We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school elegance, customer service, and attention to detail...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Denver, CP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old school elegance, customer service, and attention to detail...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Not my typical style of hotel (usually prefer modern boutique style spots), but felt it necessary to review this place following a business stay.

I booked a room and a conference room for a meeting and every single thing was top notch. From walking in and being escorted through reception and up to room, to a nice unobtrusive turn down service in the evening.

Attention to detail and customer service is phenomenal and no expense is spared in this regard. In fact, I probably received the best customer service at this hotel than anywhere else I've ever stayed (been in thousands of hotels over the years in many different countries).

Only complaint that I have is gym is off site, but directly next door, so not a big deal. If you like stepping back in time and enjoy fantastic customer service, this place is for you.

PS... They have real orange juice! Real, fresh squeezed OJ.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    48
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
178
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Each person we met exceeded our expectations. I made a point to ask for the manager upon our departure in order to point out several people that showed great professionalism toward us. We also enjoyed our time in the bar and grill and Ashley’s. If everyone else has the same experience my husband and I did, I would be thrilled to have recommended them. Great charm, hospitality and service. We will be sure book our next stay in Little Rock at The Capital Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to check in and the person that greeted us took us up to our room, showed us all of the amenities, and then checked us in while in our room. We had a great evening in the restaurant/bar, and then a good night sleep in the oversized guest room. The next morning had a wonderful breakfast and then had to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The best thing is the service. All staff members were welcoming, friendly and efficient. It made the experience fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room I was in was very, very big. It's quite obvious this property was built a long time ago, back when room comfort mattered.

Bed was great, sheets were soft, the HVAC unit was quiet and worked well, the bathroom was large and very well lit, the towels were soft and large and the internet was free. All of these are hallmarks of a good property.

I would recommend this property to anyone that can afford to stay here. Clearly a Five Star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
538 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff here was very friendly and accomodating. They tried to go out of their way to make you feel welcome and provide good service. Room was elegant and they provided little touches like complimentary snack with your name on it for our anniversary. Hotel is a short walk to the Bill Clinton Library area, about 3-4 blocks. There is also another park along the river that is within walking distance. The hotel is in an urban area, but the immediate area is nicely remodeled. We had breakfast at Ashleys which was on the premises which was a classy place. I would recommend this hotel. There is no swimming pool on premises. There is an outside sitting area on the second floor to sit outside and watch people going down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very clean, great service, arrived late Christmas night 2012 in very large snowstorm. Service was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Front desk mentioned late night limited room service menu which was very fast and good andunsolicited late check out due to weather. Sleep was perfect in quiet rooms. But the best was breakfast at Ashley's restaurant the next morning. Local products, nice comfortable atmosphere and great service. Now our go to hotel in Little Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Traveled with family for the Christmas holidays. Wife and I took care of all the arrangements and cost. Everything seemed Ok while we were there. About a week after getting back, several in-laws called this hotel, and had our itemized bill, complete with partial CC information, sent directly to them.

Regardless of who actually called, this hotel gave out personal information, site unseen, to unverified people. With zero privacy to your information, exactly how safe do you think you are here???

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Little Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Little Rock Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Little Rock
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Little Rock - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Marriott
#26 of 61 in Little Rock
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Burgundy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.