We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiki's Restaurant & Bar

Kiki's Restaurant & Bar
2719 N Piedras St, El Paso, TX 79930-3507
915-565-6713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,248 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Early dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very good food at reasonable prices. An El Paso landmark hole in the wall place fatured on the Food Channel for the Machaca(beef) plate. fairly frequentr customer. No frills and a good bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
horizon city, texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Kiki's used to be way better. The food quality way down. Enchiladas no flavor. chile rellanos tasted like they went bad.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local joint great authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

food is yummy always good and authentic. Mexican rice is always moist fluffy and good. Salsa is not hot at all or special just average. Service is average. No bad just average. Lunch hour is usually jam packed plan for early dinner late lunch to avoid long wait. Older small joint type of atmosphere

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chili Rellenos!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went here on Saturday night .It was busy, with a short wait, spent at the bar. The complimentary chips were great. they serve only beer and wine .
The ambiance was like a comfortable, neighborhood bar and restaurant. it has an well -worn, casual , Mexican decor. The waiter was very busy but he did a decent job and gave us a great food recommendation , Chili Rellenos.
We ordered both Chile Rellenos and chicken fajitas .The chicken was marinated in a slightly spicy ,savory sauce , that was good but not exceptional . the chili rellenos,, were great probably the best I've had. The flavor was outstanding , not overly spicy but savory. I also ordered some chili verde sauce on the side and it was different than I've had before . Green chilies in creamy sauce. I rather liked it although I can see it would not be for everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Got to try something new!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were vising El Paso from the east coast, where our 'Mexican' food is often 'Americanized'. Wanted to try something more traditional. My husband had seen this place on the Food Network and we asked some locals about it as well and everyone agreed it was a great place to go.

Husband had the brisket machaca (which was featured on the Food Network) and I had the caldillo. Love that they offer a choice of four or corn tortillas (it's almost always flour back home). My husband was worried about the dish being too spicy, so the waiter brought out a sample of the green chile sauce that was in his dish. He decided to go for it and was glad he did. We both loved our meals.

My only complaint is they don't have hard alcohol. A margarita would have been great with my meal. And I'm not really a beer drinker. I opted for some sort of apple flavored soda I had never heard of. It was sweet but a good balance to all the chiles!

This place is definitely a little rough around the edges. But the folks are nice and the food is good. Check it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiki's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kiki's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiki's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.