We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been awesome but was really really cold..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Save Saved
You added The Iron Gate Inn and Winery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could have been awesome but was really really cold..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just returned from staying at the Iron Gate Inn -- our second time there. The location is perfect, the rooms are charming, the host and hostess are great, but we froze the whole time were there. Not just chilly, but bone-chilling cold. I'm not sure why -- there was just never any heat on. And breakfast was a disappointment-- small squares of a lukewarm egg dish, some microwave bacon, overly sweet little pastry things. And some cantaloupe. I'm sorry to say I'll be looking for a new place to stay in Cedar City. It was cold when we were there last year as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room --
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We only wish that you had alerted us to your discomfort while you were here, as we would have made every attempt to rectify it immediately. There is an additional convection heater that is installed in the room you selected, but we apologize for not making sure you knew that is was there for your use. Although it is difficult, even painful, to hear that we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate and take seriously your comments as it will help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
62
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This beautiful old building has been lovingly restored and beautifully decorated.

I was given LucyBelle, named for the owners's grandmother who was a bit of a firecracker!

It's a lovely room with a large bed and delicate writing desk, I had to carefully use for my work.

The bed, pillows and bedding were good. The shower, towels and toiletries were also good.

There's no microwave, fridge or coffee maker, TV or iPod dock in the room.

There's lots of communal space to sit and read or watch TV as there isn't one in the room.

Onsite parking is free but limited.

Breakfast was a standout.

This was a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are from the UK - and stayed at The Iron Gate for two nights after re-routing due to the shutdown. The double room we stayed in was large, really well equipped - and comfortable.
What's the best thing about Iron Gate? The ambience : Susan and CL were great hosts - very relaxed, lots of local knowledge, and generally lovely to be around. R&J

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay if seeing a play at the Shakespeare Festival, as it's only one block to walk to the theaters. If you like antiques, but you are tired of frilly rooms that are too crowded and stuffy, this is the place for you. Every room is different. Ours had a door out to the front veranda.
Owners are friendly and hospitable. The very best thing about this place is that every morning they join their guests for a delightful roundtable of conversation, and they make the effort to see that everyone is included.
Only minus is that there is no TV available, either in the rooms or the several common areas.

Room Tip: Go directly to their own website to look at pictures of each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCity_UTWiz, Owner at The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much the wonderful comments and your kindness. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and hope you can be with us again very soon. I am so sorry we didn't communicate to you that we do indeed have flatscreen TVs for our guests and will add them to any room upon request. Because of your comment we have decided to place a special note in each room (instead of just on our website) letting guests like yourself who might want a TV/DVD that they are available. Thank you again for your very considerate comment so we can better serve our fabulous guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The owners could not have been nicer. The proximity to the Utah Shakespeare Festival was very convenient. The wine and lemonade served in the afternoon in the garden was delightful, as were the bedtime sweeties. The breakfast was expertly prepared and delicious. The rooms were very attractive, as well as quiet and comfortable. Not only do I have no complaints about the Irongate Inn, but I would recommend it to any savvy traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Once again we elected to stay at the Iron Gate and were indeed delighted with our experience as usual. Susan and CR are the epitome of gracious hosts. The atmosphere and accommodations are superior.

Breakfast was delicious and on time. Conversation was lively and far ranging. Although all were in the same lodging but separate quarters, no sound or event or person disturbed our privacy and space.

And ... once again we will make this our preferred stop in the future.

Wayne & Deb Wickizer wwickizer@gmail.com

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely place to stay. I invited friends and they were also very pleased with my selection. Susan and CR are very pleasant and welcoming. Definitely on the list for a return visit. Having the winery on site is a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of the 1897 Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 10 exceptional rooms w/private baths and cottages w/kitchens. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.