We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Cow

Purple Cow
8026 Cantrell Road, Little Rock, AR 72227
501-221-3555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 702 Restaurants in Little Rock
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Diner
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family fave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A no-fail choice for families. Kid friendly restaurant with a menu with enough choices for everyone. (They even have "adult" milkshakes!) The turkey burger is my favorite and also the Santa Fe Salad.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Michelle S:

Thank you for your feedback of Purple Cow on your recent visit. I am glad that you enjoy our turkey burger and Santa Fe Salad. We have a new Drink and Dessert Menu coming soon so be on the lookout for our new Adult Shakes we have come up with. We hope to see you again at Purple Cow soon.

Thanks
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryant, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ah..typical fare and good average place..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong the food is good, with a good selection! I will eat here again and have several times, but it's kind of overpriced and very crowded..
I know that sounds very contradictory but I post just my straight up opinion!

Good food good place, very kid friendly but a bit overpriced and crowded

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Ritchie

Thank you for your feedback regarding Purple Cow. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our food and selection. I am sorry that the overcrowding makes it a bit uncomfortable. As for the food being overpriced, we strive to be a great value for our consumers and have not raised our prices in recent years even though commodity prices have continued to rise year over year. We certainly value your opinion. We will continue to evaluate our menu prices and strive to deliver a great value to each and every guest. Thank you for your feedback.

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Throwback to the 50's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great burgers, fries, shakes & purple vanilla ice cream! Great for a fun date night or even a fun family night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Kyle J:

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments about Purple Cow on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our GM Jeremy and his entire team. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Little Rock.

Thanks
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than Burgers & Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were attracted by the optional shot they would add to their shakes - and the fun, quirkiness of "Purple Cow"-ness. The salad was generous & excellent if you're eating healthy. The burger was up to the standards of great burger joints. I upgraded to the sweet potatoe fries - YESSS! They were awesome! I also had to get the shake since that's what attracted us. HUGE & WONDERFUL it was! It was so huge, that the shot was hardly noticeable. Not really needed as the shakes are great, but if you really want it special, ask for a double shot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Schmikeee:

Thank you for taking the time write a great review about Purple Cow. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our entire Cantrell team. We look forward to seeing you at Purple Cow again soon.

Thanks
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A Typical Hamburger joint.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good food as far as it goes, but there are no healthy choices for those who should not eat high cholesterol foods.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello LSUTIGER38:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Purple Cow on your recent visit. We are so happy that you chose us on your trip to Little Rock from Shreveport. I want to take the opportunity to let you know about some of our heart healthy options for those watching their cholesterol. We have a selection of Salads such as our Berry Salad (minus the cheese) and Santa Fe Salad (minus the tortilla strips and cheese). We also have a Portabella Mushroom Sandwich, Grilled Turkey Sandwich, Grilled Turkey Lite Rueben and our Famous, Homemade South of the Border soup (minus the tortilla strips and cheese).

We sure hope you give us another try. Please don't hesitate to ask for a manager for help in selecting a Heart Healthy menu item or tailoring any of our items to meet your dietary needs.

Thank you
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cow also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.