We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooked on B&B's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
16 North 200 West, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Hooked on B&B's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was my first stay in a B&B, but my 36th+ visit to the Festival. I will always stay in a B&B after this. The breakfasts, alone, were worth the cost. Additionally, it was within very easy walking distance to the Festival. The yard was gorgeous, cool, and tuneful with all the song birds! I have never stayed in a place so clean! I will definitely stay here again! - JJohnson

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
81
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I have stayed in many Bed & Breakfasts across the country and found The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast to be the most accommodating in every way. It was a pleasure to get acquainted with the other guests each morning while enjoying a fabulous breakfast. My room was beautiful. I looked in on two other rooms and am unable to decide which room to request next time. Location - Perfect! Five star all the way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

If you're looking for a great place to stay in CedarCity, UT, book
the Garden Cottage B&B. I recommend it on all fronts! Gary and Diana
are gracious hosts -- the food is yummy - rooms are spotless -- beds
are comfortable -- the garden is sweet -- and the location is great.
It is an easy walk to the Utah Shakespeare Festival.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This is a quaint romantic cottage. Right across the street from the Shakespearean festival. Close to quaint downtown shops and antique stores. And the breakfasts are always divine. Around the corner is the the Irish Pasty Pub, one of our favorite restaraunts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granville, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The morning glory room has a private entrance and is beautifully decorated. The food is delicious and the hostess is so welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I have stayed at the Garden Cottage three years now while attending the Shakespeare Festival. I absolutely love this place. When I walk in for the fist time, I instantly relax because I know that from the first moment of my stay to the last, every last detail is taken care of. And the food! I start daydreaming about the breakfasts months before my stay. I'v never had anything but the best. The rooms are clean and invite you to relax and feel at home.

Staying here is a luxurious delight. My summers wouldn't be the same without a visit to the Garden Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We've been here twice for the Shakespeare festival, and have thoroughly enjoyed both experiences. The Simkins are delightful and helpful hosts without being in your face. Our room, upstairs in front, was very attractive, though a bit cluttered.

Garden Cottage attracts guests who are intellectually stimulating. We were often in the enviable but difficult position of having to choose between continuing a lively breakfast discussion and attending a seminar discussing the previous evening's performance of Shakespeare or another play.

Cedar City itself is not the best place for food, the main exception being the full breakfasts at the Garden Cottage B&B, which were delicious and varied from day to day. Pastry Pub is great for lunch, and a less-than-two-minute walk from the B&B. Garden House restaurant (not to be confused with Garden Cottage) had good food in 2007, but by 2009 it had deteriorated immensely. There are a couple of steak houses on the way to Cedar Breaks. Their food is OK, but the red rocks en route at sunset should not be missed. We enjoyed the Mexican food in town -- especially at La Casa Don Miguel on South Main and Lupita's, which is opposite a Walmart at the south end of town. Try the coffee at "The Grind," again only a two-minute walk from "home."

Cedar City has two great swimming pools open to all -- an outdoor pool (with a waterslide!) and a large indoor pool suitable for swimming laps at the university. Try them both -- four or five blocks away.

And if you get bored with Shakespeare and enjoy hiking, try Cedar Breaks Nat'l Monument (half an hour east and almost a mile higher than Cedar City) or Kolob Canyons, a less-traveled section of Zion Nat'l Park (a half hour south). We went to both, but not because we were bored.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 North 200 West, Cedar City, UT 84720
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The past is beckoning you to come and enjoy a charming and romantic atmosphere in our enchanting and quaint English cottage surrounded by a lush, old-fashioned garden. A delicious full breakfast served on fine china each morning at 8:30, typical fare with savories and sweets is quiche, fresh fruit, home-baked breads, juice smoothies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and hot cider. Lovely antique Victorian furnishings, handmade vintage linens dripping with lace and embroidery welcome you to step back in time and enjoy the elegant and gracious pleasures of a bygone era.Our four antique-filled romantic bedchambers await you at the top of an inviting winding staircase. Diana ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.