We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move over Ritz....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Little Rock
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Move over Ritz....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful charm and service. Architecture alone here is worth the stay. It's better than your typical luxury chain like the Ritz. They stand out above because it's not just impeccable service, it's service comes with hospitality. The lounge bar is very nice and from speaking with locals, is the best in the area. But there are good sports bars, etc. walking distance. This hotel is across the street from the Peabody which too has a good reputation, but after staying at the Capital Hotel, realized the Peabody looked and felt like another convention hotel. The only downside for the Capital Hotel is no convenience store in hotel or close by without going to the Peabody's gift shop. Also, for that area in general, the hotels are pretty much the only place to grab breakfast. Our 1st day we were misguided in asking where we could get some convenience store items or some fast food. It wasn't until our last day of wandering around by foot in the opposite direction of the River Market, that we found a McD's, Subway, gas station, etc. Wish we had been pointed in that direction when we first asked. Lesson learned though...should have done a little more research. So bottom line, don't be mislead by booking travel with a chain brand hotel in Little Rock...stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    42
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
158
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip at The Capital in Little Rock and it was a true demonstration of fine southern hospitality. From the colonial grandeur of a recently refurbished hotel ( traditional) to the great food in the more casual dining area the great hospitality was a true measure of its deserved success.
The elevator is very large and harps back to a time when ladies wore big round ball gowns so their needs could be accommodated. The rooms are traditional in style with all mod cons and very large( must be those ball gowns again.
We ate late at night in the casual dining area and the food was wholesome and tasty- to top it all odd the had. Great array of single malts!
Breakfast was very traditional American with no shortage of food- the house speciality was a true peanut butter 'butter' but abstention prevented me from trying it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Little Rock isn't the most accessible place in the world. But the Capital Hotel makes it worth the effort. Since it is an old hotel that was renovated and refurbished a few years ago, the rooms tend to be large. And the suites are very large. And the prices are shockingly reasonable. And the staff is extremely friendly and efficient. They will make the effort to take care of every need and any want. The bar is usually busy and serves great bar food. The restaurant, Ashleigh's, is excellent but a little formal for my tastes. And probably the one thing that most people leave talking about is the toffee on the pillow with the evening turn down service. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The fitness center is nice, but it is not in the hotel. You have to walk across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort smith, ar
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A very swanky hotel and a bit over priced. No vending machines 2 8oz. diet cokes over $10.00 then a tip. Must use Valet parking no other available. No pool or hot tub. Very firm beds. Staff was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I normally don't write reviews, but wanted to say I had a "once in a lifetime" experience this past weekend at The Capital Hotel. It is the most beautiful, clean, stunning hotel I have ever stayed in. The service in unmatched in every category & superb beyond description. The showers were the cleanest I have ever seen (looked like they were brand new), linens impeccable, beds were the most comfortable & luxurious I had ever slept on in life. Fresh flowers abound in this first class hotel & it is in a league of it's own. I could write for days about this magnificent hotel including how the bathroom has makeup/shaving lighted mirrors, beautiful soaps & lotions on gleaming silver trays and even a make-up towels for ladies. No small detail is overlooked. It was the best hotel experience I had ever had in life --top to bottom in every category. Stellar!

Lastly, The Capital in a fabulous location with restaurants and attractions within walking distance. The incredible staff are eager to assist, if needed. My highest recommendation for The Capital Hotel over any other hotel ever. I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have to be excellent, based on mine and the pictures I've seen from others. Even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling to Dallas, TX and decided to stop in Little Rock, AR for the evening! Upon arrival, the valet was very kind and pleasant! The Hotel Manager~ greeted us by name and welcomed us to the architectural wonder!

The Capital Hotel as been part of Little Rock's history since 1872... It is a luxurious hotel to this day! Our room was spacious, lovely decor and furnishings! The bathroom vanity~bath area accommodated every need! I was elated with the ~Molton Brown~London toiletries! I would have loved, the opportunity to purchase the Molton Brown products~ heavenly gingerlily! It was divine!

The breakfast~tea room is fabulous! Wonderful array of morning papers to choose from. The southern furnishings were splendid! I especially loved the claret velvet seating! Decor was mesmerizing!

The entire hotel staff was pleasant, attentive and kind! The surroundings, we're a blessing in time! I am elated, that this hotel has been historically preserved for future generations!

We're looking forward to staying here again in the fall!

Best Regards,

Tom & Janet Lee Schultheis


We dined in and were elated with the setting and exquisite cuisine served!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The renovation of the Capital Hotel was a great success. It has old-fashioned charm, but modern amenities. The rooms are very comfortable, and the staff is welcoming and helpful. Many high-end hotels charge for wi-fi service, but it is included in the room price at the Capital Hotel. I have stayed here several times, and always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Expedia so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.