We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Iron Gate Inn and Winery to your Saves list
The Iron Gate Inn and Winery
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We drove out from Colorado to stay here for our anniversary and to enjoy the Utah Shakespeare Festival. We loved this place! The hosts were fun and talkative and very considerate in that they accommodated our vegetarian preferences. The rooms were clean and well decorated and we didn't hear any other guests, though we know the place was full. You can walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival from the inn. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved being able to eat outside in their lovely garden. Thanks for such a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
76
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

What a nice way to relax during a recent work trip. The parlor room was beautifully decorated as was our room and the entire inn. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the coolness of the outdoor patio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very large room, gracious hosts, afternoon wine on the patio, lovely garden, fine breakfast on the patio the next morning, tea and coffee available all day in the dining room. Make sure you drive on Route 14 heading east from Cedar City through Dixie National Forest, an unbelievably beautiful drive, en route to Bryce Canyon National Park.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Breakfasts were superb, the hosts chatty, and the proximity to the theater venues were ideal.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner on the phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This inn looked charming over the Internet and proved to be just that. The proprietors were welcoming: for example, they accommodated our request for early check-in, and they provided a delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The absence of a television made the atmosphere more relaxing. If there was one negative to be mentioned, it was that the inn was so quiet overnight that we were not sure what level of sound in our room would be bothersome. But we highly recommend this inn for visitors to the Utah Shakespeare Festival or anyone passing through Cedar City.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

If you are planning a trip to the Cedar City, Utah area for the Shakespeare Festival or to tour the parks, you should plan to stay at the Iron Gate Inn. Susan and CR have lived i Cedar City for years and know the area inside and out. They are involved in with the Shakespeare Festival and often have directors, actors and others staying with them who can discuss the shows with you. The roms are spacious and comfortable and breakfast is great. We always eat out on the beutiful patio. Its also a great place to relax during the day. Susan and CR are fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Lovely B&B within two blocks of the Cedar City Shakespeare Festival. From a cold drink (raspberry lemonade or a cool glass of wine) upon arrival, the hosts make you feel like family. They'll book your dinner reservations, and make theater recommendations. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with attached baths. A cozy, comfortable and relaxing home away from home and an outstanding festival all in one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Carolyn June has 2 queen beds and jetted tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Iron Gate Inn and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Gate Inn and Winery

Address: 100 N 200 West Street, Cedar City, UT 84720 (Formerly 1897 Iron Gate Inn B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Iron Gate Inn and Winery 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the casual elegance of the 1897 Iron Gate Inn! Not cluttered or too frilly, we offer 10 exceptional rooms w/private baths and cottages w/kitchens. Gourmet breakfast is served indoors or on the outdoor terrace. The Inn features award-winning gardens in which to relax and sip a complimentary glass of wine or lemonade. Walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival; centrally located between Zion, Bryce Canyon, Brian Head skiing and all of S Utah. WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Iron Gate Inn and Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Gate Inn And Winery Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Iron Gate Inn and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.