost see through to the point where they looked dirty. The white bed cover was black at the bottom where it meets the floor.

Room Tip: keep your shoes on, don't walk in socks or bare feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleKaip, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear James - Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate getting your comments. I have shared them wth our housekeeping department. We will address our linen and make sure that old linen is discarded. We do have our rooms on a regular rotation for shampooing but clearly did not meet our expectations or yours in this area. I will have your room reviewed. I also shared your comments with our Chef. We will continue to work on improving our breakfast so that guest see the value in our product.
Again, thank you for taking time to evaluate us.
Best Regards
Michelle Kaip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University

Address: 111 West University Avenue, El Paso, TX TX 79902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in El Paso
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Paso
#4 Family Hotel in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso and across the street from two major medical centers. The hotel is within a 5 block radius of over 50 restaurants, bars and stores. Just one and half miles from the El Paso Convention Center/Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso Hotel El Paso
Hilton El Paso
El Paso Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.