We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful weekend getaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress of Little Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Empress of Little Rock to your Saves list
The Empress of Little Rock
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2120 Louisiana Street, Little Rock, AR 72206   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Little Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Beautiful weekend getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I needed to get away for a little mini-honeymoon and we chose the empress... it was one of the best choices we've ever made. the personnell were amazing, the breakfasts and tea were incredible... the hemingway suite and the 'secret garden' are so serene and beautiful...., we look forward to returning :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
125
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

When my Fiance' and I decided on The Empress of Little Rock, we had no idea that our escape to Arkansas would result in such an impression in our lives forever!

Upon our arrival, Jessica was out for the day, but her fill-in was nothing less than pleasant - we toured the grounds and were given the overview of scheduled events. We enjoyed the wine hour, walking around the wrap-around porch and speaking with Mrs. Deborah. Mrs. Deborah was a pleasant, jolly spirit and very knowledgeable of the tourist sites, eateries, etc.

We chose Victoria's Garden Suite and were very pleased with all the details. Victoria's Garden Suite is in the Carriage House, rather than the Main House. This offers an extra level of privacy in that you feel like you're definitely in your own little world! From the Amaretto liqueur to jacuzzi oils and bed turnings, we felt completely pampered. Not to mention, breakfast each morning in the dining room was absolutely amazing! Every angle of the rooms were decorated and accented, including the dining table. We had never experienced soups for breakfast, but now have new favorites!

My Fiance' had a couple tricks up his sleeve leading to our stay at The Empress - Jessica assisted him in planning an engagement proposal that we (and our carriage driver, Alicia) will never forget!

Although, for the owners and innkeepers, their kindness and service is custom, we are so very appreciative of each person's part in our experience. The Empress is a landmark that we will incorporate into our future together and we are looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own theme - Read The Empress' descriptions of each room and decide which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Wow...what a find this place was! My wife and I spent a weekend at this charming and lovely bed and breakfast in Little Rock Arkansas! The place itself was like out of a storybook about the South. The house was in the historical governors district and they were spacious and accommodating. The staff was very kind and anticipated our every need! If you want to stay at a southern historical B&B with great service and charm then this the place!

Room Tip: The Murray suite is spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Empress B&B in Little Rock. It was our anniversary and wanted a special get away and that is exactly what we experienced. The 1880's home is beautiful with a secret room in the attic where the original owner played cards. We stayed in the carriage house in "The Hemingway" room. We weren't sure we had picked the best room, but we were delighted as soon as we saw it. The room was spacoius, clean, and had lots of extra details right down to a decanter with amaretto liquer with two glasses for sipping. Besides the room and home, we found the staff to be very attentive and welcoming. Deborah was a delight and offered lots of tips of what we might enjoy visiting in Little Rock. Bob, one of the owners, had a great sense of humor and was very personable as he served breakfast. Don't hesitate to stay at this B&B if you are in the area. We are very private people and have tended to shy away from bed and breakfasts. This B&B is very friendly, but gives you lots of privacy... a winning combination for us. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Go online and check out photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

A wonderful experience. Very well appointed rooms. Only complaint is the aroma therapy was broken on the shower in the Magestic Suite we stayed in. Delicious breakfast each morning and because we were in the Carriage House I did not feel like I was lacking any privacy. Great location to Rivermarket and Debi was a fabulous innkeeper.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3mpress, Owner at The Empress of Little Rock, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are delighted to hear our guest really enjoyed their stay. Any property can choose to provide expensive amenities, but the total experience of a bed and breakfast as demonstrated by this guest, is so much more. We have ordered a replacement part and hope it will be in very soon. A previous guest twisted the rim of the nozzle which is not designed to be turned and it ruptured the line requiring a part that had to be ordered from Kohler. Sharon Welch-Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My mom and I visited here a few weekends and it was fantastic. The house is gorgeous!! Our room was so neat. We stayed in the Washburn-Welch room. I would definitely return it was a great weekend getaway. And Little Rock has a lot to offer. The breakfast was great and so was the hospitality. Cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simms, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I recently stayed at The Empress of Little Rock in their luxury Hemmingway Suite. I cannot begin to explain how elegant this room is. Not only is it is so very pleasing to the eye but it is large and roomy!!! My only regret is that I only got to stay in the Hemmingway Suite one night. I would highly recommend the Hemmingway Suite as a lovely get-away. It is so very charming and it’s décor is remarkably beautiful. I love the fireplace and the large (spa) bath.

As always, the breakfast served by hostess, Ms Jessica, was beyond delicious ~ she is always gracious. The evening shift hostess, Ms Deborah, goes out of her way to make everyone feel comfortable and always performs a nice touch of turn down service. I have stayed at The Empress of Little Rock several times over the last year. In my opinion, everything about the lovely B&B is perfect and it seems like my home away from home! Oh yes, I will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3mpress, Owner at The Empress of Little Rock, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We always try to provide a wonderful experience for all our guests. It's so great to know you've actually met your goal from time to time. Thanks to this guest for the feedback, and especially for mentioning our staff who work so hard at making everyone's stay special. It means a great deal to all of us! We look forward to your next visit and hope to make it even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empress of Little Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress of Little Rock

Address: 2120 Louisiana Street, Little Rock, AR 72206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empress of Little Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the opulence and luxury of 1888 in this awarding winning Victorian mansion! Majestic double stairwell,….stained glass skylight,… secret card room in the turret,… sensual featherbeds,….candlelit gourmet breakfast,… understated elegance,… antique appointments,… fireplaces,… cable,… DSL,… three sitting parlors,… gardens,….The Empress!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Empress of Little Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress of Little Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.