We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location...Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Location...Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed twice in a two week period, each for three nights. The hotel and rooms were very clean each time. My only "problem" is parking, it is not cheap but it being downtown and very limited street parking, I do not expect much can be done about this. Many of very good restaurants in area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Little Rock! We are honored you stayed with us on two occasions and certainly welcome you back anytime you are in town. Our goal is to provide you with service so accommodating and hospitable that you look forward to returning in the future. Thank you kindly! Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
55
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always stay at Marriotts, and this one lived up to Marriott reputation. Location is perfect for River Market and the Clinton Library. Only downside is the parking garage but it is right behind the hotel, and you don't need your car once you check in. Everything, restaurants, sites, and river are right on this street. Staff greeted us warmly and helped with any questions. Lobby has bar and seating area for meeting up with friends that were joining us. Room was very nice and quiet except for one night when kids were making noise out in the hallway which was easily fixed with an opening of our door and parental stare. We stayed two nites, dined next door and across the street, sat and walked along the river, saw the library and other museums. Also walked down to the Peabody and saw the ducks parade into the fountain in the lobby. The price was very reasonable about $109 a nite and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Clinton Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for such a rave review of not only our hotel, but of downtown Little Rock. We enjoy meeting and greeting guests and having the opportunity to share our incredible city with others. I could not be happier that your experience here was stellar and hope you will return again as our guest. On behalf of the Courtyard by Marriott in beautiful downtown Little Rock, thank you for visiting. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again! Kindly, Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that the people that work here (front desk) made it very clear that this was not really a Courtyard/Marriott to the lady checking in front of me. She was upset because he told her that the only parking they offer was in the public garage around the block. They have no one at the door telling you anything about parking, no valet (ever), no bellhop (ever) the same front desk guy told me the people that owned the hotel were to cheap to hire a valet staff or bellhop. Keep in mind there is basically no where to park to unload bags as it is downtown so you are really parking in the street. Now before you say anything we are talking about Little Rock, AR not some thriving metropolis that people fly in and out of everyday. I only saw one cab the entire 3 days we were there. The parking is not convenient at all but it is free as long as you have the white card that the machine spits out and the yellow card that the front desk gives you. If you fail this "test of skills" it cost you $9 to get out. According to parking attendant (evidently the parking business is tons better than the hotel business as it was dutifully staffed 24/7) "most hotel guest fail the first time but have the routine down by the last day." If you wanted a omelet at breakfast you had to get the waitstaff (1) to go in the kitchen to get the omelet chef. The food was pretty good and I had no complaints about the quality or selection at the buffet. We ordered room service (not kid friendly) and after the order was placed she asked "will that be cash or credit"???? Room service is off site and you have to either give them your CC over the phone or starve because if you say cash they just make you give a CC to confirm the order. Water in the shower goes from cold to warm to hot at anytime and not always in that order. All in all I would rate this place on a scale of 1 to 5 a 1.5 or maybe a weak 2 because the balcony was a great addition to the room. This BTW is one of the most expensive hotels in Downtown Little Rock. Be very carful if you prepay your room. I will not stay here again. Anytime a hotel uses its great location and good name to bring people in but does nothing beyond that to keep your business is not worth a 2nd shot from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
151ChrisR, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Please accept my apologies for such a dissatisfactory stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Little Rock. I have attempted to contact you a couple of times to discuss the details of your stay but haven't been successful in reaching you. I assure you this is not taken lightly and appreciate your comments to further train employees and provide better service to our guests. I welcome the opportunity to attempt to correct the negative experience we provided to you. If I may be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience. I wish you only pleasant stays with Marriott in the future.

Kindly,
Chris Rule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was in LR for several days, helping my daughter plan her upcoming wedding. (May 4) I love the location of the property. The wedding reception is at Heifer. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. As noted in other reviews, the rooms are a bit tired and outdated, which really isn't a concern to me. However, my room needed a good clean. I cleaned around the toilet as it was gross. There were cobwebs above the curtains and light switches/doors/walls were grubby. We've blocked several rooms for the wedding and I hope our guests have nice, clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your wedding planning weekend! We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to serving your family and friends that travel to Little Rock for your daughter's wedding. We are very sorry for the cleanliness issues you found in your bathroom, above the curtains, and on the walls. We are working closely with the housekeeping team to correct their form so details like this do not go unnoticed.
We thank you for the opportunity to serve you for your current and future guest room needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a great location. Within easy walking distance from good restaurants. You do have to park in a public parking garage behind the hotel. $8/day. Not bad for a downtown hotel. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Little Rock, and thank you for your positive comments. We are glad our location fit your needs and provided entertainment within walking distance. We look forward to the opportunity to serve your during your next visit to Little Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

In Little Rock for the marathon, my criteria for a hotel centered around two areas – proximity to the race and clean, quiet accommodation. The Courtyard delivered on both elements. The marathon started right outside the hotel lobby, so the location could not have been more convenient.

The room featured older generation Courtyard furnishings – blue carpet, yellow walls – and a few updated pieces, specifically the pull-out work station and a flat screen television. The room also had a sleeper sofa and a refrigerator which was handy to store beverages.

While the room was clean, the furnishings are starting to show wear and tear. The wood was chipped in several places. The lamp above the coffee bar was not working. The desk was dusty, and the headboard looked to have some type of grease stain. The latter was nothing a few sanitary wipes couldn’t fix, but it still exposes an aging room. I should note that the lamp was the exception rather than the rule. Everything else was fully operational.

The bathroom was also clean. Another positive was that the shower pressure was just right, and I could easily adjust the water temperature.

Outside of the room, the hallway was bitterly cold. It seemed like a cold front moved through the hallway but had yet to reach the guest rooms. On the positive side, it discouraged fellow guests from lingering near the elevator and my room.

Parking was $8 in a public parking garage adjacent to the hotel. There is an outdoor path to the garage but not an enclosed walkway. The hotel is walking distance to Little Rock’s main attractions – River Market district and the Clinton Presidential Library.

In summary, the the hotel delivered on the two aspects that mattered most – convenient location and clean room.

Pros: Downtown location, typical Courtyard rooms

Cons: Older generation furnishings starting to show wear and tear

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Downtown Little Rock for your stay during the Little Rock Marathon. We are fortunate to have a location just steps from the starting line for the marathon and know how valuable that is for runners of the marathon. We are thrilled your needs were met at our property. We appreciate you feedback and understand there are features showing our hotel is approaching 9 years of operation. Although we are approaching our renovation (November can't come soon enough!), we have a duty to provide and maintain rooms to the best of our ability. Your feedback is valuable as I will share this information with the maintenance and housekeeping team and we can use it to improve our rooms. We hope for the opportunity to serve you next year during the Little Rock Marathon (and sooner, of course!), which will also be after our renovation! Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This location was perfect for the LR marathon/downtown restaurants and Clinton library. The marathon starts in front of the hotel and finishes only a few steps away. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff were very hospitable! The hotel staff were very good except one guy who was not very responsive when I called about spotty wifi coverage. He said he was going to check on it but never called back. I called back and asked for the manager who was very responsive! I am giving it 3 stars because the wallpaper and plaster on the ceiling in the bathroom were peeling. I understand the hotel will be renovated in November so hopefully these issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the Little Rock Marathon! We love our runners!! We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hospitable staff and the excellent breakfast. I apologize for the lackluster response for your wifi troubles; thank you for your patience and for contacting a manager to assist with the issue. Although it is our hope we handle the issue the first time and never require someone to contact us twice, we thank you for giving us a second chance to correct the problem. Indeed we are receiving our renovation in November. We had our first design meeting just days ago and are excited for the updates to come! We hope you'll be back next year for the Little Rock Marathon (or sooner!) to see and experience the new changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Address: 521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Little Rock
#14 Business Hotel in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Little Rock Downtown Hotel Little Rock
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.