We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking Cigar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoppy Monk

The Hoppy Monk
4141 N. Mesa, El Paso, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,248 Restaurants in El Paso
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Smoking Cigar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoy a cigar from time to time and there are very few places one can do this and Hoppy Monk is one of them. You have to sit outside but El Paso weather allows for this most of the year. They have a Wall Of Beer on tap. And the drinks are poured well. Food is tasty. If you love garlic the fries are a must. Just go one time and you will become a regular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The beer selection was good. However, it took 30 min for a waitress to even come over to us. She took our order and never came back. So we went to the bar and got our drinks ourselves. A regular coors light was $6, which is was over priced compared to other bars in town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have now been to The Hoppy Monk several times, and have always enjoyed it. On our last visit we finally got to try some of their food. It was a Sunday afternoon, and they were offering free brats, so we decided to each have one of those. With the beer it made a nice lunch. They have an ever-changing list of draft beers, plus bottles. We were pleased with the beers they were offering. The prior time we visited we were hoping to get some of the Stone 16th Anniversary ale, but unfortunately we were too late for that very popular offering. Seeing as how El Paso no longer has its own brewery (which wasn't very good anyway), and since we don't have a Flying Saucer Draught Emporium, we find The Hoppy Monk to be a nice addition to El Paso. We are not often on that side of town, but given that they now offer food, it's worth a trek over there. If they are out of what you want, there is probably something else interesting available. We have also really enjoyed the service there - their wait staff has been very personable and very interesting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprising find for beer fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Passed through El Paso on business and found the Hoppy Monk. Ended up doing a couple u-turns trying to find the entrance as it's kind of hard to spot at night. Parking lot was pretty crowded for an early weekday night, but when I came in, there was more than enough room at the bar or at the tables.

Sat at the bar and was immediately greeted by the bartender, who gave me a friendly breakdown on their beer selection. Both the bartender and the manager were pretty knowledgeable about the different beers, to include their international ones. I didn't sample too many so I can't say whether they were missing any of their listed beers, but they had all the ones I was interested in. I had the ribeye sandwich, which at $14 was DC-like pricey, but absolutely spot on. Can't complain about that.

The bar had a real mellow vibe, with good music, pretty friendly patrons, attentive staff, and the requisite number of TVs. Definitely didn't expect to find such a bar in El Paso and recommend to any beer fans.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beer Bar...but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was excited to go to The Hoppy Monk because of the beer selection. On paper it was excellent, but in reality it wasn't. They were out of many of the beers on their list, and they were even out of the "new arrivals" which was very disappointing. I think it is critical if you are a beer bar to keep up with your current beers on tap. They even had listings on their blackboard that they were out of. Now to the food. Quite pricey really. A four slice 8" pizza for $10, and $11 burgers. This is El Paso not NYC

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoppy Monk also viewed

 

Been to The Hoppy Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoppy Monk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.