We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 56 hotels in Little Rock
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice clean hotel in a great location. Within easy walking distance from good restaurants. You do have to park in a public parking garage behind the hotel. $8/day. Not bad for a downtown hotel. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Little Rock, and thank you for your positive comments. We are glad our location fit your needs and provided entertainment within walking distance. We look forward to the opportunity to serve your during your next visit to Little Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    50
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
41
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

In Little Rock for the marathon, my criteria for a hotel centered around two areas – proximity to the race and clean, quiet accommodation. The Courtyard delivered on both elements. The marathon started right outside the hotel lobby, so the location could not have been more convenient.

The room featured older generation Courtyard furnishings – blue carpet, yellow walls – and a few updated pieces, specifically the pull-out work station and a flat screen television. The room also had a sleeper sofa and a refrigerator which was handy to store beverages.

While the room was clean, the furnishings are starting to show wear and tear. The wood was chipped in several places. The lamp above the coffee bar was not working. The desk was dusty, and the headboard looked to have some type of grease stain. The latter was nothing a few sanitary wipes couldn’t fix, but it still exposes an aging room. I should note that the lamp was the exception rather than the rule. Everything else was fully operational.

The bathroom was also clean. Another positive was that the shower pressure was just right, and I could easily adjust the water temperature.

Outside of the room, the hallway was bitterly cold. It seemed like a cold front moved through the hallway but had yet to reach the guest rooms. On the positive side, it discouraged fellow guests from lingering near the elevator and my room.

Parking was $8 in a public parking garage adjacent to the hotel. There is an outdoor path to the garage but not an enclosed walkway. The hotel is walking distance to Little Rock’s main attractions – River Market district and the Clinton Presidential Library.

In summary, the the hotel delivered on the two aspects that mattered most – convenient location and clean room.

Pros: Downtown location, typical Courtyard rooms

Cons: Older generation furnishings starting to show wear and tear

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Downtown Little Rock for your stay during the Little Rock Marathon. We are fortunate to have a location just steps from the starting line for the marathon and know how valuable that is for runners of the marathon. We are thrilled your needs were met at our property. We appreciate you feedback and understand there are features showing our hotel is approaching 9 years of operation. Although we are approaching our renovation (November can't come soon enough!), we have a duty to provide and maintain rooms to the best of our ability. Your feedback is valuable as I will share this information with the maintenance and housekeeping team and we can use it to improve our rooms. We hope for the opportunity to serve you next year during the Little Rock Marathon (and sooner, of course!), which will also be after our renovation! Again, thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This location was perfect for the LR marathon/downtown restaurants and Clinton library. The marathon starts in front of the hotel and finishes only a few steps away. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff were very hospitable! The hotel staff were very good except one guy who was not very responsive when I called about spotty wifi coverage. He said he was going to check on it but never called back. I called back and asked for the manager who was very responsive! I am giving it 3 stars because the wallpaper and plaster on the ceiling in the bathroom were peeling. I understand the hotel will be renovated in November so hopefully these issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the Little Rock Marathon! We love our runners!! We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hospitable staff and the excellent breakfast. I apologize for the lackluster response for your wifi troubles; thank you for your patience and for contacting a manager to assist with the issue. Although it is our hope we handle the issue the first time and never require someone to contact us twice, we thank you for giving us a second chance to correct the problem. Indeed we are receiving our renovation in November. We had our first design meeting just days ago and are excited for the updates to come! We hope you'll be back next year for the Little Rock Marathon (or sooner!) to see and experience the new changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacenter, Ky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Oh my, what a wonderful weekend I have had in Little Rock, mostly because of the kind and caring services of The Courtyard By Marriott Downtown Little Rock! The staff was warm and welcoming, the rooms were clean and the beds, oh so comfy!!
I also had the best breakfast in their cafe, from scrambled eggs to biscuits and gravy or a specially prepared omelette. Hot coffee, juice, THE WORKS!!!!! For diet constrictions thy had a great selection of foods to choose from as well. If you walked away hungry, it was your fault!!
I also had a Pizza prepared in the evening for so I didn't have to go out..
The staff was knowlegable about all the sites and trolley schedules and events happening.
I had a fantastic stay there and I think you would too! KUDOS to The Courtyard By marriott Downtown Little Rock, hey guys, you ROCK!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: they are all good rooms but the 6th floor has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Downtown Little Rock! We LOVE to hear your enthusiastic and kind words regarding our property and staff! We work hard and continuously train our staff to provide a warm welcome which makes a person feel at home and at ease; we are thankful this was your experience. We will make sure to share your feedback with the restaurant staff at the Courtyard Cafe and tell them to keep the good food coming! Each Friday we have a meeting with the entire staff and I am going to share your review with them so they will know firsthand how their actions impact a person's stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your positive feedback! We hope for the opportunity to serve you the next time you visit Little Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

my hubby and I stayed here for the week end for a "get a way". the staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about surrounding area and entertainment. We were out pretty late and when we came in hungry there was a small kitchen area that we got food and drinks she added it to our room with no hassle and the room was very clean, halls were clean and quiet. We loved our stay and will definitely go back! already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: all rooms are non smoking!! wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit! We are thrilled you had a wonderful experience and that staff members were able to provide helpful tips for you and your husband enjoy a great weekend in downtown Little Rock. Visiting our 24 hour market is a great way to end the evening for a snack or meal - we're glad it fit your needs and was easily added to your room folio. Thank you for your kind words regarding the clean and quiet guest room and hallways. We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to serving you during your next visit to Little Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you want to be close to the Clinton Library, then this is the place. It was just out our window about 200 yards down the street, a very easy stroll. There are cheaper places, some which may include a meal but this is the closest. The people were very friendly at the desk, the room was clean and quiet. Parking was an additional fee and around the corner but once you were here and situated you could really walk to anything you needed in the area. We only had to drive to and from a wedding we were attending.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, and those facing east see the Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property while visiting the downtown Little Rock area. We appreciate your positive comments about our location, friendly staff, and the clean and quiet rooms! We hope to host you next time you're back in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the Courtyard on business this week. I would really rate this somewhere between three and four circles but that option doesn't exist.

My initial room reeked of smoke and looked like it had some sort of humidifier in it...went right back down to the desk and asked for a room change, which was granted quickly. No issues at all with the change.

Beds could have been more comfortable, but the rest of the room was nice enough. Close proximity to restaurants, River Market and the Clinton Museum.

Room Tip: Avoid 320 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your recent visit to Little Rock. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for our cleaning error upon checking you into a room with an unpleasant odor. As with all Courtyards nationwide, we are a non-smoking hotel and apologize for this odor in the first room you were checked into. It is our responsibility to assist with any concerns or issues as soon as they are reported. Thank you for bringing the odor to our attention so we could provide a different room for you and correct the problem before additional guests were affected. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again during your next visit to Little Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Address: 521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Little Rock Downtown Hotel Little Rock
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Little Rock Courtyard
Little Rock Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.