We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Little Rock
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

On 04.23.13 I travelled from Raleigh NC to view the fabulous Clinton Library in Little Rock. My friend and I treated ourselves to a highly recommended "Ashley's" at the Capital on 04.25.13. The wait staff and food were outstanding . . . so much so, we returned for breakfast on 04.26.13. Again, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We had an immediate connection with Liz DeVore who kindly allowed us to photograph her and her adorable, whimsical hair design so I might have it duplicated upon my return to Raleigh. While we did not stay at the Capital this visit, I would not hesitate to stay there when I returned to Little Rock. Bottom line: You can only make a first impression ONCE and the Capital staff made a wonderful, delicious, comfortable impression on us! Thanks to all . . .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    38
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
135
24
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I visited Little Rock with a friend to see the Clinton Presidential Library, and while we did not stay in the hotel (much to our chagrin), we did have breakfast at Ashley's on April 26, 2013. We were so taken with the atmosphere, service, excellent food and hospitality, we returned the following day for another outstanding breakfast.
All of the staff was genuinely friendly and attentive. However, I would specifically like to mention and thank Ide Vore for her interest and patience with the two happy travelers from North Carolina. We took a number of photos of her for " copy chatting" her charming hair cut. Even in the hospitality business, IDE is an awesome draw. Thank you IDE!
We will definitely consider staying at the Capital Hotel. If the rooms are half as good and welcoming as the restaurant, Ashley's, we could not possibly have a bad experience. Thank you again to the entire staff, and especially to Ide. DEK. Cary, North Carolina

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Capital is the perfect blend of historic (high ceilinged rooms, grand lobby) and up-to-the-minute (wifi, charging stations, spacious bathrooms). It's distinctive from the minute you walk in: instead of waiting in line to check in, someone whisks you to your room and does the check-in process from there. I wish more hotels did this! Often in historic hotels there's a trade off; you get charm but give up some practical comforts, like ample lighting and electric outlets. Not at the Capital, which has a sleek modern bathroom with a great array of toiletries. Service is good, including speedy room service from a menu that doesn't gouge you for making that short trip upstairs. I've stayed across the street at the Peabody several times thinking the Capital was "old" but now that I've tried it, the Capital is by far my favorite.

Room Tip: I was in room 202, which faced a parking garage, so I'm sure there are rooms with better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a stand out in the city of Little Rock. Service was impeccable. Everyone from valet, front desk to housekeeping were all friendly and eager to make our stay special. Gorgeous hotel, clean and comfortable. The service we received outside of the hotel was horrible therefore if I ever visit Little Rock again, I will stay at this hotel but not venture outside of it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEARCY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed for a weekend getaway. We booked a "Meet Me at the Capital" package and it was well worth the extra rate. The package included dinner at the Capital Bar and Grill, breakfast at Ashleys, valet parking, and an additional room amenity. Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and rushed to our room. Check-in was completed in room which was a wonderful touch. Our extra amenity was a delicious berry plate with strawberries, blue berries, black berries and raspberries. Dinner was superb at CBG. My wife and I had the pimento cheese and crackers which were amazing. The soda crackers were made in house and by far the best cracker I've ever had. Our server told us that the cheese spread is served every year at the Master's Tournament. We both ordered salads. I ordered the catfish and my wife the baked chicken. Both were outstanding. We finished off our meals with banana pudding and a chocolate pie. Breakfast was even better with homemade butter, jams, and freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juices. My wife had the ham and cheese omelet, and I had Ashleys signature dish chocolate french toast which was beyond words! The rooms were spotless and the turn down service was also a nice touch. My only suggestion is that the hotel offer on-demand movies. We wanted to purchase an in room movie, but this service was not offered. Overall, an amazing stay and experience. We will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned but genuine and so comfortable. A perfect restoration appropriate for 21st century needs. An essential on any trip to the south. Close to the Clinton library and the old state Capitol is just across the street

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times for business and this hotel is really special. The staff, especially Billy Glasscock, run a top notch hotel that could be in any major city. The rooms are gorgeous. It is historic yet updated and you feel like you have really gone somewhere special when you stay here. Love sitting on the balcony on the second floor of the hotel and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.