We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The La Quinta in St. George is a Better Deal for Dogs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cedar City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cedar City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1555 South Old Highway 91, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cedar City
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The La Quinta in St. George is a Better Deal for Dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express is your typical HIE. No more, no less. The room was clean but small. The La AQuinta which is only about 50 miles away in St. George has bigger rooms, better work area, no charge for pets, a better pool (out door), etc. Both places had very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear OjaiJohn,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    79
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
73
72
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good average hotel. NIce beds and complete complimentary breakfast. On the down side, the hotel can be noisy. The walls and floors are not especially quiet. They are adequate on a normal use day, but one night a large group oh high schoolers arrived and the sounds just traveled room to room. Also, the shower/ tubs are plastic. Very squeaky. Fortunately I'm an early riser, but fro someone seeking to sleep in- get the top floor. Otherwise you will be listening to the kids above you taking their shower.
NIce pool and Spa.. with the usual overdose of Chlorine.

Room Tip: top floor, Avoid listing to everyone's kids (remember this is Utah) stomping around the room abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear TheCaDean,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We really like Holiday Inn Express hotels until we checked into the Cedar City one. We always ask for a third floor room where a dog has not been allowed to stay due to my husband's allergies. The room was great but there were so many dogs staying there. And apparently, the occupants of the room below us left their dog in the hotel room while they went out to eat or whatever and that dog, stuck in a strange room alone, kept barking. The hotel staff was very understanding when we checked out of that room and moved to the hotel next door. That's when we found out that this hotel is the only one in the area that allows pets. Not all Holiday Inn Express hotels are that lenient with pets but we now know to check before we book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Karen W,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express with everything you need for a good night's stay. It's on the edge of town, but the town really isn't very big. The breakfast is the usual with fresh cinnamon rolls. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for two days whilst touring Bryce Canyon, Zions National Park etc. Location of the hotel is ideal for this.
Hotel is conveniently located just of the Interstate at the Southern end of Cedar city but you do no notice any noise from the Interstate.
Rooms are okay and the beds are very comfortable. Sleep quality was good but the walls are not very thick and if you have noisy neighbours then it could be a problem.
Wireless is free and works very well with no speed issues.
The hotel has a restaurant that opens mostly for breakfast which is included with the room rate.
Breakfast is ok but somewhat basic. You would not drive out of your way here to get breakfast but it is edible.
Staff are reasonably helpful but again you do not come to a Holiday Inn Express for the last word in customer service.
Overall a two day stay was ok and if I was in the area again or recommending a hotel in this area, I would recommend here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Easy to find, but not so close to the Interstate that noise was a problem (we had a room overlooking the freeway). The reception staff were efficient - they knew how to deal with the voucher we presented unlike some more prestigious chain hotels. Check in included an explanation of what was available in the hotel and where the nearest eating places were. They had rune out of maps, so gave us a photo copy and said they would help if we needed any more details. Our room was clean and gave us plenty of space. Bathroom good too. People were complaining that the lift was slow, but we were on the second floor and there were perfectly adequate sets of stairs available. Breakfast was in a pleasant light room with enough space. There was a good choice. The only problem for us was that we couldn't walk out easily to local restaurants and needed to take the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although this is not our first stay in Cedar City, UT, it is our first at the Holiday Inn Express.
The front desk staff were perfect. Friendly, courteous, WELL DRESSED and extremely well trained.
The room was clean, extremely well laid out. The bed was almost as good as sleeping at home.
If there was one issue, it was that our GPS directed us to a field about 18 miles from the motel. The desk clerk said she hears that all the time. Something the owners or Holiday Inn should address. Having ran into that before, I did get the hotels exact location and will be emailing it to the mapping company. Hopefully by the time you decide to stop there the maps will be corrected and your GPS will lead you right to the front door.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor so you don't hear stomping around in the room above you. Choose a location a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cedar City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cedar City

Address: 1555 South Old Highway 91, Cedar City, UT 84720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cedar City
#8 Family Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cedar City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, a new hotel located in Cedar City, Utah ,home to the world renowned Utah Shakespearean Festival. Located just off Interstate 15, you will have convenient access to Southern Utah University, Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, Brian Head Ski Resort, and Grand Canyon North Rim which are all just a short scenic drive away from our 100% smoke free property. Guests will enjoy our friendly staff, plush new bedding, luxurious bathroom amenities, and spacious upgraded suites. Experience culture at the Utah Shakespearean and Neil Simon Festivals. You can also feed your hunger for adventure with a wide variety of outdoor recreational activities including hiking, ATV trail riding, mountain biking, fishing, horseback riding, snow and water skiing.Cedar City offers many local services and attractions and we are certain you ll enjoy your stay with us in the Festival City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cedar City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City Hotel Cedar City
Holiday Inn Cedar City
Cedar City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cedar City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.