We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Iron Gate Inn and Winery to your Saves list
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

We are just finishing up our stay at the 1897 Iron Gate Bed and Breakfast. I am typing this from the comfort of the king size bed in the room named the "Joy Darlene". All the rooms are named after the owners grand mothers. What a great experience and a wonderful room. Everything has been 5 stars from the moment we called and spoke to Susan, our host, to the tour of the premisis, her assistance with dinner reservations and information about the Utah Shakespeare Festival. The bed was very comfortable, the 3 headed shower was a pleasant surprise(make sure the large middle head is facing down before you turn it on!) and our breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
76
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I recently stayed at the 1897 Iron Gate Inn with my mother and daughter. The innkeepers, Sue and CR, were a such a pleasure! This B&B is beautifully decorated and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. My daughter has Celiac Disease (no gluten) and Sue was able to provide her with a great gluten free breakfast. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The Iron Gate Inn is simply a jewel. The rooms are spotless,beautiful, roomy and comfortable. The proprietors are gracious and hospitable. Breakfast on the patio outside was a real treat. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, NV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Warm hospitality tops the list of why we've been staying here for 10 summers and falls. Delicious breakfasts, clean & quiet accommodations, walking distance to Shakespeare Festival venues. Love the outdoor patio and beautiful feline, PJ.

Room Tip: If you love a bathtub & don't need a queen bed, the Ruby G is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We drove out from Colorado to stay here for our anniversary and to enjoy the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We loved this place! The hosts were fun and talkative and very considerate in that they accommodated our vegetarian preferences. The rooms were clean and well decorated and we didn't hear any other guests, though we know the place was full. You can walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival from the inn. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved being able to eat outside in their lovely garden. Thanks for such a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

What a nice way to relax during a recent work trip. The parlor room was beautifully decorated as was our room and the entire inn. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the coolness of the outdoor patio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very large room, gracious hosts, afternoon wine on the patio, lovely garden, fine breakfast on the patio the next morning, tea and coffee available all day in the dining room. Make sure you drive on Route 14 heading east from Cedar City through Dixie National Forest, an unbelievably beautiful drive, en route to Bryce Canyon National Park.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of the 1897 Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 10 exceptional rooms w/private baths and cottages w/kitchens. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.