We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 hotels in Little Rock
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to check in and the person that greeted us took us up to our room, showed us all of the amenities, and then checked us in while in our room. We had a great evening in the restaurant/bar, and then a good night sleep in the oversized guest room. The next morning had a wonderful breakfast and then had to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    35
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
127
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and I have nothing but great things to say about it. The best thing is the service. All staff members were welcoming, friendly and efficient. It made the experience fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room I was in was very, very big. It's quite obvious this property was built a long time ago, back when room comfort mattered.

Bed was great, sheets were soft, the HVAC unit was quiet and worked well, the bathroom was large and very well lit, the towels were soft and large and the internet was free. All of these are hallmarks of a good property.

I would recommend this property to anyone that can afford to stay here. Clearly a Five Star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff here was very friendly and accomodating. They tried to go out of their way to make you feel welcome and provide good service. Room was elegant and they provided little touches like complimentary snack with your name on it for our anniversary. Hotel is a short walk to the Bill Clinton Library area, about 3-4 blocks. There is also another park along the river that is within walking distance. The hotel is in an urban area, but the immediate area is nicely remodeled. We had breakfast at Ashleys which was on the premises which was a classy place. I would recommend this hotel. There is no swimming pool on premises. There is an outside sitting area on the second floor to sit outside and watch people going down the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very clean, great service, arrived late Christmas night 2012 in very large snowstorm. Service was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Front desk mentioned late night limited room service menu which was very fast and good andunsolicited late check out due to weather. Sleep was perfect in quiet rooms. But the best was breakfast at Ashley's restaurant the next morning. Local products, nice comfortable atmosphere and great service. Now our go to hotel in Little Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Traveled with family for the Christmas holidays. Wife and I took care of all the arrangements and cost. Everything seemed Ok while we were there. About a week after getting back, several in-laws called this hotel, and had our itemized bill, complete with partial CC information, sent directly to them.

Regardless of who actually called, this hotel gave out personal information, site unseen, to unverified people. With zero privacy to your information, exactly how safe do you think you are here???

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just a first class charming hotel. The room have history, large ceilings with lots of space. And they love pillows, 6 on my bed! With great sheets. Close to everything, we walked to the Clinton library and the market. The service was wonderful, everyone was helpful and offered great suggestions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked this hotel very-last minute, and it is definitely one of the nicer 4 star's I've ever stayed in (actually, the service quality at this hotel surpasses many of the 5 star's I've encountered- I am impressed). The staff is on the younger side (everyone from the valet parking to the person who shows you to your room upon check-in seems under 25), but don't let that fool you- every employee I've encountered has been extremely professional, polite, efficient, & welcoming. It's evident almost immediately that these employees are good at what they do & the management of this hotel is good at planning every detail of your stay. Right down to the seasonal plant in your room upon check-in (in my opinion, much better than the typical cheap chocolate & fruit dish that a lot of upscale hotels leave you).

The hotel itself is a very historic building, something that I appreciated (it was built in the 1800's). I think the rooms look better in person than in pictures. Although I'm the kind of person who appreciates modern decor over conservative, I didn't mind it at all- because it really flows with the building & its heritage very nicely. The lobby uses its original tiles, and since I stayed around the holidays, they had a large Christmas tree fully decorated. The lobby & hallways even smelled like a Christmas tree, a really nice touch (I think they decorated with live plants throughout the foyers to maintain the aroma).

Room service was also top notch- although the food was a bit salty (but maybe it's an Arkansas regional thing). Overall, the experience was definitely well thought out for their guests & every detail accounted for. As expected in its 5 star equivalents:

- Free wifi (no resort fee- the rate is what you get)
- Free charging station
- Ironing board + iron + slippers + bath robe + travel kit + plenty of oversized towels + extra pillows & blankets + etc.
- Room service, fine dining & casual dining options in the hotel, laundry service (although sadly closed on weekends), bellmen services, turndown service, premium channels & on-demand options, alarm clock, an umbrella, dim-able lighting (a biggie in my opinion), etc.
- Very clean and meticulously maintained rooms

Only thing this hotel is missing would be a mini bar- although I know I could call down for anything, I'm lazy & impatient while on vacation- and every other 4 or 5 star I've encountered had this available for guests like me. Also, it's missing a radio or iPod/iPhone docking station- other 4 or 5 star hotels always seem to have one in case you would like to listen to music in the room.

Overall- glad I booked this place last minute. I think a lot of hotels could learn from this place's attention to detail, and not only their attention to the the tangibles (decor, maintenance of the building itself, collateral pieces, etc.), but to the overall service flow & intangibles. Textbook example of services marketing done right, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street- some rooms face an interior courtyard with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.