We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress of Little Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Empress of Little Rock to your Saves list
The Empress of Little Rock
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2120 Louisiana Street, Little Rock, AR 72206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Little Rock B&B and Inns
1 review
“enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely adore this little gem in Little Rock! I originally was just looking for a hotel with a spa so that my husband and I could get massages. Right after Christmas, apparently everyone is redeeming gift cards and NO ONE could squeeze us in. I finally found the Empress B&B had a massage package and was like why not, i cant book a massage anywhere else... but this place is magical! walking in this late 1800s era house felt very grand but intimate at the same time. We toured the home and loved the little history of the home too. And our suite, WOW! it was so beautiful and relaxing that we never left the room. We had a picnic in the room by the fireplace and then in-suite massages. As soon as the massage therapists left, we hopped in the huge jacuzzi. Afterwards we snuggled in this massive, cozy bed and talked about our past and future together. It began to rain and the sweet sounds of rain pitter patter carried us to a wonderful nights rest. The next morning, our friendly butler Bob, woke us up to a delicious breakfast in bed. Talk about feeling like royalty! Took a shower in the steam shower, jets spraying water from every direction, it was like another massage! i wished we couldve stayed another night, i so did not want to leave! I want to go back again in the spring or summer, i bet the garden looks so pretty when the flowers are in bloom. Cute little setting for an intimate outdoor wedding. We go on vacation just about every 3-4 months as we dont have children yet, so i can tell you that this place is definitely one of my top 5 vacations spots, pretty impressive considering ive been all over the US and overseas several times. Its a place where its about love and intimacy, getting back to the basics, stepping away from the hustle and bussle of everyday life and living in the moment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownDame, Owner at The Empress of Little Rock, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your special experience with other travelers. Your getaway experience is the very essence of what we're trying to do for our guests. It's such a wonderful feeling knowing we've achieved our objective. We look forward to having you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    7
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
113
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Centro, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Empress and just loved it! Debra, Jessica and everyone took excellent care of us! They were all so helpful and friendly, with a genuine gentile, southern hospitality. They felt like family by the time we left. They even surprised us with chocolates and a bottle of champagne in our room as it was close to our 32nd anniversary. The level of detail of the furnishings and decor is outstanding. The Empress is a stunningly beautiful Victorian B and B. The breakfast was delicious, served on silver, attractive china and linens. Our four post bed was very comfy with the softest of sheets. This is a very luxurious place on all levels. This B and B was lovingly restored with no expenses spared and it shows it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and beautiful, You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Staff was very welcoming. The house is located in an area that looks a little dodgey and the staff reminds you to lock the door at all times. They were really excited about showing us our room so we felt bad we didn't enjoy it. The place smelled musty. The potpourri or whatever perfume they use to "freshen" the room was absolutely overwhelming. In fact, we both kept waking up during the night because it was so strong. As it was hot and buggy we couldn't open a window to get any fresh air. The "hot tub" in the bathroom looked scary as we were urged to indulge in aromatherapy (which we declined). We basically got a bad night's sleep and left the next morning before anyone was awake. If you like doilies, potpourri and dust you might like this place. After tax our room was $380!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownDame, Owner at The Empress of Little Rock, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Obviously we are very disappointed in this guests' experience, and the perception of our historic neighborhood. Especially in light of the excellent ratings we have from our other guests and the fact for the 11th year in a row we have been selected BEST OF THE BEST IN CENTRAL ARKANSAS. Since we do not use any potpourri or perfume to "freshen" rooms (cleanliness has its own fresh aroma), we are at a loss how they could be overwhelmed with a smell in the room and not bring it to our attention so we could determine if there was a problem. Guests regularly comment on how clean our rooms are and marvel at how we maintain such high standards considering the detail of all the woodwork, brass, silver, museum quality antiques and yes, doilies. Real doilies. As to asking guests to lock the exterior doors as they leave to protect our property insurance REQUIRES that the doors be locked if there should ever be a claim, that is just common courtesy and common sense. It's not a warning they need to be concerned for their safety. As the neighbor of the Govenor, we've never even had anything stolen out of our parking lot in 20 years. But we are guilty of having doilies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about my stay at The Empress. The location near the Governor's Mansion was easy to get to and was less than 5 minutes from downtown Little Rock. There was plenty of parking. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The owners Bob &Sharon were extremely gracious. They upgraded my reservation from a single room to a suite. When I arrived I was greeted with this happy news. After my long drive it was wonderful to sit in a comfortable chair and sip the complimentary Amaretto. Even the everything is decorated with a Victorian sensibility, the modern amenities were provided. There were plenty of electrical outlets, lots of closet space, cable and wifi. The bathroom even had a high tech toilet. I wish I'd had time to enjoy breakfast. My only complaint was that I couldn't stay longer. All in all I have to say that I was treated like a queen.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

From the exquisite house to the incredibly friendly and welcoming staff, this place is, hands down, the best place that I have ever stayed. It is like stepping back in time. I will be going back and I strongly encourage anyone that is going to the Little Rock area to do the same. What a perfect place to celebrate my 5 year wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary in July. We were the only guests and had the place to ourselves. Home is beautiful and decorated with antiques. Breakfast was very good and served by candlelight. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. Definitely do the house tour as the history is very interesting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I spent a day and a night at The Empress and loved it. It was our first time visiting a bed and breakfast, and we had a great experience. The Empress is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway for couples. The rooms are elegant and clean, the decor is interesting to look at, and the service is top notch. Drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were included in the price of our room, and the next morning's homemade breakfast was delightful. We highly recommend checking out The Empress - it was a great experience for us.

Room Tip: The Hemingway Room is awesome! There is no pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empress of Little Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress of Little Rock

Address: 2120 Louisiana Street, Little Rock, AR 72206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empress of Little Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the opulence and luxury of 1888 in this awarding winning Victorian mansion! Majestic double stairwell,….stained glass skylight,… secret card room in the turret,… sensual featherbeds,….candlelit gourmet breakfast,… understated elegance,… antique appointments,… fireplaces,… cable,… DSL,… three sitting parlors,… gardens,….The Empress!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Empress of Little Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress of Little Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.