We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Inn

Save Saved
You added Abbey Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 W. 200 North, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Cedar City
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A/C malfunctioned around 1:00 am. Mentioned problem when checking out, Madison at front desk was flippant and dismissive. She condescendingly advised that I should have called for maintenance to fix the A/C at that time. Explained to Madison that I was exhausted and the last thing I wanted to do at 1:00 am was to make this request. Madison made no apology nor offered to make it right, didn't take responsibility, was rude and unprofessional.
After a few minutes of discussion with Madison, a $10 credit was offered but it came with a price. She didn't know how to credit my credit card so she asked the Manager on the floor for help. The Manager in the back office shouted instructions to Madison at the front desk. Manager lacked the professional courtesy to make herself present to address the issue. At that point, everything was so poorly handled that I walked out feeling upset and regretful for staying there. No credit given.
Too many other hotel choices to book in the future. I travel through Cedar 2-3 times per year, Abbey Inn lost a good customer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are deeply sorry that you felt we dismissed your concerns. It was never our intention. As the manager, it is my duty to resolve problems as soon as I am made aware of them. I was not aware of yours until you checked out.
Please accept my deepest apology. I would like to rectify this at your earliest convenience. Please contact me at stuckett@infowest.com.
Thank you for making me aware of your situation. You are our best and most important commodity. Offending you is and never will be acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    112
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
114
175
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night this past weekend, as we took in a few shows at the wonderful Shakespearean Festival. We have stayed here in the past, and noticed that our room this time was getting slightly "tired". We also thought that the room seemed cluttered with unnecessary furniture (specifically a large bar piece). The room also lacked a nightstand on one side of the bed. Overall, it was clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. The front desk staff was also quite polite. The morning buffet was adequate.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Once our renovation is completed, we expect that all of our rooms will be fresh and welcoming. Please come back and stay with us again. We should be able to offer a different room (not all of them have the extra furniture items).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As part of a road trop from Las Vegas to the Grand Tetons and back again, we stopped at the Abbey Inn in Cedar City on our way home. We chose the hotel based on reviews and its proximity to the Utah Shakespeare Festival for a very reasonable room rate. It meet expectations better than two Marriott hotels on the same trip.

Truth be told, the Abbey Inn isn't a 5-star stay but always earns 5-star reviews on TripAdvisor because they not only meet expectations but exceed them. The rooms are plain but very clean, the staff is friendly and very knowledgable about the area, and the breakfast is huge (despite being a bit chaotic during a rush). Breakfast is amazing given that it is included in the price, and there is no limit on the amount of self-made waffles you can have. You really can't go wrong.

There aren't many choices among hotels in Cedar City, but there doesn't need to be as long as there is room at the Abbey Inn. The next time we take a road trip or take a drive to Cedar City to see Shakespeare, this is where we are going to stay. It is the best value and they get it right!

As a bonus, the Internet is free like the parking. You might even be able to park your car outside your room door (assuming you have an exterior entrance room). Absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: It's really up to you, but we really liked the exterior entrances on the first floor toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that we not only meet, but exceed expectations. Our official star rating is 2 1/2 stars, but we aim to provide high end service and amenities, and we appreciate when our guests reward us with excellent ratings and reviews. Thank you! We look forward to having you stay in the future. As a side note, we have two levels, and all of our rooms have the exterior entrance so you don't have to have to park far way from your room not matter where you are placed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice decor and excellent breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the tub wasn't really clean and we had a few maintenance issues. Would stay again. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for sharing your experience. It is important for us to know when there are issues with a particular room. We do try to prevent these problems and are disappointed when our guests discover them first. Hopefully we were able to resolve these issues during your stay. Thank you for your kind words for the staff. It is nice for them to hear how they are doing. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second visit to the Abbey Inn. Very reasonably priced. Large beautiful room, with refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. Very clean! Staff was great. Can't say enough about the wonderful breakfast! They had everything! Waffles, fresh and canned fruit, sausage, real scrambled eggs, salsa, cereal, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, sweet rolls, toast, etc. The breakfast staff was really nice and suggested I take a tray of food back to my sleeping teenage son. We were minutes away from the Shakespeare festival. Beautiful indoor pool. We had a downstairs room and never heard any noise above nor cars in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Welcome back to the Abbey Inn. Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your experience. Thank you for mentioning all of the little things that make the Abbey Inn stand out: the staff, the breakfast, the pool, etc. We certainly enjoy taking care of guests like you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Abbey Inn is the top rated hotel on Trip Advisor for Cedar City. We found out why. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Close to the freeway and not far from town. We liked everything about the hotel. Maintenance and housekeeping certain get an "A". The folks at the front desk were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is served in a "breakfast house" behind the hotel which seemed a little strange, but worked out nicely. It could be a bit of a hike from some of the rooms but for us it was very convenient. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn and for adding your experience to TripAdvisor. So much of our business comes from word of mouth and online reviews, and we appreciate our guests who take the time to share. It is great to hear that our staff gets such high ratings. They work hard and are fundamental to our success. Our breakfast house is unique and can surprise our guests if they aren't expecting it, but it is definitely makes us memorable. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wow. What a great hotel in Cedar City! Extremely clean and well kept. The front desk staff were pleasant. The price was great for such a nice, nice experience. You could not ask for more breakfast options at the free breakfast buffet. Real cooked oatmeal (always impresses me as an oatmeal fanatic). Coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator--all spotless. Beautiful bedding and furnishings. Elevator to upstairs rooms. Parking is right outside room. Rooms have outside entrances. I will definitely return to the Abbey when I travel to the Shakespeare Festival. We just happened to be traveling through for a night on this trip.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1237, and upstairs toward the back. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at the Abbey Inn and sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed it and that our staff took good care of you. When you come down for the Festival, be sure to ask about our deals for Shakespeare patrons. This fall they are performing Peter and the Starcatcher (the most popular show this season), The Marvelous Wondrettes, and Richard II. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: 940 W. 200 North, Cedar City, UT 84720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Business Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.