We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and plain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cedar City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Cedar City to your Saves list
Motel 6 Cedar City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1620 West 200 North, Exit # 57, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Cedar City
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“clean and plain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice place, absolutely nothing wrong with this motel, its just very simple. the rooms dont really have any art or anything just a little bed. I think it was an old hospital or something because there are hand rails everywhere and it just has that old hospital or nursing home feel. very friendly staff, they were great.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

It was clean, comfortable, and cheap. I had a great stay. I got some great advice from the gentleman at the front desk on a scenic route to Zion. Also visited Bryce while I was staying there. Nice spot to stay, in the middle of the two great National Parks.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Vanessa H.,

Thank you for choosing Motel 6 in Cedar City. I'm glad you found it to be clean, comfortable, and a great stay! It's so nice to be able to take the scenic route and sounds like you enjoyed both the National Parks. Remember to stay with us on your next trip!

All the Best,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Me and my daughter stayed overnight to take a tour of SUU. The front desk manager was very nice and the place was really clean. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and budget motels so for the price there are No complaints from me. Great location and we had a pretty view of the mountains. For $50 bucks I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you were happy with the location, cleanliness, and customer service with the value And we hope you and your daughter enjoyed the tour of SUU. Thank you for choosing to stay at Motel 6 in Cedar City! We look forward to seeing you here on your next visit!

All the Best,

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansbury park, Utah, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I spent three nights here with a high school group for the Shakespeare Competition. The hotel rooms were very small and not very clean. The carpets were filthy and there was black mold by the sink in the bathroom. We had two half pillows on our queen size bed and when we asked for more the hotel manager grudgingly gave us one additional pillow. This one was actually full sized instead of the small square ones on the bed.

The first night we were there the fire alarm went off 5 times between 11:00 p.m. and midnight. We were told someone was smoking somewhere in the hotel. It then went off again at 4:30 a.m. It is a little difficult to believe that whoever was smoking for an entire hour between 11 and midnight then got up at 4 and started smoking again, knowing they would set off the fire alarm. That was just one of the many lies the manager told us.

We woke up in the morning to take showers and found there was no shampoo. I guess when they call this a budget hotel they really mean that. We had a lot of high school girls running around looking for some shampoo. Fortunately, I had a half of a sample bottle of shampoo left from another hotel. The showers were a weird, triangle shape. I don't like to touch the shower curtain in hotels because I don't really think they get cleaned very well. This shower is so tiny that it is impossible not to touch the shower curtain.

Half the keys in our group didn't work and had to be replaced. I think that it is because they are too cheap to replace them. We were staying in the hotel from Thursday through Sunday. On Saturday morning the manager ran out to our bus and asked for all the keys to be returned. He was told that we had reservations until Sunday and he seemed very confused. When we returned later that day, all of our keys had been deactivated. When my husband asked the manager about this, he claimed that our keys didn't work because they had been in our pocket next to our cell phone. Another lie. He did prepare keys for all of the students and had them ready when they returned. I guess he knew that they would all keep their keys in their pocket next to their cell phone and would need a new key.

I really don't know how this hotel has gotten any good reviews. It isn't significantly cheaper than the hotels that have amenities like shampoo, alarm clock, coffee pot, and hair dryer in the room. Most of those hotels offer free breakfasts. I will never stay in this hotel and it has ruined the name of Motel 6 for me.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maulik V, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Jennifer J,
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule and write us your feedback. Your comments are taken in consideration. We are so sorry for the alarm going off several times. We tried to silent the alarm every time it went off. unfortunately we had smokers who kept the doors open in the hallways and smoked standing next to it. We discovered it was one of the school's staff member. One of your girls also burnt the popcorn in the hallway, that caused the alarm went off one more time.
When we have event like this, we always face problem, and unfortunately even after our staff stay on their foot all the time, we could not handle some mischievous students. At this time we had your staff member and your kids cause the alarm going off several times.
At motel 6, we are well know to offer the best price in the neighborhood. Shampoo and other mentioned amenities are not offered in the price we charge. Please do not expect these at any Motel 6 world wide. That will make you disappointed.
I want to thank you again for choosing us for your lodging needs. We apologize one more time for the inconvenience during your stay.

Maulik V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I was on my last leg of my trip when I stopped here. I stayed for one night and it ended up being one of the best hotel stays on my trip. Being very tired when I pulled in, checking in was fast and easy. The manager, Mr. Francisco, was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. I was able to get a good night's sleep after being on the road all day. As requested, a morning wake up call was prompt which allowed me to get back on the road to see my family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who will be traveling through the area as I do not have one single complaint about it. I also strongly recommend it to those on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam A, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear 2005Sean,

What a great review! Thank you so much and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We're delighted to hear that your stay with us was one of the best during your trip! It makes us very glad to know that we were able to provide you with a good night's sleep after a tiring day of traveling. We do our best to ensure our valued guests' satisfaction! Thank you very much for your kind recommendation! We hope to see you again soon during your next trip to Cedar City!

Best Regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I'm not much of a travel, and usually dread staying in a motel/hotel, but this motel 6 provided great service. The staff were professional, and friendly, when answering my family's questions and helping us get a room. The outside of the hotel was well maintained, and the rooms are modern and clean. What I liked about the rooms were that the bed were comfy, I had no problem falling asleep. I didn't feel like I was staying at any old motel because everything was up to date, and it had a homely feeling. If I'm looking for a motel to sleep the night, or multiple nights, in Cedar City, I will not hesitate to book a room here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maulik V, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for sparing time out of your busy schedule and writing us fabulous review. Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated. I will share your review with rest of my staff.
We are so happy to earn 4 stars from you. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Cedar city.

Thank you kindly,
Maulik V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

It's hard to give any place a 5 rating but this Motel 6 did a great job of getting a 4. I have stayed at Motel 6's all over the country when I get on my Harley and hit the road. From New York to Los Angeles. Some are good, some are not so good. This one in Cedar City is not only good, its very good. The rooms are modern, clean and the property is well maintained. The staff is courteous and efficient. This is one of the more pricey Motel 6's but it is worth the money. The General Manager should be proud of the people that staff his motel...Tell them all a thanks for me.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam A, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Cedar City, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Hello there, Breakfastforbikers!

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to send us in a review! It's reviews like yours that motivate us to continue to provide an excellent customer experience! We are very glad to hear that you found your stay with us to be very good! We are definitely proud of each and every one of our staff members as they work day in and out to provide our guests with the best experience possible.

Again, thank you for your time and your kind words! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sam A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Cedar City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cedar City

Address: 1620 West 200 North, Exit # 57, Cedar City, UT 84720
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cedar City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Festival City Motel 6, Cedar City. We are conveniently located off Interstate 15 and exit number 59 and right off highway 56. Enjoy our remodeled rooms with new bedding and brand new mattresses. Motel 6 offers best value in the town. We are prod to be 100% smoke free facility. Pets are welcomed, so bring them with you. Complimentary fresh coffee is served daily from 5 AM to 10 AM. Guest laundry is also offered on the premises. Enjoy free high speed internet, available in all the rooms and public areas. Truck parking is available adjacent to the street. Numbers of restaurants within a mile from the hotel. Southern Utah University is less than a mile from hotel. Only five minutes from Cedar city municipal airport. Cedar Ridge Golf course is only in minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Cedar City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cedar City Hotel Cedar City
Motel Six Cedar City
Cedar City Motel 6
Cedar City Motel Six
Motel 6 Cedar City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cedar City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.