We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex-Mex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & J Cafe

L & J Cafe
3622 E Missouri Ave, El Paso, TX 79903-4421
915-566-8418
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,331 Restaurants in El Paso
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went to lunch at this restaurant in El Paso. Had my reservations prior to going. Ordered Taco combo which came with chicken, beef and guacamole tacos I was very impressed. Food was great. Had an excellent taste, fresh and the green and red sauce that came with the meal was delicious. The chips provided pre-food was also fresh. Customer service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    112
    32
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Make sure you find this place when in El Paso !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just a fantastic, fantastic casual restaurant with really good food. Make sure you use your GPS - otherwise you might (as I almost did) - drive right by. This is old El Paso at its best ... a fun bar with good prices and just good food at a good price. The service at both the bar and at our table was great, the food fresh.

When I have gone to L&J's there has usually been a wait - and I have always found the short wait to be worth it ! Hang at the bar while you are waiting for a table and enjoy the atmosphere and food of El Paso.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thank heavens for user reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If I had just driven by the place without knowing how much acclaim users gave this little dive full of fresh deliciousness, I'd have lost out big. Excellent food and a good variety of it. Tex-Mex perfection. As close as it is to Mexico, it might be better labeled Mex-Mex. Whatever you label it, you won't want to stop eating it. Don't judge this place on its appearance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Too much fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I loved this place, walk in to a oval bar that everyone sits around (bartenders in middle) like all bars should be. Just a place from the past... pictures of it with model T's out front. Opened in 1927.Had the chile relleno was good I like mine a lot more spicy but still was tasty and fresh. I think everyone should try this place they are remodeling will be twice the size. I told them not to touch that bar! The neon sign out front is a classic! If you like old things you will love this funky place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg
2 reviews
“Best authentic Mexican ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Best authentic Mexican ever! Enchalidas are killer especially if you like green chilies for your topping. Bar and grill atmosphere was as expected and service was excellent. Would highly recommend.



  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L & J Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & J Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.