We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital Hotel- The Class of Little Rock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Capital Hotel to your Saves list
The Capital Hotel
111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Little Rock
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Capital Hotel- The Class of Little Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had another wonderful stay at the Capital recently, it was spectacular. The service, amenities, and rooms were all superb. It has a great location, the Capital Bar is a great place to unwind and Ashley's is a first rate restaurant, anywhere!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
160
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First off, let me say that the people at the Capital Hotel could not be nicer. Everyone greets you with a smile and a hello, and upon arrival we were literally whisked off to our room without need for a check in as Jerry, our greeter says he would take care of things for us.

Boom, we are in the enormous elevator that could hold twenty if it held one, and up to the third floor. Jerry opens our room and we discover it is decent sized with enormously high ceilings, a welcoming letter, bottles of water and spectacularly delicious spicy and sweet pecans. Jerry takes our credit card, calls in the number to the desk, explains the various features of the room, of which there really are few, and takes his leave, tip in hand.

What we discover, later, is that Jerry has forgotten an essential element that is 'key' to anyone's hotel stay--the keys. We have no way to get back in the room once we leave and have to get back in. Oops. A visit to the front desk gets us keys, but already we smell a bit of disfunction behind the facade of southern hospitality. (Note that, upon checking out 36 hours later we do, indeed find the keys hidden on a night-table, but how they got there and why they weren't simply handed to us I'll never know.)

The next day we are out the door at 8:05 am. We return at 4:00 pm, hot, sweaty and ready for a couple of hours of downtime in our room. Unfortunately, someone forgot to tell housekeeping that we are here. Our room is untouched with bed unmade, towels thrown asunder (I never said we were the cleanest guests) and the feeling that we had been completely forgotten.

We made the best of it and were assured the room would be returned to a normal state by the time we got back from dinner, which it was.

Cleaned up, bed made, the room was inviting as was the plate of cookies on the side table along with an enormous Mason jar half-filled with milk sitting in a tub of ice water--really a cool and kind of unique touch. I had a cookie, opened the jar and in good Southern fashion went to take a healthy swig of milk when I was hit by the full-bodied smell of (wait for it) pickles! Pickles? Pickles and milk? Really? So, plate of cookies, large Mason jar of milk, but a recycled pickle jar of milk! Ha!

And that, my friend, is Little Rock's Capital Hotel. A beautiful spot but a bit rougher around the edges than the southern charm might suggest.

Would I stay there again? Well, if i had to go to Little Rock, sure. But I'd be a whole less charmed by the whole thing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalHotel, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the candid feedback. We sincerely apologize for the missing keys and delayed housekeeping service. And we were especially taken back by the problem with the milk. After an inspection of those containers we found some of them with an odd smell. They have all been removed from service. And a new type of container has been ordered.

Thank you again for your help in identifying these problems. Your review has resulted in some operational adjustments which will be helpful to all future guests.

We hope to see you on your next visit. In the interim, please let me know if I can help in any way.

Best regards,

Michael Chaffin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

...in a hotel at least. It looked like the tile and glass door were brand new. This hotel is historic and grand. The ceiling heights, apparently due to it's mercantile origins, are plentiful even in the rooms. The elevator is larger than most dorm rooms. The lobby is opulent and always ready with a coffee in the morning or lemonade in the afternoon.

I enjoyed the amount of gathering space in the lobby and the mezzanine level, with a great outdoor balcony overlooking the entry.

The service seemed on top of eveything, with quick valet service and friendly check in. The location is very convenient to downtown Little Rock, and an easy walk to the Clinton Library.

We also tried the bar / restaurant for food and drinks. If you can get a basil lemondrop martini, go for it. The catfish po-boy and burgers were great. The beer selection is good as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, AR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

First let me say, I have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the U. S. - seriously. I'm a 5 star traveler. I have never stayed at a hotel I liked better.
But, my wife did accidentally leave my laptop here during our last stay over a year ago, I didn't discover it missing until a week later, and it never was found. That sort of soured me on the hotel.
But, I realize this was a one time happening, and other than that, our stays have been delightful.
Still, it is hard to rate the hotel now with this sour taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were there for 2 nights, the hotel and the staff was exceptional .
Right from the valet to check out, right from our greeting manager to Valet guy everybody was
Nice and helpful. The hotel is one of a kind. And we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmora, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We love grand, old hotels and this one is a beauty! Our room was lovely, spacious and quiet, despite a rather large wedding reception being held the evening we arrived(2 hours early). Despite this, we were treated like their most important guests. This southern gem is only upstaged by the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was helpful, friendly, professional and seemed to love their job. And, like another reviewer mentioned, the bag of "crack", left on the pillow in the evening, was wonderful. They really ought to sell that stuff! Will definately go back to Little Rock, if only to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a revelation! Who would have thought that Little Rock, Arkansas would have this fabulous hotel?

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel, till the time we checked out we had impeccable service from ALL the staff. Everything about this hotel is the best. You walk through the front door into a magnificent entrance hall and after checking in you are guided to your room.Our room was perfection, with a huge bathroom. It could not have been bettered.

Just a few minutes away from the Clinton Presidential Library, the hotel is perfectly located in the historic downtown area of Little Rock.

Yes, it's not a cheap place to stay but it was worth every cent and I defy anyone who stays there not to want to return as we will do as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Address: 111 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.