We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Part of our Civil Rights History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site

Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site
2120 W. Dasy Gatson Bates Dr., Little Rock, AR 72202
501-374-1957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 attractions in Little Rock
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Across the street from Central High and dedicated to understanding the fight for desegregation in Arkansas, the museum focuses on the 1957 battle in which the "Little Rock nine" faced angry mobs trying to prevent them from becoming Central's first black students.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
202 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Interesting Part of our Civil Rights History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Worth an hour or two to understand this part of our civil rights history. Easy to understand presentation of what happened and why.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    39
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A part of my 'Civil Rights Tour." I saw the school first and was impressed with it and the stadium to the rear.
The Visitor Center is good and well laid out. A A group of engaged students were on hand so it was a little crowded until they left for a tour of the operating school.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must see in Little Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family of five and my best friend's family of five visited Little Rock in March of 2013. We saw the reviews regarding the Central High Museum and Visitor Center and had to stop. I am so glad that we did! When you stand in the museum, looking out the large window at the high school in the background, and view what was going on via the pictures and video it is truly an amazing experience. You feel transported back in time. The fact that the "Little Rock Nine" were the same age as three of our children, and were experiencing the kind of hate those students did at that time, only touched our hearts more. The experience of the museum is very simple but has a high impact. All six of our children enjoyed the museum and were in awe of how big and beautiful the high school is. We were able to walk up and take pictures from the outside but had to be mindful that school was in session. If you are in Little Rock, you must stop in and experience this great bit of US history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossett
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good but a little tearful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

so sad how the group of people had to endure so much but all and all very happy for the end result. History have always been a mean of learning about people and their struggles but to see ti all come together for the best for everyone is forgiving and amazing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good to be reminded of our history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A must see if you are in Little Rock. The walking tour was phenomenal. It was great that the park service had the option of using the auditorium for the majority of the presentation in the early spring cold. We arrived mid-day during a regular school day at Central High. It was interesting to hear about the history that unfolded within these very walls while we watched the current student body go about their day. As we headed out we couldn’t help but smirk at the “anti-bulling” policy that was posted on the wall…how ironic!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site to your Saves list