We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Little Rock
Nixa, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the place to stay in Little Rock. Close to everything. Beautiful rooms, service was excellent and the restaurant was a very nice experience. Highly recommended. A touch of history. One extra feature was having the trolley right in front of the hotel. Take it and have a nice short tour of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
148
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great reasonably priced hotel with amazing service. Good bar and grill with live music.

Nice breakfast as well with fresh options and good coffee.

Beds were great. Rooms spotless.

Location is close to river area.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very clean and welcoming. Staff was very helpful and nice. We had our company convention there and it was great. I would recommend them very highly. It is in Down Town Little Rock, within walking distance to the Clinton Presidential Library as well as many great restaurants.

The turn down service was my favorite because of the delicious English Butter Pecan Toffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great modern technology meeting historic hotel. High ceilings, fantastic bed, exceptional service and sweet and spicey pecans that addictive. Would highly recommend as a business traveler or as a relaxing weekend retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is just as pictured in all photos. No need for traveler photos to detemine if it is really like the promo photos put out by management. Everything about it is first rate, comfortable, clean and well staffed. It is as classy as any 5 star we stay anywhere in the country.

However, I do always have a few comments ( I won't call them complaints ). NO drinkware in the bath. I do not want to brush my teeth then realize I have no glass and have to walk into the bedroom for something to rinse with. I realize this is a picky mention but .... its a mention and a personal issue. I have commented to management in the past and they say they will take it up with the team and they are concerned about glass ware in the marble space. Well, how many 5 star hotels do NOT have marble baths? Have they not stayed at any of them? OR have they not or will not investigate the new acrylic ware that exists. It works for me. It would be much nicer than having to walk around with a toothpaste mouth looking for a glass

Also, the rooms, wonderfully appointed with the best furnishings lack a few amenities. It would be nice to have a wine bottle opener at least, maybe a small mini bar with some snacks and bottle water handy. Arkansas water is, however, extremely drinkable so its fine out of the tap. But some of the local Spring water / Sparkling water would be a nice addition.

The hotel is perfectly located in downtown LR close to numerous restaurants and bars, a great cigar lounge or two, other smaller hotels, churches, apartments, River Market, tourist attractions, statehouse convention center.... all within an easy walking distance.

When choosing a room, if on the interior of the hotel I would select floor 3 or 4. If in one of the large corner two room suites, keep in mind walls are not very soundproof and you could in cure noise complaints if entertaining after 9pm or later.

BUT with all this said, The Capitol is still our home away from home while visiting LR and will remain so for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently arranged rooms for mysef and 5 co-workers to stay for one night in Little Rock. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating - from reservations, to check in to check out. The hotel is beautiful and everyone had very positive comments. A few mentioned coming back when they coud spend more time. The Capital Bar shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice, quite rooms, comfy beds, and great service.

Location is close to go for a run on the river front trails and walk down the main street with all the restaurants down the road.

They even offered and drove me to the airport. Again, great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.