We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites El Paso North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites El Paso North to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites El Paso North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4631 Cohen Avenue, El Paso, TX 79924   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Victorville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very nice property, clean outside and inside. Be aware they do not have a pool. The staff were very friendly and professional. They have very nice rooms with a modern kitchen too. Nice selection of television channels to watch. They have a nice little store to purchase quick food items. They are located right behind a Wal-mart. They have very bright lights in the parking lot to increase security. The lights do not bother you at night. I would recommend this hotel if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
6
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a job in El Paso on the north side of town and this hotel was the perfect location for us. The hotel is new and very well managed. We needed in our room early and a late checkout as well. The staff were courteous and helpful. The room was large with a kitchenette and a table. The lighting was bright which isn't normal at some hotels so working at the table was possible. The hotel is close to anything you might need - even a theater!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
LindaIsSunshine we are glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable!!! We are truly appreciative of your business. Our management does a fantastic job at maintaining our hotel, and insuring your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having family members from Virginia, Nebraska, Colorado, Arizona, California and other parts of Texas in for a week of family reunion culminating in a 93rd birthday celebration for our mother is no easy task. However, with the help of David Nabhan, Director of Sales at the Candlewood Suites, we were able to accomplish this with much success. David assisted our family with the planning of the party event with room preparations audio set-up, and much more. He was with our family every step of the way. The party was a big success!

Room Tip: There are not many hotels in the Northeast part of El Paso. This is a great addition to this part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello,

All I can say is, It's so very nice to hear from you. Thanks for the review; we really appreciate your kind words. Thanks for using Tripadvisor.com to express your satisfaction with our hotel and with David; he does a great job for us and most importantly the guests. We greatly appreciate your business and most sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you and your family had a successful 93rd birthday party; wow, I hope I make it that long. Please stay with us again and we'll ensure your next stay is as great as your last. Once again thanks so much for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experience.

Thanks and have a super week!!!

Gabe Borquez, General Manager
Candlewood Suites North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights and we were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area. We would definitely recommend staying here when you visit El Paso.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We greatly appreciate your business, as well as your review!!! As you mentioned we have a fabulous location, especially for a long-term guest, which makes entertainment and shopping easily accessible. Next time you visit El Paso you will notice Transmountain St. is even more driver friendly than before due to the soon to be completed renovations. We look forward to seeing you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice quiet area, comfortable beds, friendly desk agents.
clean room, easy access to movie theater, freeway, restaurants, pizza delivery.
Great fireworks on the weekends during baseball games.
no breakfast, but a store where I was able to purchase food, without having to leave, in the morning since I had an appointment.

Great place, I rate it a 10 Star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Jack L. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel!!! It is very appealing to many of our guests that though we are located off of the US-54 highway, we are far enough back to where there is no traffic noise. It's great to know you made use of our lobby convenient store (Cupboard). The Candlewood format is design for our guests to make themselves at home and not have to worry about getting dressed for breakfast, but rather take their Grab and Go Breakfast upstairs to their rooms and eat comfortably. Not to forget make use of the great kitchens we have!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a great experience spend the 4th of july here. We stayed on the property and had an excellent view of the fireworks next door. Within walking distance of a movie theatre and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello,

It's very nice to hear from you. Thanks for the review; we really appreciate your kind words. Thanks for using Tripadvisor.com to express your satisfaction with our hotel. We greatly appreciate your business and most sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope you stay with us again; remember we offer free baseball tickets to all of our guest and the Diablos' often have fireworks nights. Please stay with us again and we'll ensure your next stay is fantastic!!

Thanks and have a super week!!!

Gabe Borquez, General Manager
Candlewood Suites North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I thought I would rate this hotel since it seems real new. Keep in mind I'm discussing mostly negatives but I like it overall.

- you can't really park near your room, it's best to use the main entrance

- Sealy Posturepedic bed I think

- the internet requires that you agree to the terms each time instead of once then it uses a cookie or something for the rest of the week (this is a pain if you mostly VPN or use a smartphone or a couple other scenarios)

- TV has 32 channels, seems fine although it has Fox News but not MSNBC; so you can't tune the bedroom TV to MSNBC and the living room one to Fox and see if a compromise is possible LOL

- TVs have a female headphone jack and USB; clock radios have a male headphone jack

- wifi and wired internet seem fine (wired I just measured 4.87 Mbps up and 2.33 Mbps down); wifi might be a little slower than wired and the latency is probably not quite as good

- the bedroom ethernet jack works, the kitchen one not (I'm probably the first using my particular suite to discover this so I'll mention it to the front desk later)

- hotel is on Cohen; if you exit and go right you can only really head north to the Gateway/WoodrowBean intersection; well WoodrowBean is undergoing major reconstruction causing some pretty major annoyances right now

- the good news about that is you can walk to the movies, the (very average FWIW) steakhouse, and the minor league ballpark; I should probably also walk to WoodrowBean for slightly better food but I wind up driving LOL

- the hotel says they have ethernet cables and many other little things, all ya gotta do is ask the front desk; well I'm 1 for 2 and the clerk said they don't have very many of each

- no pool, I don't really care

- free laundry

- cool little convenience store nook next to the lobby check it out; the free coffee there is similar to McDonald's coffee which I love; but if you get the coffee real early in the morning it's real bad cuz it's probably from the night before

- no manager's reception or free breakfast

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites El Paso North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Your stay at our hotel is greatly appreciated!!! Fortunately we have had some upgrades and minor tweaks to our hotel since you've last stayed with us. We now host a weekly evening social consisting of appetizers and drinks. We have upgraded every T.V. to HD programming, as well as added several new channels. Transmountain construction is no longer an issue, and even better is safer now than before!! We would love for you to come down to El Paso and enjoy another visit with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites El Paso North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites El Paso North

Address: 4631 Cohen Avenue, El Paso, TX 79924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in El Paso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites El Paso North 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. Candlewood Suites El Paso N – Fort Bliss Area is designed from the ground up…just for you. Located less than 5 mile from Fort Bliss, we are just minutes from Boeing, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, Raytheon, El Paso Community College and US Border Patrol. Candlewood Suites El Paso N – Fort Bliss Area gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. Fully equipped suites, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus there’s great local shopping and dining within walking distance from the hotel. When visiting, you have to take time to enjoy the local sites: Franklin Mountains State Park, Wilderness Park Museum, Wyler Tramway, El Paso Zoo and Cohen Stadium – home of the Diablo’s Baseball Team, which is located next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites El Paso North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites El Paso North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.