We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
16 North 200 West, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Cedar City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The beautiful Bed and Breakfast is one of our favorite places for anyone attending any of the Shakespeare Festival plays. It is within a short walking distance. The campus is lovely to stroll through. Also, The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast is within a short walking distance of several great restaurants and a great wood-fired pizza restaurant that we went back to twice. Diana and Gary are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: The front Rose Room is very nice; however, it does not have a real shower, just a bathtub with a spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
81
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

For a Cedar City B & B we were very happy. It's on a quiet street just one block from the campus. A home that was converted to a B&B when the children all moved out. It was very quiet, only couples stayed in the house, and the only noise was in the morning the birds outside in the trees (and there were quite a few and very talkative). It was very clean which is of utmost importance to my wife. We had a lovely breakfast, not large all-you-can-eat type, but elaborate meals with china and crystal. The owners love antiques and nick nacks and these are everywhere. There was plenty of hot water for all the guests to shower and each room had it own bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and didn't sag. Our room only had a shower and my wife would have preferred to have a tub, but just make sure you specify that as some rooms apparently have tubs. The owners are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and are honest and do not smoke or drink. This is a no-smoking environments. (Yes if you drink coffee they serve that for breakfast along with hot cocoa and a fruit drink of some kind each morning - orange, cran-rasberry, fruit smoothie, etc. There is a lovely back yard that is surrounded by tall trees and is like a secret garden where we sat between performances for about an hour and talked, and took some photos.
The Disadvantages - We had a wood floor that was a bit older so the wood creaked an squeaked as we walked around. In addition, the rooms aren't that sound-proof so if one is talking normal-loud or being romantic (and likes making some noise) I believe they could be heard by others. There is even a warning posted in the rooms to notify guests of this issue. Not the best place for a honeymoon perhaps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Diane and Gary made our stay so comfortable. It was like stepping back in time. My husband and I had a wonderful time in the beautiful garden! We will definately be visiting the Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've stayed at many B&Bs and all have their own character. Some bigger, some warmer, some fancier, some exotic....there are B&Bs for everyone's taste. This one exemplifies our taste. If you like quaint, quiet, cozy, comfortable, antiques and atmosphere accompanied by pleasant, helpful, smiling hosts amidst absolute neatness & cleanliness than this is the place. It is far from expansive yet every room beckons you to enter the past, relax and enjoy...no pretenses or stuffiness found here. Grandma's house with all the decor & trimmings along with a nice flowerful yard where the sound of cheerful birds fills the air. We will definitely be back!! Thanks Gary & Diana for your hospitality and consideration.

Room Tip: Pick a room, according to the size that best suits you, and you will be sure to be pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Garden Cottage for one night on our return trip from the Arches to Las Vegas. We got the Rose room which was good size and had a comfortable bed. The owners, Diana and Gary, are truly wonderful hosts and we felt at home from the very first moment. In the morning, Diana and Gary served us a hearty and delicious breakfast. The omelet and muffin were absolutely fantastic. If you are tired of staying at cookie-cutter chain hotels you may want to try Garden Cottage instead. We would definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Garden Cottage is a great B&B with wonderful hosts. The bedrooms are large and beautifully furnished with antiques. Our room, the Rose Room, had an antique bath with claw feet and a bed that you needed a stool to get into as it was so high! The breakfasts were wonderful and certainly set us up for the day.
Cedar City is a great location to travel to Zion Kolob Canyons and Cedar Breaks which are two of the lesser known parks which makes them much quieter but no less spectacular.
Thanks for a great start to our vacation. We could certainly have stayed longer than the two nights we spent there.

Room Tip: Loved the Rose Room especially the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was super great. When you see the location it is really amazing and the people who run it are wonderful. The location is great if you are going to see anything at the Shakespearian festival you are right around the corner. you can walk over and see everything. The food was excellent and you can tell the owners love what they do.

Room Tip: I really dont think any of the rooms would be bad. They have done such a great job of making the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 North 200 West, Cedar City, UT 84720
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The past is beckoning you to come and enjoy a charming and romantic atmosphere in our enchanting and quaint English cottage surrounded by a lush, old-fashioned garden. A delicious full breakfast served on fine china each morning at 8:30, typical fare with savories and sweets is quiche, fresh fruit, home-baked breads, juice smoothies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and hot cider. Lovely antique Victorian furnishings, handmade vintage linens dripping with lace and embroidery welcome you to step back in time and enjoy the elegant and gracious pleasures of a bygone era.Our four antique-filled romantic bedchambers await you at the top of an inviting winding staircase. Diana ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Cottage Bed And Breakfast Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.