We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un-necessarily Boring With Less Than Helpful Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Arkansas Museum

Historic Arkansas Museum
200 E. Third Street, Little Rock, AR 72201
501-324-9351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 things to do in Little Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recalling Arkansas' frontier days with restored pre-Civil War houses plus a museum center featuring full-scale galleries, interactive exhibits and more.
Conway, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Un-necessarily Boring With Less Than Helpful Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Arkansas' state oriented attractions sometimes feel like they were hodge podged together and that they aren't developed enough. This place definitely seems that way. They staff seemed more than bored, and the material was presented in an extremely boring way. I realize that history can be dry at times, but employ a few artists and make the place a little more creative for gosh sakes.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this site.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Again a very good smaller museum. The site includes houses and out buildings from the early 1800s that were in fact ont he site in the early 1800s. Very informative displays inside the Museum propers. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting History Lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The tour starts out with a short film. The you can take a tour of the old houses in Arkansas and browse the exhibits. The tour guide we had was very knowledgeable and answered our questions. Very interesting history lesson.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“A surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I wandered into the Historic Arkansas Museum on a day when it was 108 degrees. Fortunately, the outside structures were all air conditioned and our docent guide did a good job of explaining the history of the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I prefer my museums packed to the gills with artifacts, but this is a pretty interesting collection. My kids enjoyed the choose-your-own-adventure style computer game "Escape to Freedom" in the Sturgis Children's Gallery. Best of all, admission is free!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Arkansas Museum also viewed

 

Been to Historic Arkansas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Arkansas Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.