We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had on our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lupita's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lupita's Mexican Restaurant
2052 W Cross Hollow Road, Cedar City, UT 84720
435-867-0945
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Cedar City
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Deltona, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food we had on our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When you first enter the restaurant you get the feeling that it's going to be pretty authentic. Our waiter was extremely nice and made some suggestions about what to do while we were in the area. The food was fabulous! It was probably the best Mexican food I've had in a long time. We ended our vacation in Las Vegas and the food at Lupita's was on par with much of what we ate there. The portions were big and the price was quite reasonable. The salsa bar was interesting as we hadn't tasted many of the types they had. Most were pretty hot but the mango salsa was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The asada enchiladas were very good as were the crispy chicken tacos. Limited English speaking skills but everyone got through it.

Only negative was that they had a small female child taking orders (even for wine!). That is against the law in California, not sure about Utah, but it should be right?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Time and Again: Excellent, Authentic and Genuine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lupita's is not just the best Mexican restaurant in Cedar City, it's the best restaurant in town, hands down. In truth, it may be the best Mexican restaurant you've ever visited. It's close to that for us, and we've eaten in some of the best from New Mexico to Quintana Roo, from New York to El Paso. Granted, it's odd to have a warm, home-made, authentic recipe, Mexican wait-staffed spot in this small, Mormon-predominant, often cowboy-esque, yet gentle town, but it's here sure enough. Each dish is a delight, from the hand-crafted and gently fried taco shells to the complex tomatilla sauce surrounding perfectly cooked carnitas to the "salsa and beans bar" -- open to each guest -- where one can sample a blisteringly smooth avocado dip, or authentic pico de gallo, or a sweet mole sauce, or beans that melt in your mouth in shades of red, black and norte... The men and women who work there are the kind of happy and gentle people you want to take home to Mom. They're as authentic and warm as the recipes. Wonderful in every way, and tucked into Cedar City. Who'd've guessed? Worth the drive from wherever you are. Say hello to the beautiful Cloudia and Loreena.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Cedar City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

They simply have the best Mexican food in Cedar City. It is very authentic and the prices are very reasonable. We went on a Saturday evening about 5:30 P.M. The restaurant was very busy but the service was very fast and good. Love the salsa and bean bar. We try and eat there every time we are in Cedar City.



Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value; good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently visited Lupita's on our way back from Cedar Breaks to Las Vegas. The hotel concierge recommended the restaurant for its food, value and location. We had ordered entrees that fed the two of us for two evenings and we both thought the quality was good. Service was a bit slow but since we were on vacation, it didn't matter much to us since we were not in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupita's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lupita's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupita's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.