We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school elegance, customer service, and attention to detail...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Little Rock
Denver, CP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old school elegance, customer service, and attention to detail...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Not my typical style of hotel (usually prefer modern boutique style spots), but felt it necessary to review this place following a business stay.

I booked a room and a conference room for a meeting and every single thing was top notch. From walking in and being escorted through reception and up to room, to a nice unobtrusive turn down service in the evening.

Attention to detail and customer service is phenomenal and no expense is spared in this regard. In fact, I probably received the best customer service at this hotel than anywhere else I've ever stayed (been in thousands of hotels over the years in many different countries).

Only complaint that I have is gym is off site, but directly next door, so not a big deal. If you like stepping back in time and enjoy fantastic customer service, this place is for you.

PS... They have real orange juice! Real, fresh squeezed OJ.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    38
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
135
24
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Each person we met exceeded our expectations. I made a point to ask for the manager upon our departure in order to point out several people that showed great professionalism toward us. We also enjoyed our time in the bar and grill and Ashley’s. If everyone else has the same experience my husband and I did, I would be thrilled to have recommended them. Great charm, hospitality and service. We will be sure book our next stay in Little Rock at The Capital Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to check in and the person that greeted us took us up to our room, showed us all of the amenities, and then checked us in while in our room. We had a great evening in the restaurant/bar, and then a good night sleep in the oversized guest room. The next morning had a wonderful breakfast and then had to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The best thing is the service. All staff members were welcoming, friendly and efficient. It made the experience fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room I was in was very, very big. It's quite obvious this property was built a long time ago, back when room comfort mattered.

Bed was great, sheets were soft, the HVAC unit was quiet and worked well, the bathroom was large and very well lit, the towels were soft and large and the internet was free. All of these are hallmarks of a good property.

I would recommend this property to anyone that can afford to stay here. Clearly a Five Star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff here was very friendly and accomodating. They tried to go out of their way to make you feel welcome and provide good service. Room was elegant and they provided little touches like complimentary snack with your name on it for our anniversary. Hotel is a short walk to the Bill Clinton Library area, about 3-4 blocks. There is also another park along the river that is within walking distance. The hotel is in an urban area, but the immediate area is nicely remodeled. We had breakfast at Ashleys which was on the premises which was a classy place. I would recommend this hotel. There is no swimming pool on premises. There is an outside sitting area on the second floor to sit outside and watch people going down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very clean, great service, arrived late Christmas night 2012 in very large snowstorm. Service was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Front desk mentioned late night limited room service menu which was very fast and good andunsolicited late check out due to weather. Sleep was perfect in quiet rooms. But the best was breakfast at Ashley's restaurant the next morning. Local products, nice comfortable atmosphere and great service. Now our go to hotel in Little Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Traveled with family for the Christmas holidays. Wife and I took care of all the arrangements and cost. Everything seemed Ok while we were there. About a week after getting back, several in-laws called this hotel, and had our itemized bill, complete with partial CC information, sent directly to them.

Regardless of who actually called, this hotel gave out personal information, site unseen, to unverified people. With zero privacy to your information, exactly how safe do you think you are here???

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.