We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE FOR A ROMANTIC GETAWAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“BEST PLACE FOR A ROMANTIC GETAWAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff was truly amazing! We loved everything about our stay. We celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary there. Lisa and staff made us feel like royalty. Highly recommend them to all!!! Awesome Experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
176
25
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our suite was spacious, the bathroom large, and the shower good. The concierge was very helpful, calling to make certain which local shops were still open late in the day. The hotel Escalade driver was great in taking us where we needed, but on one occasion the hotel operator did not answer the telephone so we had to walk back to the hotel due to time constraints. Room service was good and prompt. Our plans changed or we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the hotel Escalade to return to the Capital, ask for the driver's cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July, 2014.
We had to ask for ice four times before we received it. The main restaurant was closed for remodeling, although the bar restaurant was very good.
It is an easy walk to the River Market area and across the street from the sculpture garden, which I highly recommend.
Get the turn down service so that you get the English Toffee...yum!
We had to let the staff know that we needed a fridge in the room for medical reasons in order to avoid the $25/day charge.
Valet service was quick and friendly. Love that the hotel provides free water bottles with their name on them...nice touch.

The young staff on the week-end may have contributed to the less than stellar service that is reported in review after review.

We plan to stay at the Marriott across the street next visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Perfect service.
Lovely historic hotel, located near all attractions and restaurants.
Hotel lobby is beautiful decorated.
Service is perfect, since you arrive; they know who you are, check in is pre made and a staff member take you to your room.
Moreover, as I said, staff is very helpful, polite and attentive.
Restaurant is very good, but I heard that it would be closed for renovation.
Other hotels should take lessons there how to take care of guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Love the Capital and their staff! Friendly, helpful. Room with high ceilings and quiet AC. On Markham Street side a little noisy at night but the bed and room were so comfortable that we went right to sleep. Look forward to another visit!

Room Tip: Might ask for the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nicely appointed hotel located in the heart of the city within walking distance to the river walk. Rooms were nice. I liked the turndown service. The doormen all recognized you and welcomed you back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Capital Hotel on several occasions - this is the first time since renovations. It's always a wonderful place to stay - beautifully appointed rooms - very classic and understated. Staff has that true southern hospitality, bar is just the right size and you can get a Moscow Mule in a cold copper mug! Location is perfect - walking distance to Riverfront and many nice restaurants, trolley available for exploring, close to Clinton Presidential Library. Stay here if you are ever in Little Rock!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.