We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, quick attention to issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent, quick attention to issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the Courtyard on business this week. I would really rate this somewhere between three and four circles but that option doesn't exist.

My initial room reeked of smoke and looked like it had some sort of humidifier in it...went right back down to the desk and asked for a room change, which was granted quickly. No issues at all with the change.

Beds could have been more comfortable, but the rest of the room was nice enough. Close proximity to restaurants, River Market and the Clinton Museum.

Room Tip: Avoid 320 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your recent visit to Little Rock. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for our cleaning error upon checking you into a room with an unpleasant odor. As with all Courtyards nationwide, we are a non-smoking hotel and apologize for this odor in the first room you were checked into. It is our responsibility to assist with any concerns or issues as soon as they are reported. Thank you for bringing the odor to our attention so we could provide a different room for you and correct the problem before additional guests were affected. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again during your next visit to Little Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
54
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from a two nite stay, 1/4/13 to 1/6/13 at Courtyard Little Rock. I found the staff very helpful and very attractive lobby and convenient location. We asked for a room away from the street and it was very clean and quiet. It is very close to the trolley line, which offers .50 or $1.00 ride to many attractions, including the Clinton Library. The breakfast buffet was fresh and food selection quite good. I would say the breakfast at Ashley's in the Capitol Hotel is very well worth a visit. The food is artfully presented and all home made, even the yogurt and granola. Top notch breakfast and reasonably priced. A very nice visit. Would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your recent visit to the downtown Little Rock area. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, our property and the location. We hope to have you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and son and I stayed here Christmas night due to a power outage at our house. Room was very good sized, with two queen beds and a decent sized sitting area with a sofa and club chair. Good selection of stations on the TV. Very good breakfast buffet. Only criticism of the room is that the wallpaper in the bathroom was coming loose at the seams in several spots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your time of need. We were lucky to maintain power throughout the week of Christmas despite of the conditions. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.
On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to apologize for condition of the wallpaper in the bathroom. We are currently working to repair wallpaper in guest bathrooms as this has been an issue in a number of rooms. Unfortunately the process is a long one, as we are only able to repair one room a week. Additionally, we are expecting a complete renovation at the end of this year, as we are approaching our ninth year of operation.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. Hotel workers were very helpful in making sure our room was setup witht the package I purchased. We enjoyed the jacuzzi suite along with a wonderful dinner from Boscos. The breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe was great the enxt morning. We will defintiely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your special time - and happy anniversary! We are thrilled you chose to spend your evening with us and are glad we could play a small part in making the evening a memorable one! Thank you for your kind and supportive comments regarding our property. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodhpur
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed 3 nichets in the hôtel. Rooms have a hold intérior style but clean. There is no free park available. Breakfast buffet is also average. Coffee And orange juice are just horrible. Nevertheless employees are nice. I have not tried fitness center And the restaurant. Wifi is free And very convenient

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. It is our intention to provide a delicious buffet breakfast with options for everyone. I apologize our coffee and juice were unsatisfactory. The coffee and juice provided are Courtyard's brand standard and although we are unable to change the types of brands we carry, we are open to suggestions for ways to improve our offerings and expand our selection. If there are any specific requests that may make our breakfast offerings more appealing, please contact me.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our free wireless internet and our convenient location. We hope you'll choose to stay with us during your next visit to Little Rock!

Kristen Hinson
PH (501) 975-9800
kristen.hinson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, Ca.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. Based on trip advisor reviews I knew this hotel needed some work and it does! I've stayed at many Courtyards and I'm a Marriott Rewards member. This one was disappointing I'm afraid.

It is well located near the Clinton Presidential Library and near the River Walk and some nice restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

The room was rather shabby--wallpaper was peeling, the couch was faded and the curtains were grey. It looked as if it could use a thorough cleaning and renovation.

The bathroom was the real disappointment. It also needs renovation and better cleaning. Tile is coming off the walls, wall paper is peeling. I used antiseptic wipes to wash the fingerprints off the bathroom door. I also washed the countertop and sink with antiseptic wipes. Thankfully the towels were clean and fresh!

I didn't really notice any of this until the evening and by then we were too tired to switch rooms or go somewhere else. The bedding was clean, the bed was comfortable and the wifi worked. We only stayed one night. I would not have stayed for another night.

Having the garage around the corner isn't too terrible as there is a walkway to the hotel. Although the walkway is covered it appears to be more for sun than rain. It was raining rather hard when we returned in the evening and without our umbrella we would have gotten drenched! If renovation is in the future I'd suggest a covered, well lit walkway from the garage as well as more space to unload luggage (there is only 1 space out front.)


Other people sounded like they had a better experience. This could be a really nice place with some updating and attention to detail. Maybe my experience was an aberration but I have to report what happened.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for electing to stay with us during your visit to downtown Little Rock. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments as we will use them to better our property. I apologize for the condition of the guest room and bathroom. We will undergo renovation of our entire property in November 2013. The renovation will replace the curtains, carpet, couches/sitting chairs, and bedding in each guest room along with the wallpaper in the bathrooms. We are working to repair the bathroom wallpaper, although it is a timely task as we are able to repair only one room per week. In the meantime, we do have control over the cleanliness of the bathroom, as you reported was unsatisfactory. It is never our intention for you to feel the need to clean after our housekeeping staff once you're checked into your room, and I apologize you felt this way. We are working closely with our housekeeping staff to monitor cleanliness.
I am sorry the overhang from the parking garage to the back entrance of the hotel was insufficient during incliment weather. Unfortunately we are unable to close in the walkway as it is not phsically part of our building.
Again, thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our property. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again with a more positive experience. Should you wish to discuss any further details, you may contact me at (501) 975-9800 or via email at kristen.hinson@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although I wouldn't say it was picturesque --- the courtyard itself is lovely, and the people there are quite nice and helpful. The room was typical Courtyard - but a nice large size. Next door is a great fish restaurant, and a fun pub with live music. It's walkable to several bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property! We thank you for your kind feedback and positive comments regarding our location and nice, large guest rooms. Flying Fish, the restaurant you referred to, is a local favorite and we enjoy being right next door! We are glad your needs were met during your visit, and we hope you'll choose to stay with us next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown

Address: 521 President Clinton Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201
Location: United States > Arkansas > Little Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Little Rock
#15 Business Hotel in Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Little Rock Downtown Hotel Little Rock
Courtyard Little Rock Downtown
Little Rock Marriott
Little Rock Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Little Rock Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.