We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos & Mickey's

Carlos & Mickey's
1310 Magruder Street, El Paso, TX 79925-1936
(915) 778-3323
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,331 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived at 7 and had to park a block away. We had drinks in the bar and as told by the hostess were seated in 20 minutes. We had queso fundido as appetizer and it was fabuloso! We all had the special of the day which was two fajita tacos, cheese enchilada, carnitas, guacamole, rice and beans. A lot of food at a reasonable price. While I am from San Antonio my friends from New York and Denver loved the atmosphere and really liked the food. Cool points with my boss who was happy with the experience including the bottom line.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    78
    50
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great food! I had the chimichanga with half green sauce and half red sauce and they were both so good. I wish i would have gone to this restaurant earlier in my visit so I could have gone back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A nice environment with a large selection of food and alcohol. Service was very good and food never disapoints.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Used to be a good place, NOT anymore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We've going to Carlos&Mickey's for years. It used to be in my Top 3 restaurants, not only in El Paso but ever. Not only for the great food,but also the service. Unfortunately, tonight change our opinion about this favorite place. When we went there, it was very busy. We were told that the waiting time was 40minutes, but it could be less. After waiting 1 hour, when I went to inquiry the situation, especially because we were with our 6-month-ol son, I was told there were 1 more party before us and then it was our turn. Then the party before us got paged. When we were getting ready, they paged another party, totally skipping us. I went to ask them what was going on and why they took the party who came after us, up front. They claimed we were the next again. When finally they paged us, the hostess decided to take her time before she walked us to our table. And here is another surprise; we were given a half booth, where me and my husband has to sit next to each other, facing a WALL with our baby on the only open side of the booth. I objected and requested to see the manager. And all we heard was "sorry, we are trying to accommodate everybody, you need to wait more for another table!" After over an hour of waiting, they gave us a table squeezed a corner, probably used for server...We left right away and I am not planning on going back. I just hope that my baby will not get sick after spending over an hour at the entrance, in this cold weather.

P.S: Judging by the latest reviews in other sites as well, I see that their service quality declined dramatically!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best authuntic mexican food you can get in el paso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

on my recent visit we went to this place and was thrilled about the placed. it is very busy and we had to wait to dine in. so once we got the table we had best server his name was Giovani he took very god care of us. we order enchiladas and was best I have tried so far. our drinks were also good we had el paso size margarita and was best. I will recommend this place to any one visiting el paso.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos & Mickey's also viewed

 

Been to Carlos & Mickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos & Mickey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.