We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home. Lovely venue for large scale entertainment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arkansas Governor's Mansion

Arkansas Governor's Mansion
1800 Center Street, Little Rock, AR 72206
501-376-6884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Attractions in Little Rock
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The stately home of the sitting Arkansas governor is not open to the public. Visitors can catch a glimpse of the mansion's most illustrious former resident - there's a bust of Bill Clinton inside the front gates.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful home. Lovely venue for large scale entertainment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been to several events at the Governor's Mansion. The catering is always delicious and the service impeccable. The home itself is very lovely and the renovations were done with the utmost care. The grounds are beautiful and it is always a special treat to attend an event here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great Hall is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. The staff makes you feel welcome. Love to attend functions there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Place to Be for a Special Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Arkansas Governor's Mansion serves up great food for special fund-raising events. The staff is great to work with and the surroundings are surreal. If you want an event with class, this is the place to have it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Not the best part of town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The mansion is on a street with about two blocks of beautiful house. After that the neighborhood is suspect. Would not suggest you walk around the neighborhood. The mansion has a tall black fence around it so it looks pretty safe in this part of town.I have visited many governors houses and have never seem a governors house in such a poor neighborhood.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Late Night Carriage Ride Turned Proposal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My FIANCE' PROPOSED TO ME IN FRONT OF THE GOVERNOR'S MANSION!

The proposal took place about 845 pm during a horse-drawn carriage ride around the Historical District. As we approached the grounds, we were in awe of all the gorgeous Victorian-style homes in the area. When we arrived at the gates, the guards noticed us wanting to take a picture and kindly cut the spotlight on. Little did I know, our picture in front of the mansion turned into our carriage driver getting my Fiance' singing a snippet of Whitney Houston's "I Believe in You and Me" and dropping on one knee all on video! <BIG SIGH + GRIN> The moment was capped off by the guard's sending a great "Congratulations" over the intercom! Absolutely priceless! Thank you for allowing us the moment ;).

We will NEVER forget the visit! The next time we come to Little Rock, we must incorporate a tour of the grounds!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas Governor's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkansas Governor's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.